We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really funny aftertaste like”
Review of Torbay of Hythe

Torbay of Hythe
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Hythe
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really funny aftertaste like as if the oil was old didn’t enjoy or eat much of it won’t be back worst fish and chips ever

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Lillylyrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2021

Cooked properly in beer batter. Call first though anytime during the day to order your fish and chips or you have to wait, and wait, and wait because it is sooo popular. Eat in (book) or take away (phone) and enjoy,

Date of visit: May 2020
Thank Comeoninitsfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2021

i ordered 17 potions of small fish and chips for my residents to bring a bit of normality
back in to there lives.
The meals arrived all boxed and piping hot but a very nice gentleman whose name i did not catch.
But a BIG THANKYOU from all
Best fish & chips

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Linda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021

Buying fish and chips as a treat, I ordered by phone to collect from the shop. When I arrived to collect there were multiple groups inside waiting for their meals, some without masks.
No effort to encourage social distance or to get people to wait outside. I won't be back.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Colette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2020

Had heard mixed reviews since Torbay changed hands so thought the only fair thing to do is try it ourselves. We wish we hadn't bothered! Ordered and collected take aways for the family. The only positive thing I can say is that the portions are generous. however generous portions just meant there was more to throw away! The food was extremely greasy, the predominant taste was grease/fat and none of it tasted particularly fresh. We had a variety of meals and none of us enjoyed what little we consumed before consigning it to the bin. We certainly won't be ordering from Torbay again.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank M6127XQchrisd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Torbay of Hythe also viewed

 

Been to Torbay of Hythe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
Malaysia
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.