We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor excuse for an antiques centre”
Review of Heskin Hall

Heskin Hall
Ranked #10 of 35 things to do in Chorley
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Heskin Hall is a grade 1 listed Tudor Manor House set in 8 acres of grounds situated just 3 miles from J27 M6. Tt has something for everyone. Its an Historic building, a wedding and events venue and a unique shopping experience housing an Antiques Centre, fine furniture etc. We even have a licensed Cafe to relax in complete with a Garden Terrace for use when weather permits. Family run, the Hall is friendly and relaxing. A place out of time!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Called to day as it is advertised as an antique and collectables centre, Paid £1 each to go in, there were a couple of cabinets with not much in, all the rooms were set out with furniture in (not for sale) another room was set out as a wedding venue and another room was a large bar and another room was a large café, In our opinion it was shabby, the beautiful period staircase had a very thread bared carpet on it. We visited here about 8 years ago when there were lots of cabinets with collectables in, and rooms packed with clocks etc. Shouldn't be advertising this as a antique and collectables venue anymore and certainly should charge people.....very disappointed

1  Thank loopyloo123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestweddings, Manager at Heskin Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi

I am sorry that you were disappointed but, forgive me I wonder if you did go around the whole Hall?

There are a total of 17 cabinets in one room on the ground floor alone and 6 on the corridor just by the reception desk not to mention all the others doted around the building. Each and every cabinet is rammed full of goods for sale! All of the furniture is for sale.

Yes we have reserved some rooms on the ground floor for weddings (just 3) but in a Hall of this size that does not inhibit the other other sale areas.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"evening buffet"
in 5 reviews
"wedding venue"
in 6 reviews
"dance floor"
in 4 reviews
"wedding reception"
in 3 reviews
"curry"
in 2 reviews
"thinking of getting married"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful venue"
in 2 reviews
"interesting items"
in 4 reviews
"lasagna"
in 3 reviews
"every step of the way"
in 2 reviews
"cannot fault"
in 2 reviews
"recent years"
in 2 reviews
"lots of shops"
in 2 reviews
"beautiful grounds"
in 3 reviews
"afternoon tea"
in 4 reviews
"hidden gem"
in 3 reviews
"art gallery"
in 2 reviews
Filter

1 - 5 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2018

A wonderful old Hall, massive and imposing, with not only a history to be learned about, it also has a cafe, antiques centre and the most beautiful grounds.,

Thank Normski49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Met a cousin here the other day and wow had it changed since last there. It was not only the hall itself that had antiques but has new 'outbuildings' for you to explore as well. Could of spent longer hunting/rummaging through the stalls! You end up missing most as you don't want to 'join' other people!

It's downside is/was the cafe that is a cafe, fine, but it is 'plonked' at the entrance of one of the outbuildings so I felt very 'in the way' when people walked past! Especially when a lady and her young yellow Labrador walked past with a ''I'm being trained/learning'' coat, but taking in the sites/smells. Mind they 'joined us' in the cafe, of which he sat patiently waiting for his bed to be unfurled, it was, and he just lay on it!

Thank forever-ill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

Great little day out at Heskin Hall. Lots of shops to look round, great crafts , jewellery and furniture. Only £1 per person to go round the Hall, a fabulous building, if only walls could talk what stories they could tell. Small price to pay towards the up keep if this beautiful building.
Don’t forget the art Gallery and the beautiful frogs by The Frogman
Enjoy

Thank 19ianp62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 9 January 2018 via mobile

As a dealer in the antiques trade in Leeds, I called at the antique centre in Heskin Hall on a buying trip. Had my small dog with me, which is carried round in a shoulder holster designed for small dogs, so I don't have to put the dog down and cause any inconvenience to establishments I visit. Most antique shops and centres,even ones with cafes, take this into account and are very accommodating in order to do business. Not here though, was greeted by a rude and miserable old man who told me under no circumstances that we couldn't come in. Went in without the dog and was very disappointed with the range of antiques there anyway. Won't be back here. Plenty of better antique shops in the area, Preston Antiques Mill is a good place if you want quality period furniture and accessories.

2  Thank A W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bestweddings, Manager at Heskin Hall, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2018

I am sorry you were disappointed that we would not allow your dog entry. We are dog lovers ourselves but sadly some of our dealers have not had good experiences with dogs and their goods on sale. Not everyone is a responsible dog owner. In deference to their views we do not allow dogs around the main building.
Perhaps you have not experienced such irresponsible & rude customers - in that you are very fortunate

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Heskin Hall also viewed

 
Eccleston, Lancashire
 

Been to Heskin Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing