We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$82
View deal
Hotels.comUS$82
PricelineUS$82
Expedia.comUS$82
eDreamsUS$82
Orbitz.comUS$82
TravelocityUS$82
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (992)
Filter reviews
992 results
Traveller rating
325
271
170
113
113
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
325
271
170
113
113
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course health club steam room golf break golf club round of golf evening meal leisure facilities three course meal great weekend food was lovely one night stay full english an overnight stay venue gym golfers
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
17 - 22 of 992 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Just returned from an afternoon tea booked by way of a gift and to say it was terrible would be an understatement.
Driving through the golf course and grounds the venue looks quite impressive but that's where the ilussion ends.

On arrival we were met by a member of staff who clearly wast Happy in her job, she was rude and quite aggressive asked for the voucher used to buy the gift be emailed to reception .
If proof of voucher is required maybe this should be asked for when making the booking not when you are standing there on arrival, consider any elderly guests who may not use smart phones.

We were then shown to a table in can what only be described as a dinghy side room off a small conservatory. The room was dirty and clearly hadn't been cleaned properly as there was broken glass on the floor, when pointed out to the member if staff she said "it had been cleaned" but clearly not very well.
"well it's a public area "was her response. Public area or not the room was dirty and not very appealing.

The food can only be described as average and I'm not sure I've ever been given a houmous sandwich before (not eaten) it's almost like they had run out of fillings if even that's what it was.

During the 2 hours we were there not once did any member of staff ask if everything was OK or if we would like anything and had to go out to the bar to order extra drinks, the table next to us had to ask fir half their order after being seated for 20mins

Having now read previous reviews it's seems there is a common theme around the hotels cleanliness and customer service and a clear lack of responses from management shows their distinct lack of care.

Had this not been a gift I would never have chosen to book this after reading previous reviews.

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank NJaneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hello NjaneM

I'm sorry to hear you didn't enjoy your afternoon tea, we receive a lot of positive comments about our Afternoon teas so I'm sad to read your feedback.

I can confirm it states in every confirmation to bring your voucher along so I'm sorry for any confusion.

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback, I can confirm at the Manor of Groves all staff including Management care.

Hopefully one day we will be able to welcome you back



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2021

Hi we stayed here for one night following a function at the hotel. The room size was very good and clean however we we not told what time breakfast was on the Sunday. We went down to the breakfast area at 09.30 there were no tables available we eventually cleared a table in the bar area ourselves not ideal as was very small … we went to the buffet to be told there was no more food available there were no cups for tea / coffee ….. applying attitude of staff member when I asked about food. Would definitely nit recommend this hotel to anyone

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank vanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hello Vanna,

Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback.

I can confirm all breakfast times are in the guest directory in your room, also its on your room key card.

On the weekends our breakfast runs until 10.00am so the Restaurant may of had a rush of people and were waiting to top up the buffet station

Sorry for any confusion but I can ensure you we wouldn't of run out of food or hot drinks.

Hopefully we get to welcome you back another time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2021

Checked in after a long journey, nice spacious twin room to share with my daughter. No housekeeping due to covid but was looked after well and only needed to ask the staff and they would help.
Take a towel to the pool as they did not supply at the spa. we just asked chambermaid for them.
The bed's were super comfy with a built in mattress topper.
Breakfast and evening meal were delicious and the staff were perfect.
My only complaint was the awful soundtrack that played constantly in the public areas and dining room, needs to be changed to something more mellow and easy on the ear drums ! It was shocking and after four days very annoying.
I would love to visit again one day.

Date of stay: September 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tina K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hello Tina,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this glowing review, its very much appreciated.

we look forward to welcoming you back soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2021

Golf course in terrible condition for time of year, all Tee boxes were rough & muddy, greens were not swept off in the morning, had mud piles, debris & rabbit holes not filled in.
As a group we had an evening meal, we selected our 3 courses earlier in the day before we played golf. The bill came for drinks only, the waitress came over a few minutes after the bill was settled to inform us we needed to pay for the meal as it wasn’t part of the golf package, there seemed to be a bit of a miss understanding on both parts, we had a discussion with the manager about it, all he offered us was a round of free drinks.

Hotel rooms - very basic

Went to use pool, 1 access steps taped off with hazard tape & the other steps had a sign saying caution step 2 broken, so we had to bomb drop into the pool!! Facilities looked tired and in need of updating!

Breakfast was self serve which was nice… but we asked for some ketchup, the server informed us there was a shortage of ketchup in the area and they had none. The toaster kept smoking as the toast kept getting stuck in it!

The Sally Gunnel golf society ⛳️

Date of stay: October 2021
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank LaylaT0380
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Hello LaylaT0380

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback following your recent Golf Visit.

I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with the Golf Course, I of course will make sure this is passed over to our Head Greenkeeper and Golf Club Manager as we receive nothing but compliments about our course so will ensure this feedback is followed up.

We are constantly monitoring our guests’ observations in relation to all aspects of our product and service so, for this reason, your comments are of great assistance and I will ensure that the issues you have raised are addressed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2021

We found all the staff very helpful and polite. However the hotel is in very poor condition with dirty and stained carpets, faded and dirty paintwork, shabby wallpaper and woodwork, broken tiles and taps in our room, and a washbasin plug that needed Tarzan to move it. The dining room is also actually a cafeteria, and the food mediocre and expensive for what it is, whilst the buffet breakfast layout is badly organised and almost dangerously congested as a result.

In short, great location and setting, and lovely staff, but the whole Hotel is in a sad state, needs complete refurbishment from top to bottom, and fell well short of our expectations.

Room tip: Don't have Room 10!!
Date of stay: October 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 999Sasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest Relations, Guest Services / Front Office at Manor Of Groves Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2021

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to complete a review following your recent stay with us. We welcome all feedback – both negative and positive.

Thank you for bringing your washbasin plug to our attention I will ensure our maintenance investigate this issue.

Your kind comments about the setting and staff is greatly appreciated

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews