We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!!!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Ox House

View from Ox House towards the village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from Ox House towards the village
Kitchen with breakfast bar and bespoke spiral staircase Comfortable living room with TV, DVD & docking station
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
33 reviews
View from Ox House towards the village
Kitchen with breakfast bar and bespoke spiral staircase
Comfortable living room with TV, DVD & docking station
Luxurious upstairs bathroom with double ended slipper bath
Downstairs bedroom with kingsize bed
Stylish downstairs shower room
Staircase leading to feature bridge
Living room with woodburning stove
Dining area with access to outside decking
Upstairs twin room
Bridge to upstairs twin room
Front entrance
View of the property from the surrounding 10 acres
Brill Windmill
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Thame, Oxfordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 33 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
traceypar...
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Amazing!!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

I'm so in love with ox house. The pictures don't do this amazing property justice once you step through the door you can tell how much love went into renovating this location. Myself, oh and two friends stayed for a joint birthday at the weekend it was warm, luxurious had everything in the house you could possibly need. The lighting and music you could control by a tablet. Log burning fire whilst lounging on the sofa. The beds were so comfortable and every morning I saw a sheep as soon as I opened my eyes. The whole house is so clean and the land that surrounds is a great short cut to explore and get to the village. If you don't mind the sheep. I'm so relaxed after spending the majority of my time in the amazing bath with under lighting.. Look forward to visiting next year and bringing along out new addition.. Thankyou Jane. Much love Tracey and Co.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Nov 2014
How lovely of you - thank you! We look forward to welcoming you back with baby, not bump! Jane
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kazbury18...
Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful barn conversion in a lovely setting”
Reviewed 9 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014

My parents and I spent a wonderful few days staying in Ox House while visiting the area. The cottage itself is very beautifully converted, and is situated in a peaceful location just outside the village. Though walking distance from local pubs and a handy shop, it is surrounded by fields and hills and provides a restful retreat. Views from the many windows of the cottage are stunning. As facilities go, the cottage has all the mod cons and everything you may possibly need is provided.
The owners answered queries and organised everything very efficiently prior to our arrival, and popped in during our stay to make sure we had everything we needed.
All in all, it was one of the best places we have stayed in and we wished we could have stayed longer. We will definitely be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the conversion
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
How kind! Thank you for your lovely review - you'd certainly be very welcome to stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isabelle...
Vevey, Switzerland
1 review
“Excellent hosts - cosy cottage”
Reviewed 7 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

My family and I had a marvellous holiday in Ox House. It is wonderfully decorated, cosy, extra clean and it is fully equipped (my kids enjoyed the music system particularly!). It is situated near a very nice village in a quiet area where you can appreciate the peaceful life in the countryside. In addition, the place is well situated if you want to visit Oxfordshire and London.
Last but not least: the hosts are fabulous: we had a warm welcoming and they were very helpful. I highly recommend Ox House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Oct 2014
Thank you for your lovely review - we hope you'll visit again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
goneoutsh...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous barn conversion- excellent faciltilies- very relaxing setting”
Reviewed 29 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a great time at Ox House! The accommodation itself is a converted barn which has been done to a very high standard. Everything is provided for you- we even had a bottle of wine chilling in the fridge ready for our arrival! There is one double bedroom downstairs and two single beds upstairs in the roof. You definitely need a car as the barn is in the country, but you are only a 5 minute drive from the local village of Brill and its gorgeous windmill! We didn't make it to any of the pubs, deciding instead to enjoy the garden veranda and relax in the lounge area. The nearest town (the only place really to do a proper food shop) is Thame. We did a daytrip to Oxford which was fab. Can't recommend this place enough...

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2014
Thank you for you lovely review. We are so glad you enjoyed yourselves! Hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anna P
Burnley, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing house, perfect location”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Design, decor and equipment all high spec - perfect for couples as well as young families. Views across adjoining fields (which you can stroll in freely) with sheep and rabbits very picturesque. Our little one loved the chickens and pigs on site too. Short, easy walk into Brill, a very pretty village, with 2 very good pubs. Easy access by road to Thame (lovely small market town), Oxford and Bicester (incl outlet village). Owners live locally - very friendly but respectful of privacy. We stayed for a week whilst house hunting, and have chosen a home in Brill based on how great our stay was. Overall, a very special house and a very special location. Would highly recommend - summer or winter.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and standard of accommodation
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Jul 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review - we look forward to seeing you around the village!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing