We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cottage”
Review of Rockstone Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Rockstone Cottage
Ranked #1 of 9 Freshwater B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 October 2017

I wholeheartedly recommend Rockstone Cottage for anyone planning an escape to the Isle of Wight and looking for a charming B&B with easy access to the coast. Sheena and Gareth were delightful hosts who take obvious pride in offering a friendly and efficient service within beautiful surroundings. The cottage is spotlessly clean and exquisitely furnished to feel like a home from home. Breakfast was delicious and hearty, just what we needed before setting off on a round-the-island cycle.

Room Tip: The romantic double bedroom at the top of the house is fabulous.
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Handybiotic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

So glad you enjoyed your stay at our cottage and hope you have recovered from your exertions, come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (256)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 256 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017

Our second visit to this lovely cottage ,spotlessly clean superb hosts a brilliant breakfast plenty of choice that will definitely set you up for the day . Gary and Sheena will be able to give you plenty of advice on local eateries. Great location only a stones throw from a lovely sandy beach .Already planning our next visit.

Room Tip: Any all good
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LesnLynne55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

Thanks Les for the fantastic review we truly appreciate it, come again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

We loved Rockstaone. Good parking. Lovely room, comfortable bed, lovely big bath. Food was plentiful and innovative - not just the usual juices, cerals and full English - delicious berries, youghurt, nuts, all scrumptious. Location was easy to find and a few minutes wlak to the sea. 5 minutes in the car to The Needles. We were on the Isle for walking - lots of well-signed paths (check out the NAtional Trust website for downloadable maps/directions). If we ever go back to IoW we will check in here.

Room Tip: If you prefer a bath (they only have one) then this is a loooong bath. I think it was room 6, but ju...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank supermac53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2017

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay in this beautiful part of the island, so please come again and get another dose of it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

Rockstone Cottage provided an excellent base for a short walking trip to explore the west of the island.
Our one whole day was spent walking from the b&b at Colwell Bay over Headen Warren via Alum Bay on to the Needles headland and then along the spectacular Tennyson Down to Freshwater Bay - not well served by service buses but the community bus got us home!





Rockstone Cottage was an excellent base, nice room, friendly hosts and a great choice for breakfast. The bus service from the ferry at the attractive town of Yarmouth stops at the top of the road and the coastal path is 3mins away at the bottom of the road, with access to the Needles and Tennyson Down. The Waterfront restaurant on the path is recommended (road access as well).


Room Tip: Room 6 was fine but the premier rooms are probably better if available. Biscuits provided for you j...
See more room tips
Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank graham s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thank you Graham your lovely review is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2017

We had a delightful stay, despite the weather. Our room was very beautifully styled, beds comfortable and a glorious bath. Breakfasts were superb and we were made to feel so welcome. We had dinner at The Hut one night and would recommend it for the food and atmosphere, even on a wet and windy night!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank karenpQ5445ZJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheena M, Owner at Rockstone Cottage, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

Thanks Karen, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and didn't get blown away in the process.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Freshwater
2.6 km away
Albion Hotel
Albion Hotel
#2 of 2 in Freshwater
337 reviews
3.3 km away
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#2 of 2 in Yarmouth
443 reviews
0.9 km away
Sentry Mead
Sentry Mead
#1 of 11 in Totland Bay
387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 km away
Mimosa Lodge
Mimosa Lodge
#1 of 28 in Cowes
341 reviews
19.2 km away
Hermitage Court Farm
Hermitage Court Farm
#1 of 3 in Whitwell
417 reviews
25.7 km away
Foxhills of Shanklin
Foxhills of Shanklin
#4 of 51 in Shanklin
481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockstone Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockstone Cottage

Address: Colwell Chine Road, Freshwater PO40 9NR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Isle of Wight > Freshwater
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Freshwater
Price Range: RM404 - RM490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Rockstone Cottage 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockstone Cottage is a charming four star guest house originally built around 1790. Situated just three minutes walk from a sandy beach of Colwell bay, we offer bed and breakfast with a quiet, friendly and relaxing atmosphere for adults only. Ideally situated in beautiful West Wight this area is renowned for its beauty, with lovely walks on the coastal path and over the downs. The six well equipped bedrooms are all en-suite. Each room has tea & coffee making facilities, LCD TV & radio, hairdryer, radio alarm clock, complimentary toiletries and free Wi-Fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Rockstone Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing