We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Well House(Belford)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Purdy Lodge(Belford)
US$79
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$93
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Detchant Farm(Belford)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Reviews (603)
Filter reviews
603 results
Traveller rating
177
242
84
62
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
177
242
84
62
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue bellold buildingsteakold coaching innevening mealfour poster beda bit tiredhot watera living social deallick of paintgin tastinglovely mealpuddingfriday nighttwo coursesbluebell hotelmain course
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 603 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We returned here after quite a long time with good memories of a lovely meal in the restaurant. This time, sadly, we were not so impressed. We ate in the bar area which is seriously in need of renovation - the upholstery looks as if it hasn't been changed for very many years and the tables too have seen many years of wear and tear by the look of it. Service was great - very friendly and helpful but the vegetarian meals were disappointing. The bean chili was extremely bland - you would not know there was any chili in it and portion size was very small - it came with rice and only 4 decorative tortilla chips. The vegetable burger was supposed to be spicy but was equally bland and equally small. This came with some exceedingly oily chips. Overall we were not overwhelmed with the experience.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank profjoypc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

I booked under a living social deal for 2 nights B&B and managed to bag a Friday and Saturday as well. The deal was a bargain at £79.00.

It is right in the centre of Belford and a short trip off the A1 and has plenty of parking. It was extremely cold and snowy but it looked very inviting. The managed to let us check in early as the weather was awful and the planned walk we had didn't materialise. They advised it was steak night and booking might be a good idea which I did a bit later after reading the deal in the room.

Also included was Gin & Anti Pasti plate and I really didn't know what it was. We went to the bar before dinner and had a great introduction from a lovely lady about all the different gins available. We chose three and asked her to choose the different tonics for us. The AP plate was simple but tasty and the gins were lovely with the different tonics.

The restaurant was a little cold but it was extremely cold outside and it is an old coaching in so difficult to heat and keep warm but it wasn't a major issue. The steak deal was a choice of a 10 oz Rib eye, sirloin or rump steak with the trimmings and a glass of wine for 2 people for £26. We chose to upgrade to have the whole bottle for £5 extra. Portions were great and for £31 for two people it was excellent value.

We ordered a side of onion rings but didn't need to as 2 came with the steak and were home made so huge. The steak was also nicely cooked and the service friendly and not intrusive.

On the second night we also chose to eat in the restaurant and had Whopper fish and chips and the steak pie. Again very nice and plenty of it.

Breakfast was also good quality and cooked to order. unusually Eggs Benedict were available as standard and we had these and they were lovely. On the second morning we ate quite early and I didn't fancy the richness of hollandaise sauce at 8am so asked if they could just do 2 poached eggs on toast instead. Even though it wasn't a menu item they were happy to oblige and it was fabulous. nice runny yolks and obviously free range as the yolks were really deep in colour.

I would have no hesitation in staying again as it is great value and they even had a singer on the Friday night who was really good.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Kentishman71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

My wife and I returned from a great weekend at the blue bell hotel in Belford , a really nice old pub feel to it . We ate in the restaurant and found the food excellent . Hats off to all the staff , they really made us feel very welcome, . as did the locals . OK some of the rooms were a bit tired, but so were we after such a great stay and it didn't bother us at all for how long we were in the room . Thanks again we would definitely return

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank SouthshieldsSean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

Bought a groupon for a 3 course evening meal with wine. It's a lovely old hotel and the dining room was delightful.

The meal was superb. Well presented and delicious. We would definitely return next time we are up in Northumberland.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank dianeb183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018

My husband and I (in our 50's) visited the Bluebell on a cold March weekend. Lovely old building a little craggy around the edges but this added to its charm, bar and restaurant staff very attentive. The restaurant was lit throughout with fairy lights and made it feel cosy and welcoming! A lit fire would have been the icing on the cake!It was snowing when we arrived but our room was super warm,cosy and comfortable. The hotel was around 10 mins from Bamburgh Castle, an amazing place to visit took us 3 hours to look around the house and grounds, its really near the beech and dunes, perfect for a picnic on a summers day. Will definitely revisit

Room Tip: Room 28 on ground floor really near restaurant and reception. Very quiet.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqui R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews