We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Bryn B&B(Oswestry)
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$96
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$54
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Greystones(Oswestry)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
313
118
48
38
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
313
118
48
38
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssunday lunchbridal suitecountry housemany occasionsthe early bird menuhis teamlovely settingtwo coursesbirthday mealafternoon teawedding venuewedding receptionfirst classexcellent foodmain coursefamily runlong drive
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2017

A beautiful old house hotel and restaurant with a gravel drive and oddles of character.
I passed it during the day and it has a parkland setting with sheep grazing in the fields surrounding the property. I went for a meal at7pm and what a beautifuly lit frontage greets you very impresive. There is plenty of tables on an outside patio area for lunch in the summer days or early warm evening. The inside of the property is just as impressive and beautiful kept. We were shown into the bar area to choose our meals over a drink. Even though it was busy this was done efficiently and as we were before 7.30pm we were able to choose from the early bird menu 2 courses for £15 or 3 courses for £19.00 . I had the Guinea Foul Terrine followed by the Braised Feather Blade of Beef and then the Pumpkin Treacle Tart and ice cream. The food was first class as was the presentation. The wine list and Gin selection was extensive, as there were 6 of us we gave it a good try out. The staff were attentive and the food arrived in a timely fashion with breathing and talking space in-between. Excellent venue and value for money

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Nigel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. Your comments are much appreciated and will be passed on to all concerned. We hope to see you again soon.
Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Visited with friends for a Sunday lunch. Although rather busy we were shown to our table with minimum delay and given menus etc. A very varied menu was available with many choices and between us we sampled most dishes. Although service was a little slow because of staff shortages due to illness the staff were very polite and attentive. The food was delicious with ample portions , and extra vegetables brought to the table and left for us. Would recommend the food and can't wait for our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank PGT9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for the lovely feeback and your understanding.
We hope to see you here again soon. Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017 via mobile

I had a great time at Sweeney..
It is a family owned Lovely Hotel..
The staff is very helpful and courteous
The building is old style..
Great food(especially Sweeney Full English Breakfast)..
The bar is well stocked.. The Gin collection is nice.
The rooms are comfortable with central heater..
You can get there by taxi from Oswestry town center or take a taxi from Gobowen station..

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank Siddharth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave this feedback. We are very plaesed that you enjoyed the food, gin and your stay with us.
Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

Got the special rate on a Sunday, dinner bed and breakfast, excellent value for money. Food delicious, good sized portions, wine excellent. Staff excellent very attentive without being overbearing nothing was too much trouble, superb. Would highly recommend to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. It is lovely to read such nice comments. Much appreciated by all.
Best wishes Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017 via mobile

The hotel is located on the main road into oswestry. So easy to find. And is very grand looking.
Inside was beautiful and very clean, the guy checking is in was very pleasant and and with the guy who checked us out.
The room itself was massive and very nice and very comfortable and very clean. Shower was very nice and so was the bed. Very comfortable. Tea and coffee making facilities.
All in all a very pleasant night stay at this beautiful hotel.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Luke B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sean E, Owner at Sweeney Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Thank you. We try very hard to ensure everyone enjoys themselves while staying with us. To read "Great hotel" makes us all very happy.
Thank you.
Sean

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews