We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome rediscovery”
Review of The Parish Oven

The Parish Oven
Ranked #15 of 135 Restaurants in Worksop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$38
Description: This charming pub is a great spot for all manner of occasions, whether you’re celebrating a special event or enjoying an intimate dinner. The Parish Oven combines traditional touches with contemporary features to create stylish surrounds in which to enjoy a tipple or a meal. This fantastic gastropub has an excellent reputation among locals for its delicious, great-quality food and well-stocked bar, and when the weather permits, visitors are encouraged to take a seat in the beautiful beer garden. The kitchen team takes great pride in the food served here, and the impressive menu is created using the best local ingredients. Thanks to a winning combination of excellent food, a relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff, The Parish Oven is a fantastic destination for any occasion.
Restaurant details
Description: This charming pub is a great spot for all manner of occasions, whether you’re celebrating a special event or enjoying an intimate dinner. The Parish Oven combines traditional touches with contemporary features to create stylish surrounds in which to enjoy a tipple or a meal. This fantastic gastropub has an excellent reputation among locals for its delicious, great-quality food and well-stocked bar, and when the weather permits, visitors are encouraged to take a seat in the beautiful beer garden. The kitchen team takes great pride in the food served here, and the impressive menu is created using the best local ingredients. Thanks to a winning combination of excellent food, a relaxed atmosphere and attentive staff, The Parish Oven is a fantastic destination for any occasion.
Reviewed 21 August 2021

We remember pie and peas here in the 70's. They were really good but this is a whole new level.

They rang to say there was only 1 chef out of 3 working due to COVID and there was a reduced menu, did we still want to go. We took a chance.

They must have been working really hard because only 2 things were off menu, both of which were long-cook items.

My husband chose steak, which came with chips, onion rings, baby vine tomatoes. French mustard came on request. I chose pan-fried salmon and dauphinoise potatoes (by special request), wilted spinach and beure blanc. The wine was reasonably priced.

The kitchen was stretched, so Kyle, front of house, just moved into the kitchen and helped out, very professionally, we could see it all happening from where we sat. Impressive.

Desserts were lemon and passion fruit posset and strawberry white chocolate cheesecake. Delicious.

There was quite a delay before the desserts arrived and they didn't charge us for them, even though we hadn't complained. Very kind.

All in all a very nice experience, one which we look forward to repeating. Thanks to everyone at this really well run place.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank kathrynbQ1306WV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCI Group, General Manager at The Parish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Kathryn,

Thank you so much for taking the time to send us your feedback, and we are thrilled for the 5* review.

We are so pleased that you came to see us, after many years previously enjoying times at The Parish Oven.

Your comments are really touching. Our chef team (and Kyle!) have been working extremely hard, and comments like yours make it all more than worth it!

Please do make sure to come back and see us again soon. We'd love to be able to welcome you on a regular basis.

Kindest regards,

Nic
The Parish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (323)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 323 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2021 via mobile

Food was absolutely fabulous, staff were great and attentive and the ambience of the restaurant was perfect. Cannot recommend this afternoon tea enough, it’s one of the best in the area

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Bladegirl19
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCI Group, General Manager at The Parish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good morning,

Thank you so much for such a lovely review!

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed the atmosphere and of course the food!

Our Afternoon Tea changes monthly so please do make sure to keep an eye out for the next menu.

Hope to see you again soon.

Kindest regards,

Nic
The Parish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2021

Visited 6pm 13/8/2021 for the first time. Very easy to book on line using the togo website. Excellent service and quality food. Reasonably priced will definitely be visiting again.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank 831RichardB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCI Group, General Manager at The Parish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Richard,

Thank you so much for your feedback and your 5* review! It is extremely appreciated.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your first visit with us, and hopefully it won't be the last!

Really happy you enjoyed the food and the service.

Kindest regards,

Nic
The Parish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2021

Grey beef, stale roast potatoes, mash no taste. Chicken dead. Carrots were nice. I do not understand how one can offer a product and not be able to deliver. Two meals, standard, but shows ability of chef, breakfast and Sunday lunch. How can the owners/ manager be happy.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kps1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCI Group, General Manager at The Parish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Good afternoon,

We are very sorry that you were unhappy with your meal with us yesterday.

All our food is freshly prepared, and we are very sorry that on this occasion you weren't happy with the offering. We have fed your feedback back to our kitchen team.

I am a little confused however, as we do not offer a breakfast service?

We do hope that you may try us again in the not so distant future to find our dinner service to its usual high standard.

Kindest regards,

Nic
The Parish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2021

We both had the pork Sunday lunch which did not disappoint! Plenty of meat, very tasty and nicely presented. Highly recommend the Sticky Toffee Pudding with ice cream .....it's the best I have ever tasted!! Staff were hard working and very polite. Came to ask for our order of drinks within a few minutes which was great and there was a 30 mins wait for the food, which you must expect when the place is very busy, which it was, and we received home cooked, lovely food (not a microwave meal which you get in most Chain pubs!). The chef/s should be commended for the food as it is excellent. Very pleasant pub, nicely set out, Covid precautions nicely in place. We can't wait to return.

Date of visit: August 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank BAL410
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FCI Group, General Manager at The Parish Oven, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2021

Good afternoon,

Thank you ever so much for your 5* review from your recent visit with us here at The Parish Oven.

We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your Sunday Lunch with us.

Fantastic choice on the Sticky Toffee Pudding - a favorite throughout our team too!

Thank you for the lovely feedback regarding our team, and the chefs' are over the moon at such lovely reviews of their food.

Please do come back and see us soon!

Kindest regards,

Nic
The Parish Oven

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Parish Oven also viewed

Rotherham, South Yorkshire
Barnsley, South Yorkshire
 
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
Sheffield, South Yorkshire
 

Been to The Parish Oven? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.