We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Quaint, lovely, somewhat rustic”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Lane Cottage

The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe views of the fields from the bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
26 reviews
The spacious and light master bedroom with views to open fields
approaching the annexe down the long gravel drive. Parking for guests in front of annexe
views of the fields from the bedroom
the lounge/ diner
the spacious and light double bedroom
modern, quality bathroom
over 1 acre of gardens
an English country Garden
The main house in the Snow
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Q4257XQan...
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Quaint, lovely, somewhat rustic”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

The family renting the garage apartment is just fantastic. The views across the fields is nice and their yard is filled with climbing roses and other flowers. We had just left a B&B that was refurbished with all high-end so we were a bit let down at first by the interior. But it's quaint charm and the friendly owners made up for some of what the apartment lacked. The things we didn't like were; bed wasn't comfortable with a very thin mattress and the Wi-Fi was really unreliable.
We would stay here again. We loved having a full kitchen and a washing machine. It's close to Thame where there are many wonderful restaurants.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2017
thank you Anna for your reviews. We're glad we enjoyed your stay. We are lucky to live in such a quiet and beautiful place. Thanks for the feedback about the mattress. Its not very old but a few people have said they didn't find comfortable so we have just ordered a new top end mattress. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your visit to England and we really hope to see you and Bob again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Perfect spot for the area we had wanted to visit”
Reviewed 1 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Thame was as good as we expected, nice places to eat every one very friendly, Blechley was the visit we wanted most, being national trust members was perfect but hard to fit them all in a week and to have a relax too

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jun 2017
Thank you Stan for the review. We were really pleased that you had a great time
Best wishes from Jonathan and Tais
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markdavie...
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great improvements, nice stay”
Reviewed 11 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

I stayed at Old Lane Cottage for a month while I was working locally. First, the Jonathan and Tais are really nice hosts. They are there when you need them and they leave you to enjoy the accommodation when you don't. Because I was there for a while, fresh bed linen and towels were provided routinely.

As others noted, the annex is not the thatched house but you get a great view of the house and the gardens which are very pretty. A number of improvements since other reviews. Jonathan installed a new wifi which worked great on my phone. There is a brand new sofa / bed in the lounge too which is so much more comfortable that the previous sofa. I slept well and the kitchen was nicely kitted out for anything ranging from a small breakfast to a larger dinner (double oven, microwave, fridge freezer, kettle, coffee pot, etc).

Being January it was chilly outside and the annex stayed warm and a welcome home from home after a long day.

Towersey has a great pub just a short walk away. Great food and friendly locals (there is a "men's night" at the pub every Friday around 7). Thame is a busy market town about 5 minutes drive away with lots of little shops for my wife to explore when she visited.

The M40 motorway is 15 minutes away and takes you to London or the midlands. London is 45 minutes away by train so this is a great base for travels.

Overall very nice stay in a great location.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Feb 2017
thank you Mark for your kind review. We appreciate the feedback and are glad you liked the new sofa. best wishes

Jonathan and Tais
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oxford
Reviewed 28 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
29 Dec 2016
Thank you for your review. I am sorry that the plug in the baisn would not stay down. I ordered a new one which was fitted as soon as it arrived. Again apologies that the toilet seat moved. I did come and repair this as soon as you told me and it is now solidly in place. Unfortunately 2 light bulbs had gone. I replaced one but had difficulty removing the fitting for the other. This was one of many lights in the room so I hope it wasn't too much of a problem. I hope that your house move went well. Best wishes. Jonathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Joanne L
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect apartment in quiet location.”
Reviewed 15 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Really friendly and helpful owners. Very comfortable apartment with excellent facilities. Excellent location for easy access to Oxford and London.
Would highly recommend this wonderful rental.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing