We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (44)
Filter reviews
44 results
Traveller rating
29
11
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
29
11
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews surrey lodge checked daily hot tub sun loungers main bathroom dishwasher tablets nothing is too much trouble towels cabin dogs kettle walks yorkshire northumberland maintenance field northallerton
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 44 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We recently stayed at the Yorkshire Lodge at Kiplin Eco Lodges for a week in July this year. The lodge was very spacious and clean and has almost everything you could possibly need for a lovely family holiday. A few points we were disappointed about……we read all the comments about privacy at all the lodges…..but Yorkshire Lodge did not provide much privacy at all !! it is the first lodge at the entrance of the complex - I guess one has to be!! But it means that it overlooks the bins, the caravan where the on-site staff live, and the admin building…and that everyone driving or walking in or out can see your hot tub, veranda and outdoor seating area. An easy solution would be to plant some trees or a hedge to make this area as private as the others……! This didn’t spoil or holiday, but we did feel we would have preferred a more private place for us and our kids!! The only other point would be - we were there for 7 days and weren’t offered any clean towels….which odd given there is No Washing Machine !!

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank JuJuLubu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will Barker, General Manager at Kiplin Eco Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

I’m sorry you felt that you where over looked in the outside space and in regards to the addition towels if you had asked then we could have seen what we could have done we are having a major issue with are linen company
We are in the process of adjusting are decking to provide a private space to relax in the hot tub
Regards
Kiplin lodge park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2021

We booked a week away in July for 4 family members and stayed in the Durham Lodge. The location is just lovely….very quiet, surrounded by trees and the site is very well kept. The hot tub was very clean and someone attended to it every morning and the water was fully drained/cleaned on our departure. Kiplin Hall and Gardens is a two minute walk away and shops/dog friendly pubs (The Farmers Arms and the Heiffer), and Richmond town just a short drive away. The lodges are well spaced out and private. I like to sleep with windows open and I got a few nasty bites overnight, so you might want to take some repellent….
On the downside……there’s much room for improvement…… the lodges themselves are very tired. They need freshening up and the decking needs painting, but the main thing for us, which we all agreed on, was the cleanliness. The lodges interior felt ‘grubby’ for the want of a better word. When you’re living somewhere for a full week in a place that is occupied by other people year round….it needs to feel clean.
The first thing which stood out on arrival was that the door runner for the sliding patio door, which was full of dead flies and midges and the small walk in wardrobe in the bedroom had sweet papers on the floor which indicated that the place hadn’t been hoovered properly, so we gave it a hoover out ourselves. I dropped my phone down the centre of the leather sofa and when I went to retrieve it, found the crevice full of crumbs and peanuts……hoover out again.
There is a bed settee in the living room and when something needed to be retrieved from down the side of it, we had to open it up. It was very dirty and we found a bouncy ball, a cigarette lighter and a child’s toothbrush! If six of us had been there, there is no way I would have slept on that. You then start to notice other things……the skirting board in one one of the bathrooms had fallen off and there were a lot of dust webs above the shower. The beds need a clean valance on them as the sides of beds are bare and stained, which adds to the feeling of grubbiness. One of the big no-no’s for me, especially during the Covid pandemic, was the state of the remote control for the tv….something which is obviously handled by a lot of people. It was filthy. We bought some antibacterial wipes and I cleaned everything down. The settee throws and the cushion covers were dirty and needed a good wash. The place just didn’t feel clean and I feel that we left it a fair bit cleaner than we found it.
It’s such a shame as the place has loads of potential……
I have rated this on comparison to similar priced lodges and cottages that we have stayed in, which have been immaculately clean, a welcome tray given, option for a newspaper delivered on a morning on occasion etc.
We can go without the little extras, but I can’t go without the cleanliness. Attention to detail needed. I’m afraid on this basis, we’ll not be returning.

Date of stay: July 2021
Thank kathrynmT4905XK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Will Barker, General Manager at Kiplin Eco Lodges, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time for the feedback I’m feel very disappointed that there was issues that made u feel the lodge not been to the high standard these points will be looked into and delT with by the house keeping department
I’m sorry you put you won’t be coming back which is very disappointing we love to have you back to stay

Kiplin lodge park

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2021 via mobile

We stayed in the Northumberland lodge and it was absolutely perfect and spotless clean. When we arrived you could smell the cleaning products and we felt very assured that they are doing everything to comply with covid requirements.
Very comfy beds. Lots of seating areas, including sun loungers. Plastic glasses etc provided for use in the hot tub.
The hot tub was amazing, very clean and checked daily.
We took our dog with us and there’s a great field to walk them just behind the lodges. The little treats left for the dogs was a lovely little touch.
Alison and Paul are very helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Excellent communication right from the booking of the lodge.
Would highly recommend and can’t wait to visit again

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank TrishN580
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 November 2020

Booked a short break mon-fri 2nd -6th Nov. We couldn't of picked better ,less than 30 mins from home in County Durham and easy to find but it felt like a different world. Very clean ,quiet and cabins set spaciously apart it was relaxation as it should be. Each lodge has a hot tub set up with privacy in mind ,the hot tub were clean warm and had the PH levels were checked daily. The on site warden, Matt, was friendly, approachable and went out of his way to make our stay as enjoyable as possible. Located at the foot of the Yorkshire moors and close to Richmond and Northallerton and with Kiplin Hall and a country park nearby there's plenty around to keep you occupied. Pet friendly too so another bonus.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

We have recently returned from a weeks stay in the Yorkshire Lodge and would highly recommend a visit to anyone wanting a quiet relaxed stay in beautiful surroundings.
The lodge was beautiful, clean and well equipped with everything you could want for a luxury self catering holiday.
The lodges had secure fully enclosed verandas so safe for both children and pets.
Alison and Paul were extremely friendly and welcoming and only too happy to assist with anything you needed.
The hot tub was simply amazing extremely clean and checked daily.
The lodges are set within fields and woodlands great for walking our four legged friends and lots of local places to visit.
An amazing holiday we will definitely be returning soon.
Thank you Alison and Paul xx

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank C879JJsharonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews