We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
No availability for your dates from these sites
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Internet
Reviews (614)
Filter reviews
614 results
Traveller rating
291
193
74
28
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
193
74
28
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbalcony roomlady hamiltonwellington roomshepherd neamelord nelsonlarge balconylovely hotelsea viewroll top bathsound of the wavescar parkthree roomsthird floorfirst morningfamily roomfresh milkoverlooking the beach
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 614 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

Stayed in one of the seaview rooms, on the expensive side but worth it for the views. Had dinner and breakfast at the hotel, both were excellent. Friendly and welcoming, this old building has been stylishly revamped and made a good base for visiting the area.

There is a public car park adjacent to the hotel where you can park for 24hrs (max) for £6.50.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Conrad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2018

We had our Mums 70th Birthday Lunch here yesterday. We had 21 people and we had The Map Room, the tables were beautifully dressed and arranged for maximum sociability. Anything we asked for was not a problem, lovely lady Manager had a 'can-do' attitude. The food was delicious, the service was seamless. All in all a great choice for a celebration, and very reasonable too. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank paula C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018 via mobile

We came here as a group - of 10 - for a quick drink on arrival in town.

A few of us had drinks while waiting for the rest of the group to arrive.

I had a flat white and the staff were really friendly, polite and attentive. The flat white was really nice and well done.

The views from the terrace are beautiful and I can imagine how busy it gets in hot and nice weather. It was busy enough when we were there and it was cold and overcast. It was also very popular with dog owners too.

I would definitely return and would consider staying at the hotel there too.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
Thank natters1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

We have eaten here before years ago and its still good.Plus you get Sheperd Neame beers which suit me fine.
I enjoyed a good plate of sausages made with their ale on a bed of mash, plus gravy. It was more food than I expected and tasted good
There is plenty on the menu reflecting the popularity of the place. there are also several areas to sit

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank rodburris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

We came to the Royal for my partner's birthday surprised and I'm very happy to say she was very surprised the room was lovely the bath in front of the window was fun it was bit chilly on the balcony if they had windbreak on the end it would have made it so much better the only reason we've given it a four is because of the windbreak and the strange Furnishings in the room a plastic chair and weird light but other than that everything was perfect we would definitely come back

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Michaeltownsend21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews