We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tickle Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Dining area for six
Second bedroom can sleep 3. Includes hairdryer and TV/DVD
King size bedroom with huilt in wardrobe area includes TV/DVD, hairdryer, iron/board and slippers
The duck family are sitting tennants but they do behave!
Modern bathroom with overhead shower, wall towel rail and skylight
Swimming pool area with sauna and steam room, complimentary access when staying at Tickle Cottage
The very important . . .pub!
Fishing lake
View from the top of the private access road
Ho Ho Ho
Have a Tickle Christmas
Park you car directly outside the cottage and explore!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Hunmanby, Filey, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Nic M
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab!”
Reviewed 28 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Lovely house, clean and welcoming with everything you need. We stayed here for 1 week, the kids loved having their own cd/dvd player in the bedroom. Nice big green area at back of house for the children to play. Good facilities onsite, pool lovely, ate in both restaurants and would recommend. Loved the beach, had the weather been a bit kinder to us would have spent most of the holiday there. If it wasn't so far away from us would be returning on a regular basis. Great value for money. Many thanks to Sally.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: 'A home from home'
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Jul 2015
How lovely thank you Nicola. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay I just wish we could have guaranteed the sun for you!! Thanks again and please get in touch if you would like to visit us again.

Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toontina
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 9 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Just returned from a 4 night New year break at Tickle Cottage with our two children 14 and 10 . First thing you notice when you walk in is how clean the place is - its spotless. Facilities were excellent Sally has thought of everything right down to numerous games and DVDs provided. Location is lovely and nice walking distance to the beach, pub is lovely and the food is good and very reasonable, pool lovely not too busy. Everybody was friendly too . The Bay at Filey is a lovely place to stay and Tickle cottage is well worth a visit - I imagine it will be lovely in the summer with the patio area outside. Thank you Sally for making our time at the bay such a good experience (your information folder also proved very useful) a very nice touch x Thanks too for the welcome drinks and Chocolates x

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2015
Thank you Tina for this great feedback and Happy New Year! I will pass your comments on to the cleaners as it's nice for them to hear such good feedback and I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay. I couldn't have you seeing in the New Year without chocs and a beverage or two!! Thanks again for taking the time to comment x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cosy beds!
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your break and that you found the beds so comfortable, thank you for your comments x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jessicawi...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect holiday cottage”
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Tickle cottage is a fantastic find and we loved it! It was my first time at the bay and it was fab the facilities are excellent and there was lots to do! We had a lovely meal at the on site pub the cottage was gorgeous I loved the decor and it's clear that everything has been thought about! It was a fab find and I would highly recommend it to anyone! My little boy loved feeding the ducks and looking at fish on the lake and going to the beach! Can't wait to book my next stay!
Thanks very much for sharing your gorgeous holiday home!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review, my son also likes the fishing lake but not as much as his daddy!!! That's when I hit the DVD's lol. Thanks again for taking the time to comment x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela R
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Tickle Cottage is the ideal holiday base”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a superb holiday in Filey staying at Tickle Cottage.
The cottage was very clean and modern with lovely decor throughout. The 2nd bedroom with bunks and a single was a bit of a squeeze but nothing to worry about as we were only staying for a week. Wifi was a big plus! as were the tv/dvd combis in each room!
The communal area out the back went down very well with the children, they were able to play out safely and make new friends. Whilst the communal area was just that, it did lack privacy but we had no trouble and it was always very peaceful after 9ish throughout our stay.
The beach was brilliant made all the better by the lovely hot weather we had. We drove to the access road an parked at the top then unloaded all our gear and walked the short hill down to the beach.
The pub was ok, quite busy but as it should be I guess for school holiday season.
The cafe served lovely pizza but I found the service a little embarrassing, there was a Yorkshire lad putting on an Italian accent when it suited him - why?!!
The pool was brilliant, immaculate facilities, not too busy and very clean - wonderful.
Overall - A very memorable holiday in Filey.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location for the beach
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thank you for your comments and we're so pleased you enjoyed your holiday. When you have the lovely weather too it's a bonus. Your feedback is really important and very much appreciated so thank you, we hope to see you again soon.
Sally x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;