We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great, spacious, modern place for a large...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Charlton House

Delightful Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Delightful Home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
18 reviews
Delightful Home
Modern kitchen
The outside bar
Master en-suite with Super kingsize bed.
Master Bedroom
Queensize room
Ensuite wc & wash hand basin
The beautiful Ventnor Bay
The beach and esplanade at Ventnor
The round the Island Yacht Race
Ventnor Cascade
Ventnor Haven
The Bay by night
The beach
Walks very close by
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Bonchurch, Ventnor, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RJNorris
Caversham, null, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great, spacious, modern place for a large family to stay”
Reviewed 14 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our family group of three adults and four children stayed at Charlton House for a bank holiday weekend over three nights. When we walked in we wished we had booked a week. The house is nicely decorated, with a large kitchen, separate utility room. There is a lounge, plus extra large sun room which is a great playroom, and a separate large dining room. The bedrooms are great - my daughter loved the doll's house and toys in her room, and the two boys comfortably shared a room in separate single beds. There are TVs in four of the rooms - two of which are linked. The master bedroom is enormous with an ensuite with a shower. The main bathroom has a bath, handy for washing young children. The living room has a leather couch and reclining armchairs, plus a chest of DVDs and CDs. The kitchen is extremely well stocked with cups, wine glasses etc. We would definitely come back again. This was our first trip to Isle of Wight and we went to Robin Hill Country Park - well worth a day out, kids loved toboggan run, and there are enough other attractions and beaches to keep kids amused if you're planning a week's stay.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic house, great service from owner very helpful”
Reviewed 7 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Lots of room in house, fantastic master bedroom with en suite, other 4 bedrooms excellent.
Lovely conservatory leading to outdoor area great for barbeques.
Cats no problem at all - spend most of time out, just come in for food.
Highly recommended AAA+++

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil H
Ruislip, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Felt like a Home...”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Anything you want or need... It's there... Ice machine, 2 fridges and freezers, coffee machine (filter or espresso for that Sunday morning lift) sky subscription, don't think there was a TV in the shower but there is in every other room. For days we only thought there was one cat then we noticed the white marking and knew we had seen both cats, by the end of the week they were both in during the evenings.. Quite friendly and no bother at all.
Made for a lovely holiday....

..what problem we had was very very quickly sorted by the owner, thank you Steve for a lovely holiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Kitchen
Liked least: Cobwebs in the garden
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2014
Thank you Neil for your kind words and we are delighted that your family had a great stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mike g
1 review
“What a fantastic house”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We booked a week at Charlton in May an could not have been more pleased with the house or it's location, ideal for walks into ventnor or into Bon Church. Very well presented and spacious accommodation made our stay a delight. We would thoroughly recommend it to anyone

Rooms Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2014
Thank you for your kind words and pleased that you had a great stay :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbeckingh...
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
“A fantastic week away and already looked to book again !”
Reviewed 29 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

Had a great time staying at this beautiful house, every need catered for and would highly recommend. Perfect location for us and a short stroll from the picturesque Bonchurch pond and beach but also ensure you make it down to Ventnor Bay for a beautiful setting and a host of fine bars and restaurants. We were very lucky with the weather and the children's favourite day was crabbing at Steephill Cove as we enjoyed the locally caught crab and lobster .... Well worth a visit. Should add that my children did not want to leave Drake and Charlie the gorgeous resident cats but a trip to the cats home for us beckons to find one of our own : )

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2014
Thank you very much for your kind words and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Regards
Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$279
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing