We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent property for large family-oriented group”

Review of Rose Bank

Rose Bank
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall Library - books / games / pool / table football
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
64 reviews
Rose Bank
Main entrance Hall
Library - books / games / pool / table football
Kitchen - Large fridge+ under-counter fridge / Large freezer. Range Cooker
Kitchen / breakfast seating for 10
Dining Room with seating for 22/24
Main Drawing Room with open fire, seating for 22 and 60' wall TV
Playroom for our younger guests
Ground Floor Bedroom with king sized bed - easy access
Bedroom 1 - King sized bed
En Suite shower and dressing room.
Bedroom 2 - Super king - splits into two singles if required. Toddlers bed
Bedroom 3 Double bed + single + traditional wooden cot
Bedroom 4 - King sized bed splits into two singles if required. + single bed.
En Suite - Huge roll topped bath original to the house
Family Bathroom - full suite plus separate double shower.
Bedroom 5 - double + two single beds
Bedroom 6 - double plus single bed
Bedroom 7 - King sized bed
Bedroom 8 -twin bedded
Bedroom 9 - single room
Bedroom 10 - king sized bed
Pool ; Leisure area - available at additional cost see details
Terrace with BBQs / seating & tables and Hot Tub area
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
11 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Lugwardine, Hereford, Herefordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
dandog_9
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Nice house (if a bit grubby), shame about the host.”
Reviewed 20 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012
6
people found this review helpful

Upon arrival the house and garden were dirty & neglected. Before we brought food into the kitchen we had to do a full deep clean of the place, The floor was dirty & needed mopping. The fridges needed cleaning out. The cutlery, crocks & glasses were greasy, so we washed everything before settling in. The microwave was appalling - the stalactites and stalagmites reminded me of Wookey Hole, I am not joking! The cobwebs had cobwebs on them, Considering the size of the place there was not enough cutlery. All electric appliances were connected with extension leads. There were no smoke detectors. So electrical and fire safety was not good. In fact all electricity went off at one point, probably due to dodgy wiring. Although the house was chilly at night (September) we were told the heating is not in use until October. There was no seating for use outdoors. The general demeanour of the owner could be described as "grumpy". As we hadn't paid the (extortionate) fee to have the pool heated guests (when just going to have a look) were told to get out of the pool area as we hadn't paid. It's a lovely big house but it's going to rack and ruin in the hands of the current owners. It is in need of refurbishment and at the very least it should have a professional clean before each occupation. This wasn't a booking made by myself, but a friend. She had difficulty and a long wait before the deposit was returned, and for no reason. In fact we left the house (especially the kitchen) a great deal cleaner than when we arrived. As a group we have stayed at a number of large houses around the country, so we know what to expect. We didn't expect this. We certainly wouldn't return.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size and period of house
Liked least: dirty and neglected
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2012
This review was from the same group who thought they should not pay extra for the pool.
We always personally show guests round the house on arrival so there is every oportunity to comment or complain if not as expected. We also ensure they have our telephone number should they have any problems. We try to be as professional, courteous and welcoming as possible.
Do not understand why no one in the group mentioned any concerns to us either as we showed them round, later that evening when we were on site, during their stay or when they handed back the keys.
As we do not supply chemicals for 'deep cleaning' not sure what was used.
The Microwave had been newly installed that afternoon - the only thing it contained was the instruction booklet.
We always welcome honest, constructive, comments or suggestions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 June 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for price
Liked least: Not knowing price from internet ad - had to make specific enquiry with owner
Travelling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing