We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockstone Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Albion Hotel(Freshwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mayflower(Lymington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
224
26
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
26
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjourney homecakeb bgranolacolwell bayhomemade biscuitsisle of wightwifi connectiondaily specialsbreakfast was deliciouson arrivallittle toucheslovely warm welcomeeach afternoonsuperior roomgreat roomeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2017

We had a great long weekend at Rockstone cottage last weekend
The cottage is very tastefully decorated comfortable and clean
Gary and Sheena are attentive friendly hosts making an extra effort to make your stay comfortable, little cakes and biscuits to take home
Breakfast was delicious, cooked to order and served in a bright airy dining room
Rockstone is in a great situation, we left our car safely parked on the front drive and went off walking
Lovely beach only a few mins walk away
Quiet area, friendly neighbours
Couldn't have been nicer, thank you

Room Tip: Our room was lovely, I'm sure they are all of a similar high standard
Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandrathomlinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

Thank you Sandra we are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us,and hope you can visit us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017 via mobile

Not too sure how this B&B is number 1 in freshwater! The house is clean and a nice welcome touch of tea/coffee/cake in the room, but the walls were so thin that you could hear absolutely everything going on in the other rooms, the toilet fan made a really loud noise every time it was switched on, and I found the owners 'sarcastic' comments actually quite annoying and bordering on the line of being quite rude. The breakfast was nice though and they had a very sweet looking dog. But probably wouldn't stay there again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SandN08072017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2017

We will deal with your comments in order of your review, We are number 1 in Freshwater because our guests (98%excellent or very good) have put us in this position, are they all wrong? The building is Georgian and they did not build thin walls, and any noise that was caused was the wedding party that was next door to you that you were part of. The fan is barely audible in the bedroom,yet if it was a problem to you it could have been resolved with a flick of the switch or a quiet word to us. We do not recall any 'SARCASTIC' remarks made. Yet we do recall you arriving 2.5 hours before check-in and being told to come back at 3.00 when your room will be ready, and also being asked to leave because you were way past check-out time (perhaps this caused offence).On the positive side 'Millie' the dog appreciates the kind comments you made about her.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Well sited for Colwell Bay. Well looked after by convivial host. Would not hesitate to go back.
Clean and tidy house. Excellent fast menu, Eggs Benedict and scrambled egg with smoked salmon recommended.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Steven P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Thank you Steven the kind comments are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2017

I only booked at very short notice but both Sheena and Gary made the trip easy. They booked the ferry and got a discount and gave me a brilliant room. Their standards are excellent as was breakfast. Very friendly atmosphere and suggested great things to do and eat. Even leaving had a personal touch of their own.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Saxophone1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us,come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017

Above and beyond what you'd expect and done with great style. We were very comfortable and had a nice sofa in Room 6. Our hosts were charming and ever-helpful plus there were breakfasts to suit all thee of us.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Bridget C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2017

Thank you Bridget, we do hope you can come again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews