We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Summer Wedding 2017”
Review of Sweeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Wonderful experience from start to finish. Sean and his team were always on hand to help throughout the organisation of our wedding. They made all their hard work look effortless, allowing us to relax and enjoy the day.
We are delighted that we chose the Sweeney, it is a beautiful location and the food was really excellent. The staff made it a fantastic day for all of us.

Room Tip: You can view all their rooms on their website to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank felicity_woods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2017

Have just had the best stay at this beautiful place. From the moment we turned into the drive until the moment we left it was fabulous. A gorgeous building with lovely grounds to wander around in - much needed after the enormous and delicious afternoon tea we had. The staff were all so pleasant and just the right balance of attentive and discreet and Will in the bar is a treasure. Nothing was too much trouble and the walk he recommended for us the following day on our way home was perfect. The food in the restaurant in the evening was freshly prepared and really good and the Eggs Benedict for breakfast were divine. Did I mention the cocktails??? stunning :) Thank you one and all for a fabulous stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judeange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017 via mobile

A wonderful occasion much enhanced by the menu choices, the crisp table setting and the quietly unobtrusive staff. All our guests commented favourably and were delighted by the ambience. We have previously enjoyed several such functions here but this special occasion in our life was made into a delightful experience. Thank you Sweeney Hall.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Val B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017 via mobile

Difficult to describe, it appears to be stuck in several time zones all reflecting g its past as a historical family home, night club and residential home. It was very clean and the staff courteous and professional. Food was excellent although a limited evening menu. Bedrooms are huge and comfortable although decor and furniture was dated. Large gardens and patio area. Definitely worth a visit. Only two points for improvement otherwise it could be 5 stars, plumbing is past its sell by date and is extremely noisy in early morning ,and removing smoked haddock from the menu will be a definite improvement as the aroma was a talking point amongst visitors.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stu1902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017

Went to my cousins 70th birthday and stayed over. Food was fantastic and the bar was superb ( must mention Will who served us at the bar, fantastic and enthusiastic, a real credit to the hotel ). Room was spacious and comfortable. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Leslie3766
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
2.8 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
6.4 km away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
9.2 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
16.3 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
477 reviews
22.5 km away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweeney Hall Hotel

Address: Sweeney Hall Hotel Morda | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 9EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: RM461 - RM760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweeney Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Georgian Country House Hotel set in mature parkland yet within easy access of a major road.We have 11 bedrooms in the hotel as well as a cottage that sleeps four in close proximity. Each room is individual with all the quirky details you often find with a family owned and run property.A log fire welcomes you in the winter months and this is equalled by our fantastic terrace and gardens in the summer.We are open to non residents and have a great local reputation and following for our food.Whether a special occasion or a mid week bite to eat we can offer what you need.We have been at the Sweeeney Hall as a family for 20 years now and love what we have to offer with its history and warm atmoshere and unique character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sweeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweeney Hall Oswestry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing