We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Fun with the kids

We had fun - definitely the fact that there's a good quality playground, the current good quality... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Waddler
,
York, United Kingdom
Lovely afternoon out.

I visited here as a child and went back with family and my 6 yr old. We really enjoyed it. Its... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Carolyn B
via mobile
Read all 1,733 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Knaresborough
from US$68.19
More Info
Reviews (1,733)
Filter reviews
1,733 results
Traveller rating
644
538
265
148
138
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
644
538
265
148
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews mother shipton guide book gift shop play area teddy bears the river woodland walk robin hood leave your car nice walk adventure playground car park worth a visit few steps interesting place to visit couple of hours beautiful scenery
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,733 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a gem! Booked a morning slot and arrived slightly early but wasn’t an issue. We arrived by train so didn’t experience the parking but as pedestrians it was all very easy and the walking from the entrance to the main attractions wasn’t excessive. The Alice in Wonderland displays were somewhat interactive and a little underwhelming but that didn’t take away from the experience overall. The petrifying well was actually our favourite part, it’s intriguing. Cave was smaller than expected but still interesting. Museum again smaller than expected but worth a look. We did the whole thing in 90 mins or so including a quick run around the playground. Thoroughly enjoyed, would recommend.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank MarkEd18
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Owner at Mother Shipton's Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s.

We are so thrilled to hear that you found this to be a quaint little Yorkshire gem! We are proud to be England’s Oldest Paid Tourist Attraction, and to still be delighting visitors after 391 years.

It’s great to hear that your booking and arrival went smoothly, and that you found the Petrifying Well so intriguing. The cave is small, which is why it’s so incredible that Agatha and baby Ursula lived here for two years! We are so happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit and that you would recommend a trip to Mother Shipton’s.

We hope to see you again for another fantastic visit.

Kind Regards,
Mother Shipton’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Completely overpriced. Paid £30 for 2 adults and two very small children. Took all of 40 mins entertainment. Basically you are paying £10 to visit a park. The 'cave' is tiny (false advertising here) and has an awful young voice over telling the story. That was it! Museum and shop were TINY and completely age inappropriate (heads on stakes). On top of that you have to walk a road up to the caves which have people zooming past and no footpath so all in all I would NOT recommend this for young children or anyone really.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank WishYouWereHere825
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Owner at Mother Shipton's Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s.

It is a huge shame that you didn’t appreciate the history of the cave, and the legends that surrounds it. This is not an underground cave network; it is a small cave where Mother Shipton was born. Both Agatha and baby Ursula lived in this small cave for two years. We do not advertise the cave as an underground cave, but it is a cave by name and nature.

There are two audio options when you are listening to the story of Mother Shipton: one for adults, and one for children.
The Petrifying Well is England’s Oldest Tourist attraction and it has attracted visitors to marvel at the unique geological phenomenon for hundreds of years. However, that is not all there is to Mother Shipton’s, we also have coin logs, a wishing well, an adventure playground, a coffee van, an ice cream van, ancient woodland, and adventure trails during the school holidays. There is a footpath all the way through the attraction to the Cave.

We are a privately owned attraction and all admission fees go back into protecting the attraction for future generations to enjoy. We will take on board your feedback about the museum exhibits.

Kind Regards, Mother Shipton’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2021 via mobile

We traveled from Liverpool well worth the journey it was the best day we have had in the 6 weeks holidays our son loved every minute of the experience and the views are amazing

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank jayandclare13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Owner at Mother Shipton's Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s.

We are over the moon to hear about your amazing experience visiting Mother Shipton’s and that you found the journey all the way from Liverpool to be well worth it! It’s so lovely that this was your favourite day of the Summer holidays and that you and your son loved every minute.

We do hope we will see you both again, perhaps for a spooky trip this Halloween!

Kind Regards,
Mother Shipton’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021 via mobile

Pros - nice walk along the river to a little cave and well.
Cons - expensive for a walk along the river. Ok value for a young family with young children as the play area looked good. But for teenagers, nothing to keep their interest.
We parked and took a very slow stroll through the walk but were still finished in 40 mins.

Date of experience: July 2021
Thank 745nicd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Owner at Mother Shipton's Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s.

We are happy to read that you found the path through the ancient attraction to see the incredible geological phenomenon of the Petrifying Well and the Cave where Mother Shipton was born to be a nice walk.

As you walked through the ancient attraction you may have noticed that such a site requires a great deal of maintenance and upkeep to continue enchanting visitors for all of these years. We are a privately owned attraction, and all admission fees go back into protecting the attraction for future generations to enjoy.

We do try to have something for everyone, and we see plenty of teenage visitors who do enjoy their visit and find the history and stories around the park interesting.

Kind Regards,
Mother Shipton’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2021 via mobile

Came across this place by chance as driving past. The charge is per car so for 5 people it could be only £30. However you need to book online to get a parking spot, we hadn’t so we parked in the local carpark 2mins away £1.80 for 2hrs & walked in which was £10pp so actually was cheaper to do it that way. The grounds are lovely, lots of things for children to do, if you took a picnic you could spend the day... there was an ice cream van & a refreshment van if you hadn’t brought anything. The waterfall and cave is cute, can get quiet crowded, but people were being sensible with the one way system.
It’s basically a lovely forest next to the river with a bit of an adventure playground & a Alice in Wonderland themed big for younger kids. The scenery is lovely and it was well run. So glad we stumbled across it

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank TinaHH123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona M, Owner at Mother Shipton's Cave, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for contacting Mother Shipton’s.

We are thrilled to read about your serendipitous visit to Mother Shipton’s birthplace.

We are delighted to read that you found the grounds so lovely with lots of things to do. We do hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Mother Shipton’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews