We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Had a great break”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Garden Annex

Welcome
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
59 reviews
Welcome
Sitting room.
Perfect for couples
Ideal for couple's romantic breaks
The romantic bedroom
A cosy intimate retreat
a home from home
Filey Brigg
Sunset
The view from the annexe Filey
Cosy and complete open plan living area
Shabby chic luxurious decor
After a walk in Filey, a lovely place to unwind
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 59 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lingiz1
2 reviews
“Had a great break”
Reviewed 1 June 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Lovely cottage had a great welcome by Sylvia and Steve nice cosy cottage everything you need for a great break xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Jun 2015
Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sharon139
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Homely little holiday cottage.”
Reviewed 20 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This easy to find annex was a comfortable base from which to tour the coast of East Yorkshire, visiting Filey, Bridlington, Scarborough over our weekend stay. The cottage was well equipped,with everything to accommodate two people and a large dog, and the fields opposite gave a nice view. The road outside is busy but the noise wasn't too bad with windows shut.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Traffic(but we did know it was on main road)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Thankyou. Great guests.the views are lovely. A great base to explore. The traffic was exceptionally busy, we were promised a bypass but it hasn't happened yet. Nice that the local pub has opened again th.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SEJ62
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Welcoming”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Stayed at The Garden Annex for 2 nights over Easter with my Husband and little dog. Lovely little cottage, easy access to Scarborough, Whitby, Robin Hood bay. Dog friendly pub nearby serving good meals. Overall we had a lovely stress free few days Would recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2015
Would be great to see you again. The annexe is so convenient for lovely walks etc. thankyou. It is lovely to see guests have a great time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Williams5...
staffordshire
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Don't believe description.”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Owners pleasant enough and they have made an effort to make the place look nice. However the description states there are 2 bathrooms one of which is a shower room.For health reasons this is what we need.
There is 1 bathroom with shower over a high sided bath which was problematic as there are no handrails. The description also asserts the property is wheelchair accessible. THIS IS NOT TRUE. There is a step running across the property and due to size and positioning of furniture it would be impossible to get a wheelchair into the property.
The walk to the beach turns out to be over half an hour.
The friendly local pub has been closed for some time.
I was expecting traffic noise from cars and trains which we had in abundance but I chose this property as it allegedly met our needs of 2 bathrooms and wheelchair access.
I looked in Filey and there ate numerous less expensive properties closer to sea front with equivalent amenities and easy access to shops pubs etc.
I feel very let down and we left early due difficulties we experienced as this property does not live up to it's description.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Mar 2015
We really take umbrage at this review. The guests gave no indication whatsoever of being disappointed at all, even tho we spoke every day. There is only one bathroom, with bath and shower over and does not have disabled access. During our extensive email exchange no mention was made of their requirement. We would have re arranged the furniture to better suit had we been made aware of any specific shortfalls. Yes there is a step in the annexe but you can still access easily with a wheelchair. The walk to the beach is 20 minutes full of interesting features. But we agree, with a wheelchair you would have to take the longer route. The local pub has shut down, yes, this month. Out of our control unfortunately. We miss it more than most.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jaxwar
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage”
Reviewed 19 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We enjoyed our couple of days in this cottage, Sylvia and Steve were very helpful. We were glad to have the secure outside area to let the dogs out into between walks. Had everything we needed in the cottage.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$77
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing