We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Albion Hotel(Freshwater)
US$132
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$220
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Beachfront
South Lawn Hotel(Milford on Sea)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Mayflower(Lymington)
US$187
US$182
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$167
US$163
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Passford House(Lymington)
US$209
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pitchup.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (274)
Filter reviews
274 results
Traveller rating
239
26
5
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
239
26
5
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjourney homecakehomemade biscuitsgranolacolwell bayisle of wighteggs benedictlittle touchesbreakfast was deliciouswifi connectiondaily specialson arrivallovely warm welcomesuperior roomgreat roomtop floortake home
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 274 reviews
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Our second visit to this lovely cottage ,spotlessly clean superb hosts a brilliant breakfast plenty of choice that will definitely set you up for the day . Gary and Sheena will be able to give you plenty of advice on local eateries. Great location only a stones throw from a lovely sandy beach .Already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Any all good
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LesnLynne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks Les for the fantastic review we truly appreciate it, come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We loved Rockstaone. Good parking. Lovely room, comfortable bed, lovely big bath. Food was plentiful and innovative - not just the usual juices, cerals and full English - delicious berries, youghurt, nuts, all scrumptious. Location was easy to find and a few minutes wlak to the sea. 5 minutes in the car to The Needles. We were on the Isle for walking - lots of well-signed paths (check out the NAtional Trust website for downloadable maps/directions). If we ever go back to IoW we will check in here.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath (they only have one) then this is a loooong bath. I think it was room 6, but just ask.
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank supermac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful part of the island, so please come again and get another dose of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Rockstone Cottage provided an excellent base for a short walking trip to explore the west of the island.
Our one whole day was spent walking from the b&b at Colwell Bay over Headen Warren via Alum Bay on to the Needles headland and then along the spectacular Tennyson Down to Freshwater Bay - not well served by service buses but the community bus got us home!





Rockstone Cottage was an excellent base, nice room, friendly hosts and a great choice for breakfast. The bus service from the ferry at the attractive town of Yarmouth stops at the top of the road and the coastal path is 3mins away at the bottom of the road, with access to the Needles and Tennyson Down. The Waterfront restaurant on the path is recommended (road access as well).


Room Tip: Room 6 was fine but the premier rooms are probably better if available. Biscuits provided for you journey home!
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you Graham your lovely review is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We had a delightful stay, despite the weather. Our room was very beautifully styled, beds comfortable and a glorious bath. Breakfasts were superb and we were made to feel so welcome. We had dinner at The Hut one night and would recommend it for the food and atmosphere, even on a wet and windy night!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karenpQ5445ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks Karen, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and didn't get blown away in the process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We've just returned from a lovely relaxing stay at Rockstone Cottage. A lovely warm welcome from Gary on our arrival and adequate parking at the front of the B&B! The room (room 1) we had was very spacious and had lots of drawer space and a wardrobe for hanging clothes. The en-suite was well appointed with a good sized shower (although there was an occasional blip with the water pressure). The bed must be one of the most comfortable we have ever slept in so we woke up well refreshed and ready for the excellent breakfasts we had every day. As well as a good choice including a full traditional breakfast there were some daily specials which were well thought out, e.g. a big bacon breakfast bap on a blustery morning and my favourite eggs benedict! The cold buffet was equally appetising, with some lovely yoghurt (I don't usually like yoghurt but this has converted me!) as well as a very tasty fruit compote and fresh fruit salad. Likewise the selection of toast and jams were delicious and I believe homemade!
Although right on the west side of the Island nothing was too far away, with the Needles being right on the door step. Yarmouth has plenty of places for eating out, try the blue crab if you like fish and chips! But everywhere we tried was good! We managed to see most of the Island and Osborne House was a highlight!
After a busy day exploring, walking and beach combing it was lovely to return to our room to find some absolutely delicious cake waiting for us! The carrot and chocolate cakes were to die for!
We hope your family celebrations went well and all your hard work continues to bring you continued success!

Room Tip: Bedroom 1 has a little sitting area and a fantastic comfortable bed!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscerningL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2017

Thank you for taking time out to write this comprehensive and positive review it is truly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews