We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, in fantastic setting”
Review of The Drift Inn

The Drift Inn
Ranked #28 of 51 Restaurants in Lyndhurst
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Pub set in the middle of the New Forest, serving freshly made food cooked on the premises. Where possible we use local produce. We serve a range of cask ales and other drinks.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Highly recommend this Inn. Friendly, professional staff. This hotel is out on the heath in a beautiful setting I woke to wild ponies below my bedroom window perfect...

1  Thank wrightse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilia C, Manager at The Drift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear wrightse


Thank you so much for your kind review .


Looking forward seeing again soon.


Kind Regards


Emilia
Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 604 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

First visit here over Easter weekend for a family meet up on a wet day so we had booked a table online in advance. Although the outside is a little austere the inside of the pub is well decorated, clean and welcoming with roaring fires. A mix of drinkers near the bar and a big dining area with a good mix of large family sized tables and soft seating.

As mentioned in a previous review it’s very dog friendly a plus if you are a dog lover and a big negative if not. We all love dogs and as expected it was a very busy, not the staff’s fault but unfortunately one group had two very very noisy dogs who barked at anything and everything it would have been better for other diners if they had been outside but it did not stop us having a good time.

The staff were busy as expected but very friendly, professional and welcoming. Drinks came quickly and food orders taken. Food was slow but when it arrived everyone was very happy good sized portions, great sharing platters with fresh ingredients well cooked and presented. Highlights Kids food 8.95 for 3 courses was fab, mostly small portions of adult food or freshly made fish bites and butchers sausages.

All agreed that the puddings were particularly good.

Going in eyes open- Busy with walkers and dogs, best to book, good play area and food that was much better than expected and a fair price.

Only negatives bit of a wait for food but it was fresh! And other customers not managing their dogs.

1  Thank ajrichards2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilia C, Manager at The Drift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Sir/Madam


Thank you so much for your kind review.

Hope to see you again soon



Kind Regards


Emilia
Assiatant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Sadly this pub really seems to be going down hill. More dogs than people; it was like eating lunch in a kennel, we left our meal early as could no longer stand the barking. Food wasn’t great; and my burger was barely cooked even though asked it to be well done, although this was sorted quickly by the staff. Waitress was a bit surly. won’t be going back any time soon.

Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilia C, Manager at The Drift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Duncan M,


I'm sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your experience at The Drift Inn.
We pride ourselves to be dog friendly pub in the heart of the New Forest, and we are sorry that it was not to your taste.

We hope that you will come back and try us again as we would love to change your opinion about our pub.


Kind Regards


Emilia

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

Wanted a quick lunch and visited as it close to where we live. Fantastic location near Beaulieu Road Station (grounds visited regularly by ponies, donkeys and other forest wildlife,) but inside leaves a lot to be desired.
Staff were less than interested in what we, as customers, were asking for.
Confusing menu (starter) choices meaning we didn't get what we though we had ordered. One sandwich was OK (difficult to get that wrong) but the "pub classic" steak pie seamed to be from the stone age! Rock hard pastry and "charcoal" dinosaur like meat. It had clearly been kept to long and too hot - shame, as it could have been lovely if looked after properly.
Not really happy with the compensation offer from the manager, or the fact that SERVICE CHARGES had been added to the bill. Service, food overall and general attitude of staff not good. Will not be returning for a long time.

Thank Frank H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilia C, Manager at The Drift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Frank H,

I am extremely sorry to hear that you didn't enjoy your time at The Drift Inn.
We always make sure our food is up to standard and sorry that it slipped this time

If you would like to discuss this matter any further

Please contact us on 02380292342


Kind Regards

Emilia

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

I drove an hour to reach this pub on the recommendation of a friend. We arrived at 1300 on Saturday for lunch. On arrival we found it to be busy but understaffed the barman was clearly stressed. We waited a considerable time to be be served with a drink and then seated ourselves at a table near the bar which was sticky and had obviously not been recently washed. Having ordered our food and eaten it we were amazed that the young man sent to clear our table proceeded to stuff the fat from my gammon steak and the skin from my daughter's fish into the empty wire fries basket from my son-in-law's burger at the table with his bare hands. He was obviously determined to make just one journey to clear the table. My daughter asked him to leave the table and take the plates to the kitchen. I then later saw him rolling a cigarette at the back of the bar which when he saw that I was watching him he put behind his ear. Clearly he was a young college student that had not been trained in the duties for which he was being paid. Although the food was of a reasonable standard I will not waste the time and petrol to go there again when there are much better restaurants closer to home.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emilia C, Manager at The Drift Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

HI Peter S,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and sorry to hear such negative comments regarding your visit. Following the recent investment in the Hotel we have since merged the 2 sites and all food offerings now come directly from The Drift Inn.

Whilst the merge has been a success we have experienced some teething problems along with the new team. We have added to the leadership structure of the business and the training and development of each employee is under way.

If you find yourself in the area again, please contact one of the management directly, we are proud of the food and service we have on offer here and we have some great additions happening over the foreseeable future, including our very own wood fire Pizza trailer to the garden.

I'd like to reassure you that your experience was an exception the our standards of procedure.

We hope to welcome you back to The Drift again soon!


Kind Regards

Emilia

Assistant General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Drift Inn also viewed

Lyndhurst, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 
Lyndhurst, New Forest
Lyndhurst, New Forest
 

Been to The Drift Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing