We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything we wanted could'nt ask for more”
other travellers have booked this property
Linnet Cottage master bedroom with views out to fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Linnet Cottage master bedroom with views out to fields
Linnet Cottage with views out to organic farm land where you can see hares, sika deer and swallows. Sunfilled sitting-room, light and cosy
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Linnet Cottage master bedroom with views out to fields
Linnet Cottage with views out to organic farm land where you can see hares, sika deer and swallows.
Sunfilled sitting-room, light and cosy
Kitchen with a pint of milk in the fridge and fresh organic free range eggs for breakfast
Kitchen table with fresh flowers from the garden
Power shower, local organic handsoap and luxury slate floor
Enclosed south facing garden looking out to open fields, barbeque available and peace perfect peace
Field of organic oats in front of Linnet Cottage
Unspoilt and deserted beaches a short drive away
Peace perfect peace
Cheswick beach only 15 minutes from Thornton
Breakfast in bed watching what's going on in the field, is it a hen or a guineafowl?!
Comments from our guestbook
Our much loved Herdwick sheep
It's all very relaxed at Thornton
Stunning coastline walks to Lindisfarne
Wildlife is very important to us at Thornton, enjoy walks around our field margins
Thornton Farm, a 600 acre organic arable farm
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Berwick-upon-Tweed, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
angieg592...
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything we wanted could'nt ask for more”
Reviewed 27 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017

arrived Saturday evening and met owner, she was very friendly and helpful showing us to our cottage and nothing was too much trouble.
I would definitely stay there again as the location is close to Berwick and really peaceful the cottage was all it advertised and more.
thank you for our stay.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your holiday and the cottage was just as you wanted. Thank you for telling me of the good places you found for meals out - The Castle Hotel in Berwick and The Black Bull in Lowick. The Cross inn at Paxton is another good place to try when you return!
I very much hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Laura Smales

Thornton Farm Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
preciousf...
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Peaceful and idealy situated”
Reviewed 27 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

the flowers, milk & fresh eggs were a lovely welcome treat. Spotless throughout and very comfortable bed. On the minus side the tv was way too high up the wall to view and the sofa/chair were basic. The area was so peaceful & relaxing and convenient for Berwick-upon-Tweed and the Holy Islands. Just one word of advice - beware of the toilet seat - ill fitting and beware of the drop down lid!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Sep 2016
Thank you for leaving a review. I will fix the toilet seat and reposition the TV. It's important the cottage is comfortable. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your holiday though and found Thornton peaceful & relaxing.
I hope we might welcome you back some time again.
Best wishes
Laura Smales
Thornton Farm Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fussy086
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Absolutely brilliant.”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

A super cottage, very well presented with all the mod cons. Kitchen equipment, towels and bed linen of the highest quality. The king size bed is a dream. Quiet, remote, rural. Sheep and lambs in the field next door visible from your pillow !!
Handy for Berwick on Tweed with its town walls and Lowry Trail.
Would you stay there again YES.
Russ and Maureen Beach.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you so much for leaving a review, it is greatly appreciated. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed watching the sheep and lambs. The ducks have taken to wandering the field in front of Linnet too.

I very much hope you might return to Thornton in the future.

Wishing you all the very best,
Laura Smales

Thornton Farm Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon M
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
“Best stay ”
Reviewed 7 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Laura is so helpful and so welcoming My mother and I stay here in Ocobter 2015.
We loved our time in this update cottage and would go back in a shot. Its easy to get to Berwick and their loads walks that can be done. My mum and I also got to go to Anlwick Castle.
Its in the country and on a working farm.
Good and relaxing time was had.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave a review. I very much hope we can welcome you and your mother back some time. If you'd like to venture further into the Scottish Borders this time, Kelso and Melrose are wonderful places to visit. Kelso is 30 minutes by car and Melrose 45 minutes. They have lovely little shops and historical importance too.

Best wishes,
Laura Smales

Thornton Farm Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cosmopoli...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Romantic Little Cottage in the Historical Countryside”
Reviewed 3 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

If you want to get away from the stresses of everyday life to unwind and let your mind free, this is the place for you.

Linnet Cottage, a little cottage in the countryside next to a local farm, was beautiful with its stunning and glorious countrysides. Inside, it was very cosy and a sweet little nest for two with your basic kitchen and bathroom for all your needs if you want to stay in. Fresh eggs from the farm are to die for and something not to miss! The decor was beautifully done inside the bedroom and the bed was so soft and comfortable!

Although a little far off the beaten path from various national trusts and english heritage sights, we didn't mind the scenic drives to these locations and were never disappointed by the local shops and sites around. We set off quite early each morning but our days were filled with walking and visiting all these fantastic properties! If you like lots of walking and seeing this is the property for you!

Laura was a fantastic host and very courteous and we would definitely recommend and stay at this property again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view from the window in the mornings - utterly beautiful!
Liked least: I think the only thing that could be improved is the cleaning utensils for the flat - I found it a little difficult to clean the pots and pans! But that's just me!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2016
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. There are some lovely properties near Thornton: Paxton House (15 minute drive), Manderston (25 minutes) and Etal Castle (20 minute drive). The area around Linnet is indeed very peaceful and ideal if you want to explore North Northumberland, but perhaps the lesser known parts. A walk along the Tweed is glorious and a dash into Scotland is very easy. The train to Edinburgh is only 45 minutes.

I hope we might welcome you both back to Linnet Cottage. Thank you again for all your wonderful feedback. It has made my day.

Best wishes
Laura Smales

Thornton Farm Cottages
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing