We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable accommodation and very pleasant hosts”
Review of Megstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Megstone House
Ranked #6 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 June 2017

Donna and Paul are simply marvellous hosts and go out of their way to ensure that you will have an enjoyable stay in this lovely area. Their local knowledge is second to none and they know simply everything that you could possibly wish to know. Paul also knows a lot about Laurel and Hardy but this is another story! Rooms are comfortable and well appointed and breakfasts were first rate. If you are looking for accommodation on the edge of Seahouses in a convenient location do not hesitate.

Room Tip: Whilst the house fronts on to a road there is very little traffic and our room in the front was very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank howard64948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (189)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 189 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2017 via mobile

Each time we have visited seahouses we have stayed in this beautiful b&b. Donna and Paul have become not just hosts of the b&b, but also our friends and we always look forward to seeing them. They are a wonderful couple who are friendly and always happy to interact with their guests, whether that is making your breakfast or by assisting to make bookings for boat trips etc. The rooms are always immaculate and it's a lovely 1/2 mile walk from the b&b to the centre of seahouses. Amazing b&b and the other reviews prove that also! Thank you Donna and Paul!

Stayed: June 2017
1  Thank zswearman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2017

Megstone House is a quiet and comfortable home base for visiting the beautiful and historic coastal lands of Northumberland. Hosts Donna and Paul are welcoming, and could not be more helpful. They were incredibly kind to me, and made me feel like a family friend. They helped me plan my visit, including expert advice about rail and bus transportation. You can easily reach Seahouses on public transportation, with many departures daily to and from London and Edinburgh to nearby rail stations. Donna and Paul helped me find trail heads for hiking the beaches and coastal trails, and assisted me in booking an all day boat trip to Farne Islands National Trust to view the hundreds of thousands of nesting seabirds. There is an ample library in the house, which helped me identify the birds I saw. The house is impeccably clean and quiet, with comfortable bedding, a large ensuite bath, television, and WiFi. Donna and Paul serve hot breakfast to order, accompanied by assorted cereals, yogurt, and fruits. A short walk along a charming street lined with cottages and residences brings you to the town center, where there are a variety of restaurants, shops, and tour providers.

Stayed: May 2017
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2017

From the moment you arrive Donna and Paul see to your every need in a way we have never experienced anywhere before. Advise on where to eat, then they book for you; advice on where to go, then they will book for you - with a discount; weather not good - advice on where to go or simply stay in your room with plenty of drinks, biscuits etc. Wifi code on arrival (no asking required). Excellent cooked breakfast (it is no good asking for less of anything, Donna meerly fills the plate up with more of the things you asked for. Lovely spotlessly clean room, great shower and hot water, comfortable, plenty of drawer space. You can walk to the centre of town in 10 minutes or if foe any reason you want to drive the carpark in the middle of town is free for the first hour.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank 581antonius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile

This is a fabulous B&B. Donna and Paul are very welcoming and friendly, and full of good advice for places to eat and visit. Their breakfasts are lovely and the whole house is spotlessly clean. Our room was really comfortable, light and airy. Seahouses is a gorgeous little fishing village- probably gets busy later in the summer though.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Helen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seahouses
7.7 km away
Doxford Hall Hotel
Doxford Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in Chathill
1,289 reviews
0.3 km away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
204 reviews
0.1 km away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
142 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
823 reviews
0.3 km away
Springwood
Springwood
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megstone House

Address: 187 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: RM425 - RM457 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Megstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing