We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location and lovely accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
The Old Barns in the heart of the Test Valley
Luxurious large double ended roll top bath
Triple aspect views from the vaulted and beamed open plan lounge/kitchen/diner.
Alfresco dining on the south facing balcony or watch the sunset with a glass of wine.
The french doors into the bedroom of Damson Cottage
Rustic styling on the solid oak doors
The Old Barns courtyard.
Sunset at The Old Barns
Local walks - in the early winter sun.
Local walks - accross the rape fields.
Lillies on our pond.
Fly fishing on the River Test.
Horsebridge - 1 mile along the Test Way (The John O'Gaunt pub can be found here)
The River Test at compton's fly fishing.
The Old Barns in the snow.
The River Test at Houghton.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Stockbridge, Hampshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
NW1966
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely accommodation”
Reviewed 18 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

We stayed in 'Elderberry' cottage for two nights and enjoyed our stay. Sarah was very welcoming and the accommodation was nicely furnished and very clean. Everything we needed for our short stay was provided, the kitchen was well equipped and the bathroom had toiletries.

The Old Barns is off a main road but this wasn't too busy and we didn't hear any noise from it. The Test Way is adjacent to the property and the walk to Kimbridge was lovely.

We would definitely return and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this property to anyone.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and the local area. The local walks are stunning and change with every season. We look forward to seeing you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BerrieP
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Home from home!”
Reviewed 25 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

This one bedroom barn conversion is perfect for a short or long stay. We stayed for 4 nights and loved it. It is in a really peaceful area just outside Stockbridge - ideal for a fly fishing trip on the River Test. The kitchen is really well equipped and Sarah thinks of everything from fresh eggs on arrival to ice cubes in the freezer! Sarah and Robert were very welcoming. We will certainly go back. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quiet location
Liked least: Not much really. We got used to showering over the bath in the absence of a shower.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and glad you enjoyed your stay. I am glad you enjoyed the area and the fly fishing and hope to see you again soon. Kind Regards, Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joqueenbe...
London
2 reviews
“So relaxing”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

We stayed for a long weekend in Willow and really enjoyed it. The accommodation was of high quality and had a lovely cosy feel to it. The warm welcome includes milk and eggs which is a nice touch.
It's well located for New Forest walks with plenty to do in the area.
Would definitely recommend and plan to return for another visit!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Aug 2014
Thank you for your lovely review and I am glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon. kind regards, Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul S
Portishead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Happy Holiday with great weather, at great location, had a great time.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Helen & myself, together with our dogs had a wonderful stay at "The Old Barns". Lovely walks, with pubs located just about right to refuel. Enjoyed the fishing at the local trout lakes. Sarah & Rob are really good hosts with helpful local knowledge to enhance your stay. Would definitely recommend "the Old Barns".

Paul & Helen Smith

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. It was lovely to meet you both and your lovely dogs. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and had successful fishing. Hope to see you both again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
66bradder...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Weekend in the test valley”
Reviewed 3 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Was recommended to stay at the old barns through the gillie I get access to the test. 2 minute drive from the test, beautiful location and outstanding rooms meant my family and I had a perfect weekend. Near to stockbridge to use its facilities as well .

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jul 2014
Thank you for your review and I am glad you and your family enjoyed your stay and had such successful fishing. Hope to see you again. Rob and Sarah.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing