We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely family break”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
58 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Yarmouth, Isle of Wight, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 58 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

baranski1...
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beach Cottage (Fort Victoria Cottages”
Reviewed 3 May 2021 for a stay in April 2021
2
people found this review helpful

This is the second tome we stayed here and the last.
Firstly
1. The toilet leaked
2. Shower leaked
3. Toilet was not secured to floor and was dangerous and moved.
4 floor lamp in kitchen not working
5. Not overly clean.
6. Front door lock was dodgy
7. Rat in under sink cupboard.

We stayed here on 12th April for a week and we contacted the owners the day after we arrived and no reply so eventually we found a mobile number and got the owners mother. A plumber was sent who did a temporary fix on toilet and said he would be back tomorrow. We never saw him again and the toilet leaked still all week. The toilet was left with the panel off exposing the toilet workings and dirt and a smell. It continued to leak all week. Half way through our stay we discovered a rat under the kitchen sink which came up from where the pipes were.
There was some dirty cups plates and pans. Also the toilet was not secured properly when you sat on it it moved a lot and was dangerous. The floor lamp in the kitchen did not work and the lock on the front door kept jamming when trying to open. There was no effort to contact us regarding the problems other than to advise a plumber was coming.
I emailed the owner on my return and he has failed to communicate with me or apologise or offer any recompense. We were the first people to stay here after lock down so there is no excuse for the property to be in this condition. I would not recommend this cottage or any of their properties considering how they treat you

Date of stay: April 2021
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HellsBell...
Southampton, UK
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Lovely family break”
Reviewed 25 August 2020 for a stay in August 2020

We enjoyed a lovely break at Beach Cottage (2 adults and 2 children) the cottage was clean and had everything we needed. We have stayed here 3 times now and love the view and location, a nice walk into Yarmouth and this time we also walked to Colwell Bay, including a visit to The Hut. The children loved Tapnell Farm and Robin Hill.
The cottage is looking a little tired and could do with some fresh paint and some new towels, etc and as dogs are allowed on the green out the back some owners didn’t pick up their mess which wasn’t ideal when the children wanted to run around (not the cottage owners fault but worth looking out for) overall we had a great time and would visit again.

Date of stay: August 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrandTour...
Corby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Very Nice place and location, little bit tired but comfortable”
Reviewed 2 September 2019 for a stay in August 2019

Location is quite good but somewhat claustrophobic (but I think that's the norm for IOW), Parking was very tight for example. Views were great and the stony beach was a short walk, but bathing not allowed, Dogs ok!. About 30 minutes walk to Yarmouth along the beach. Beach Cottage is a little tired even though refurbished in 2017, but still comfortable and well equiped. We booked via Home Away and the details of entry were not on the app as promoted. Local residents there very freindly and helpfull.

Date of stay: August 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hedgehopp...
Essex England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Did not want to leave!”
Reviewed 6 July 2019 for a stay in June 2019

We stayed at Beach Cottage and what a pleasure it was
At the end of a week, in most places we've stayed, we felt it was time to go home. Not here! We actually felt sad to leave.
Victoria Cottages are at a wonderful location and ' Beach Cottage ' was furnished and equipped to a noticeably high quality. A short walk along the seafront takes you to Yarmouth and an even shorter route to a frequently served bus stop if you want a break from driving. Abs no prob parking btw.
At the rear, the sea and it's passing yachts and boats offer a constantly changing view towards the mainland and the front is within feet of the coastal path through woodland. Idyllic!
The Isle of Wight is a really lovely place to visit in it's own right with masses to see and do and we give our whole hearted recommendation that you stay at Fort Victoria Cottages. A Very Happy Time was had!! Thank you.

Date of stay: June 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel273...
Kent, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a wonderful stay we had!”
Reviewed 20 November 2018 for a stay in October 2018

Beautiful little cottages. Very well kitted out and looked after. Cosy and clean and with a fantastic sea view. We had a relaxing week with some sightseeing too. Highly recommended. Thank you so much. Rachel and family.

Date of stay: October 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.