We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected!”
Review of Becket's Restaurant & Grill - CLOSED

Becket's Restaurant & Grill
Price range: US$16 - US$47
Cuisines: American, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Becket's is a contemporary restaurant situated in the heart of the historic market town of Knaresborough in North Yorkshire.Offering an eclectic and varied menu in relaxed surroundings, all of our dishes are freshly prepared to order, using only the best quality locally sourced produce.
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My wife and I managed to get a last minute reservation (21st September).
My starter was wonderful, a pulled pork faggot that was incredibly light, not heavy like i imagined. The bread that came was great..just needed a little more.
Wine was 1st rate and the choice is perfect, not too over the top.
Main course of cod loin, again fantastic could not fault it!
Next time im going to try the taster menu they have with their wine suggestions, looks great!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank shamusthefunmonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (179)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 179 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2013 via mobile

We were staying overnight in Knaresborough and visited this restaurant due to its good reviews, we weren't disappointed! Food was excellent our steak was cooked to perfection and beautifully presented I also had the best Irish coffee I have had for a long time as most places don't seem to be able to make one correctly . the service was excellent and the owner was very friendly and created a pleasant atmosphere We would stay again in Knaresborough just to go to Becketts

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FelixstoweSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Becket's Restaurant & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Thanks for the encouraging comments.
I remember you well and thoroughly enjoyed the 'bit of craic' we had.
Delighted your meal was up to standard....................and me being Irish, even more delighted the Irish Coffee was to your liking!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We tried lunch here and we were not disappointed. We enjoyed the food although the quantity may not have satisfied many people. It was well presented and the service was efficient and discreet. It .was good value for money. Thankfully, music was nicely subdued. We'll go again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tarras5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2013

The menu is very varied and should suit most tastes. The Chef's is obviously inventive and very skillful. Our meal was superb and the staff were friendly and attentive. Look forward to a return visit.

Thank Trebor53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This was the third visit. Previously excellent food but the service was incredibly slow. Thought we would give it another go.The food this time was nice but very small portions, particularly the starters which were miniscule.The wine was very expensive & we didn't think it was good value for money. .Don't think we would rush back.

2  Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve P, Owner at Becket's Restaurant & Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 14 September 2013

I am truly sorry we did not meet your expectations and that you won't be back.
However I must address your comments, and in particular your use of hyperbole!
To call any of our dishes miniscule (sic) is an insult.
All our dishes are prepared from the finest ingredients and balanced for Nutrition, Flavour and Style. Less than 50% of our Diners have Starters/Dessert as they are perfectly sated with 2 and in some cases 1 Course.
With regards to your expectations of what a quality wine should cost, it is worthy of note that we had the Manager of a major Harrogate Restaurant in Becket's only this week and they were, quote, 'gobsmacked' at how cheap our Wines are!
We try really hard to give good value for money, and I believe we do, but on such a subjective issue we must sometimes agree to differ.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Becket's Restaurant & Grill also viewed

 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, North Yorkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing