We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rockstone Cottage
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Albion Hotel(Freshwater)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mayflower(Lymington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
224
26
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
224
26
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjourney homecakeb bgranolacolwell bayhomemade biscuitsisle of wightwifi connectiondaily specialsbreakfast was deliciouson arrivallittle toucheslovely warm welcomeeach afternoonsuperior roomgreat roomeggs benedict
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 259 reviews
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Rockstone Cottage provided an excellent base for a short walking trip to explore the west of the island.
Our one whole day was spent walking from the b&b at Colwell Bay over Headen Warren via Alum Bay on to the Needles headland and then along the spectacular Tennyson Down to Freshwater Bay - not well served by service buses but the community bus got us home!





Rockstone Cottage was an excellent base, nice room, friendly hosts and a great choice for breakfast. The bus service from the ferry at the attractive town of Yarmouth stops at the top of the road and the coastal path is 3mins away at the bottom of the road, with access to the Needles and Tennyson Down. The Waterfront restaurant on the path is recommended (road access as well).


Room Tip: Room 6 was fine but the premier rooms are probably better if available. Biscuits provided for you journey home!
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you Graham your lovely review is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We had a delightful stay, despite the weather. Our room was very beautifully styled, beds comfortable and a glorious bath. Breakfasts were superb and we were made to feel so welcome. We had dinner at The Hut one night and would recommend it for the food and atmosphere, even on a wet and windy night!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karenpQ5445ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks Karen, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and didn't get blown away in the process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We've just returned from a lovely relaxing stay at Rockstone Cottage. A lovely warm welcome from Gary on our arrival and adequate parking at the front of the B&B! The room (room 1) we had was very spacious and had lots of drawer space and a wardrobe for hanging clothes. The en-suite was well appointed with a good sized shower (although there was an occasional blip with the water pressure). The bed must be one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in so we woke up well refreshed and ready for the excellent breakfasts we had every day. As well as a good choice including a full traditional breakfast there were some daily specials which were well thought out, e.g. a big bacon breakfast bap on a blustery morning and my favourite eggs benedict! The cold buffet was equally appetising, with some lovely yoghurt (I don't usually like yoghurt but this has converted me!) as well as a very tasty fruit compote and fresh fruit salad. Likewise the selection of toast and jams were delicious and I believe homemade!
Although right on the west side of the Island nothing was too far away, with the Needles being right on the door step. Yarmouth has plenty of places for eating out, try the blue crab if you like fish and chips! But everywhere we tried was good! We managed to see most of the Island and Osborne House was a highlight!
After a busy day exploring, walking and beach combing it was lovely to return to our room to find some absolutely delicious cake waiting for us! The carrot and chocolate cakes were to die for!
We hope your family celebrations went well and all your hard work continues to bring you continued success!

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 has a little sitting area and a fantastic comfortable bed!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking time out to write this comprehensive and positive review it is truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017

We were recommended to stay at Rockstone Cottage as it was close to where friends have moved to on the Isle of Wight. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - very relaxed and comfortable - all that is required, including very nice homemade cake!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank dai_n_davies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

We are glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Booked direct with Rockstone Cottage with no problems. Pleasant reception on arrival. Room more than adequate for our stay with homemade cakes and hot drinks available in the room. Electric shower a little eccentric when water pressure dropped - probably because we were at the top of the house. Excellent breakfast provided - the full English is vast - beat me on day 1 and I opted for the poached eggs on day 2. Overall, a pleasant stay in a well-run and very clean B&B - if we return to the IOW, I suspect that we would return to Rockstone Cottage!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thanks Peter, we are glad you enjoyed your stay but you made a valiant effort with the 'full English', thanks for the positive review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews