We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great overnight stay! ”
Review of Megstone House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Megstone House
Ranked #6 of 25 Seahouses B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Megstone House for one evening on a cycle touring trip. Donna and Paul were great hosts, locking our bikes up in their garage when we arrived. We had a large double bedroom at the front of the house with a nice, modern ensuite shower room. Donne and Paul recommended some good places for dinner in Seahouses, we chose the Elan Pizzeria a short walk down the main road, which was very good. Breakfast was great and we would highly recommend Megstone House to anyone visiting the area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice. Donna and Paul are excellent hosts and made us so welcome. The b & b is delightful and very quiet and peaceful. We stayed three nights in a lovely room and enjoyed super breakfasts. It is about 10 minutes walk to the centre of Seahouses and we ate at the Ship Inn and St. Aiden's Bistro - both were excellent. We will definitely return to the wonderful part of the country and, of course, to Megstone House.

Room Tip: Quiet area
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stewnjen12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

We were a little apprehensive as all of the other places we stayed, we picked hotels and this was our only B&B. However, we needn't have been as this place is a real gem!!

The room was spectacular!! The large room had a four poster bed and was full of solid, outstanding quality furniture.

The couple are lovely and go out of their way to make the stay as smooth as possible.

The only downside was that the wifi doesn't extend to the bedroom; only the bathroom. It's not the most convenient place to go to (no pun intended!) to use the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2017

This was our first trip to Seahouses and we couldn't have been happier with our accomodation. From the moment we arrived Donna and Paul were very welcoming. They are excellent hosts who pour their heart and soul into running their B&B.
We had a beautiful clean spacious room at the back of the house, which was serviced every day.
We booked the room for 4 nights, but we could have stayed longer. It is a short 10 minute walk into the town of Seahouses, but well worth as parking in the town is almost impossible. At Megstone house you could park right at the door. The location is perfect if you want to visit the many castles, country houses and gardens in the area. Donna and Paul were so helpful with restaurant recommendations and things to see around the area.
We missed the Puffin breeding season by a few weeks so we have a wonderful reason to return to Seahouses and the wonderful Megstone House.
Thank you Donna and Paul for making our trip so comfortable and memorable.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Wennypen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

We stayed at Megstone House for two nights in July 2017.
Donna & Paul were very welcoming, even making sure our room was ready early, as requested.
The room was large, very comfortable and immaculately clean, as was the modern bathroom.
Breakfast was a delight, freshly cooked to order, cereals, fruit etc was also available.
We will definitely return next time we are in Northumberland.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seahouses hotels
0.1 km away
The Olde School House
The Olde School House
#5 of 25 in Seahouses
242 reviews
0.3 km away
Links View Bed & Breakfast
Links View Bed & Breakfast
#2 of 25 in Seahouses
204 reviews
0.8 km away
Farne Island B&B
Farne Island B&B
#4 of 25 in Seahouses
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Regal House
Regal House
#14 of 25 in Seahouses
214 reviews
0.1 km away
St. Cuthbert's House
St. Cuthbert's House
#1 of 25 in Seahouses
823 reviews
0.3 km away
Springwood
Springwood
#3 of 25 in Seahouses
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megstone House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megstone House

Address: 187 Main Street, Seahouses NE68 7TU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Northumberland > Seahouses
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Seahouses
Price Range: RM406 - RM488 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Megstone House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing