We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Mrs”
View up the hill to the Farmhouse and Barn
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View up the hill to the Farmhouse and Barn
Front view of farmhouse Front view of Farmhouse & Barns
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View up the hill to the Farmhouse and Barn
Front view of farmhouse
Front view of Farmhouse & Barns
Barns from the track
View from the 2 properties
Hallway of the Farmhouse
Kitchen Farmhouse
Bedroom in cottage
Farmhouse bedroom
Main Bedroom Farmhouse
Downstairs bedroom Farmhouse
Upper Bedroom Barn
Beautiful beams in the Barn
Evening view
Rainbow over local field
Views
Autumn trees
Kitchen in Farmhouse
Sitting room in Farmhouse
Artist impression of Barns, due to be finished by 29th April 2016
View from a bedroom in Barns
Welsh name for Upper Valley Farmhouse
Bunk room in Farmhouse
Farmhouse bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
10 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Oswestry, Shropshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Chelsea H
2 reviews
“Mrs ”
Reviewed 19 December 2017 for a stay in December 2017

I booked upper valley barns and farmhouse for my husbands surprise 30th Birthday.

It far, far surpassed my expectations! There was an abundance of snow, the valley looked like an actual postcard!

The houses were genuinely beautiful and very well equipped! We had everything we would ever need! We definitely know- as we got snowed in!
Vicky and Sarah were incredibly generous and allowed us to stay an extra night as the weather and road conditions were so treacherous!!

My friends and I had the time of our lives at this beautiful home!

Thank you once again, for the wonderful hospitality!!

We will be back for sure!!

Chelsea & Tim

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Dec 2017
Dear Chelsea & Tim
Many thanks for your great review. We are clearly delighted you loved your stay and were not too inconvenienced by the snow and that it actually added to the whole weekend! Of course we would welcome you back anytime, so just let us know when. Have a wonderful rest of 2017 and hopefully we will see you again in 2018.
Thank you Vicky & Sarah
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilly61
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
Reviewed 2 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Surprise birthday weekend it was wonderful , beautiful place lovely surroundings very clean well kept i have been ill a lot and this wonderful place picked my husband and I up well, would highly recommend, Thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Oct 2017
Dear Gilly
Many thanks for writing your review. I am sorry to hear that you have been unwell, but so pleased you had a "little pick me up" weekend at Upper Valley. Have a good rest of the year. Thanks again Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen C
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful hen weekend”
Reviewed 29 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fabulous hen weekend for my best friend at Upper Valley. The Barn was beautiful & had everything we could wish for & more. The dining table was perfect, easily seating 20 of us. The kitchen was the best stocked I've seen with every pan & serving platter we could have needed. The two living rooms fitted us all in comfortably. The bedrooms are all comfortable & some have quirky little features from its use as a barn in the past. The hot tub only seats about 4 at a time, but has a view to die for. The farm is quite remote - it's a good 30 minute drive from Oswestry but the directions from the owner are great. Be warned it is located at the top of a very rustic track - in the wet weather standard cars may struggle...but we were blessed with lovely weather & thankfully my mini made it up there, even full of goodies! The pay off for it being off the beaten track is the serenity & the view. At the moments the fields are filled with lovely lambs. We're trying to find an excuse to go back!! Would highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2017
Hi Helen
Thank you for writing such a descriptive review of Upper Valley Barns. I am delighted to hear you had a great weekend and of course we would love to welcome you back any time.
Yes, the track is "rustic" but once you have made it up there (having learnt the knack of the track), it is totally worth it!
I hope your best friend has a wonderful wedding.
Many thanks again.
Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dianne w
Deeside, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Peaceful, stunning loaction and fantastic accommodation,”
Reviewed 21 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Not sure where to start with describing this property; it really is in the most beautiful, peaceful setting with no mobile signal (but free wifi if you need to keep in touch with the outside world). We stayed in the Bran which has been converted to a very high standard and there is nothing at all that you may need, that isn’t there, high chair, travel cots, bumbo, crockery, classes and cutlery for more than the 14 people it sleeps, washer, dishwasher, kitchen essentials you wouldn’t imagine to be there such as a mixer, liquidiser, flour and ingredients for baking the list just goes on.

We stayed for my daughters hen weekend (11 of us) and we had a fantastic time, when we arrived there was a basket of goodies on the table which was a lovely gesture and it was very clean and well maintained. All of the bedrooms were beautiful and beds were very comfortable with lovely thick quilts and all the features you would expect in a barn conversion such as exposed beams and sky lights; the bedrooms are all on different levels which makes the building seem even bigger. The living room on the 2nd level is very comfortable and plenty of room for us all. The ‘cinema room’ seemed to have a purpose built sofa which was very comfortable with large cushions added that went around a large low table and a flat screen television on the wall, there were also plenty of books if you wanted to relax and read.

The outside area has picnic tables overlooking fields and hills, the hot tub is just around the corner and off one of the bedrooms, we took advantage of both as luckily the weather for February was very mild.

Bathrooms were all very clean and stocked with toiletries. When you leave you are asked to recycle and why not although you may want to take this each time you go out, as if you leave it until the last day (we stayed for the weekend) you could have a lot of bags to add to your luggage when you pack up. The recycling is at the bottom of the track and yes you have to open (and close) quite a few gates up that long lane to the barn but that’s country life for you and all adds to the experience.

Now onto Vicky the booking manager, we booked to stay here through an events company but they didn’t give us a lot of information so I emailed and spoke to Vicky on quite a few occasions. She was always very pleasant and helpful and we appreciate all of her help, even down to posting my daughters swimming costume, which despite going through the barn at least 3 times checking everything, we managed to leave behind.

I would thoroughly recommend this for a relaxing stay close Lake Vyrnwy, beautiful country walks and a waterfall (all listed in the helpful book on the desk in the living room).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Feb 2017
Dear Dianne
Thank you so much for your very detailed review - all these points really help our future guests understand the setting, layout and how things "work", so thanks for taking the time to get this all down on "paper".
It has been a pleasure working with you to help make your daughter's Hen weekend a memorable one and from what I hear she had a wonderful time. Many thanks for all the kind words above. We would love to welcome you back any time, so do get in contact when and if you plan to stay again. Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MoragMorr...
Bristol
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Christmas”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Upper Valley Barn and Farmhouse were a fantastic place to spend the weekend with the family, there was plenty of space, lots of areas to relax in and for all the children to spread out and play. The hot tub was amazing, sitting in the warm with a view of the valley was quite special. The properties are very comfortable and well appointed. We will be back

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Jan 2017
Hi
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your thoughts and experience. Delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and loved the views! Look forward to see you back again at the end of this year. Thanks again. Vicky
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing