We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Class in the countryside”
Review of Sweeney Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sweeney Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 November 2017

A beautiful old house hotel and restaurant with a gravel drive and oddles of character.
I passed it during the day and it has a parkland setting with sheep grazing in the fields surrounding the property. I went for a meal at7pm and what a beautifuly lit frontage greets you very impresive. There is plenty of tables on an outside patio area for lunch in the summer days or early warm evening. The inside of the property is just as impressive and beautiful kept. We were shown into the bar area to choose our meals over a drink. Even though it was busy this was done efficiently and as we were before 7.30pm we were able to choose from the early bird menu 2 courses for £15 or 3 courses for £19.00 . I had the Guinea Foul Terrine followed by the Braised Feather Blade of Beef and then the Pumpkin Treacle Tart and ice cream. The food was first class as was the presentation. The wine list and Gin selection was extensive, as there were 6 of us we gave it a good try out. The staff were attentive and the food arrived in a timely fashion with breathing and talking space in-between. Excellent venue and value for money

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Your comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (481)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 481 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Visited with friends for a Sunday lunch. Although rather busy we were shown to our table with minimum delay and given menus etc. A very varied menu was available with many choices and between us we sampled most dishes. Although service was a little slow because of staff shortages due to illness the staff were very polite and attentive. The food was delicious with ample portions , and extra vegetables brought to the table and left for us. Would recommend the food and can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank PGT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for the lovely feeback and your understanding.
We hope to see you here again soon. Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I had a great time at Sweeney..
It is a family owned Lovely Hotel..
The staff is very helpful and courteous
The building is old style..
Great food(especially Sweeney Full English Breakfast)..
The bar is well stocked.. The Gin collection is nice.
The rooms are comfortable with central heater..
You can get there by taxi from Oswestry town center or take a taxi from Gobowen station..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Siddharth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We are very plaesed that you enjoyed the food, gin and your stay with us.
Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Got the special rate on a Sunday, dinner bed and breakfast, excellent value for money. Food delicious, good sized portions, wine excellent. Staff excellent very attentive without being overbearing nothing was too much trouble, superb. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is lovely to read such nice comments. Much appreciated by all.
Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located on the main road into oswestry. So easy to find. And is very grand looking.
Inside was beautiful and very clean, the guy checking is in was very pleasant and and with the guy who checked us out.
The room itself was massive and very nice and very comfortable and very clean. Shower was very nice and so was the bed. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities.
All in all a very pleasant night stay at this beautiful hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Thank you. We try very hard to ensure everyone enjoys themselves while staying with us. To read "Great hotel" makes us all very happy.
Thank you.
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oswestry
2.8 km away
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
Wynnstay Hotel & Spa
#4 of 6 in Oswestry
435 reviews
6.4 km away
Pen-y-Dyffryn Country Hotel
9.2 km away
Lion Quays
Lion Quays
#1 of 1 in Weston Rhyn
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.9 km away
Mercure Shrewsbury Albrighton Hall Hotel and Spa
16.3 km away
Rowton Castle
Rowton Castle
#1 of 1 in Halfway House
477 reviews
22.5 km away
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
Albright Hussey Manor Hotel
#9 of 16 in Shrewsbury
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sweeney Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sweeney Hall Hotel

Address: Sweeney Hall Hotel Morda | Oswestry, Oswestry SY10 9EU, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Shropshire > Oswestry
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Oswestry
Price Range: RM461 - RM760 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sweeney Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Georgian Country House Hotel set in mature parkland yet within easy access of a major road.We have 11 bedrooms in the hotel as well as a cottage that sleeps four in close proximity. Each room is individual with all the quirky details you often find with a family owned and run property.A log fire welcomes you in the winter months and this is equalled by our fantastic terrace and gardens in the summer.We are open to non residents and have a great local reputation and following for our food.Whether a special occasion or a mid week bite to eat we can offer what you need.We have been at the Sweeeney Hall as a family for 20 years now and love what we have to offer with its history and warm atmoshere and unique character. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Sweeney Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sweeney Hall Oswestry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing