We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Royal Esplanade Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Yelf's Hotel(Ryde)(Great Value!)
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$286
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Queen's Hotel(Portsmouth)
US$302
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
34
12
3
4
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
34
12
3
4
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsen suite facilitiesfrench doorsbar opensbygone eraisle of wightsea walloverlooking the solentseaview villagesitting roompublic roomsstunning locationkipperstop floorvintageallotmentloungeaga
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 60 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Three generations of the family welcome you to this Regency hotel set on the sea wall overlooking the Solent. This is a wonderful period building lovingly cared for with traditional high quality carpet throughout and freshly painted surfaces everywhere. There are many cherished period features and some aspects recall the seaside hotel of the 1950's - including Wood's Iris crockery and immaculate shared bathrooms.

Cooking on an Aga produces traditional breakfasts to order and pre-booked "slow food" evening meals from carefully sourced ingredients.

The owning family are keen to advise on all aspects of your visit to the Island and have a wealth of knowledge about all that passes by on the Solent in full view of the dining room, lounge and bar. The bar opens directly onto the garden and its secret steps and door to the sea wall path.

Room Tip: Excellent sea views from some rooms - a couple have luxury en-suite facilities and a view.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2017

I had an enforced 3 day holiday on the Isle of Wight as my car broke down and as I didn't want to spend too much on staying there I went to the Northbank. It is all from a bygone era that you feel like you've stepped back into simple seaside English holidays from the 1950s, but it's so completely charming! It's also a VERY popular hotel as it's pretty cheap compared to the fancy boutique hotels nearby charging over £200 for a single room.

The hotel is a Victorian building next to the water at the edge of Seaview village. Not all bedrooms have their own bathroom, which worried me at first, but the bathrooms were absolutely spotlessly clean and my room had a sea view. Breakfast is great, traditional but plenty of it and the service is very good and friendly. I hired a bicycle to get around and the hotel's proprietor let me keep it in his garage overnight. It's that extra personal service that you don't get in a fancier hotel that keeps the Northbank a fondly remembered experience and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view is possible.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank camerachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2017

Sunday lunch here is always a delight. We enjoyed a traditional feast of roast beef and Yorkshire pudding with plentiful vegetables and roasties preceded by homemade soup and with home cooked puddings to follow. We had a view of the sea over the garden and continued to enjoy this in the lounge where we relaxed after lunch for coffee and mints.
Highly recommended
We raised a glass or two of local Isle of Wight wine to my recently departed mum who loved staying in this special hotel.

Room Tip: Overlooking the sea and you go to sleep to the waves lapping
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank katepugh61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2016

Unusual, family run hotel in this most select of Island locations with amazing views of the Solent. Very friendly owners and superb atmosphere, other staff very polite and helpful and food also very good. Original 1950's bar with superb views into the garden and down to the waterfront, drinks can also be taken in the lounge complete with vintage radiogram. Very 'English' and restful, nothing is too much trouble and all are made very welcome. I was very pleased to visit and would definitely return.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fork_handles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

We had been prewarned that a stay at this hotel would be different and it certainly lived up to its name
Shared bathroom and toilets that seem to have had little updating for many years
The breakfast was the best part of the stay with a full English self service available

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews