We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Are both worse and better places around.”
Review of Admirals Table

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Admirals Table
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bridgwater
Reviewed 2 December 2017

Food is not very good, for the quality it is overpriced but then again they do '2 for 1' on main meals, cooks seem unable to manage busy periods and forget orders and make mistakes, staff have been known to turn up late or not at all if you are facing the main road in a room it will wake you up 3 to 4 times a night if you aren't used to it, never seen the same staff members twice the turnover rate would be quite high here and sometimes you get loud alcoholics outside after 11 shouting and laughing like pikey versions of al murray.

Room Tip: request one away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terry t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim m, General Manager at Admirals Table, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

Thank you for the review.

I’m sorry to hear that you were not entirely happy with your stay.

I have taken over here recently and work is well underway in improving all areas of the business - our food quality scores have risen massively over the last few weeks which shows we are heading in the right direction. The 2-4-1 offer is great value when there are 2 people dining - if you are on your own if you book your stay with us through our website (marstons inns) or with us direct you receive a 20% discount on all food purchased from our main menu and specials.

We have had no other feedback regarding noise after 11pm and unfortunately even though we have sound insulation on the windows we cannot influence the flow of traffic outside. If you visit again please call us and ask for a room on the car park side away from the road.

With regard to your comments about my team I’m not sure where you have got your information from regarding their conduct and turnover but I would like to assure that this is not the case.

I do hope that you will return at some point tomorrow in the future and see the further improvements we have made.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (275)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 275 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2017

We go to admirals table every week and have done for a long time. The quality of food is very hit and miss. This time was the worst ever. Ordered pate but was then told no pate, ok no problem will have soup instead. Well it tasted nothing like soup very watery and cold. Complained and sent back. Ok will enjoy mains instead. We waited and waited and waited no sign of our main course, was told we were next to be served but 20 mins later still nothing, waitress was trying to hurry it up but still nothing. Gave up after waiting for over an hour. If this is how you treat regular customers well you've just lost 4. Won't be going back unless things change dramatically. We don't blame the waiting staff they are very good.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Lynne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim m, General Manager at Admirals Table, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2017

I’m sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your last visit.

Since taking over here we have been working hard to improve all areas of the business.

The results and feedback we have received recently tell us a different story to your own so I am at a loss to explain how we got it so wrong for your table.

We will take your feedback on board and use it to help us improve in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2017

Flying visit and needed a place to stay for one night. Good sized room with all rhe required amenities. Spent a peaceful night. Had a meal in the restaurant (decent steaks), which was fine, but what was even better was that the meals were "two for the proce of one".

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim m, General Manager at Admirals Table, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2017

Thank you for the great review.

I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2017 via mobile

This was my third 2 day stay here in recent weeks. The hotel, restaurant and bar are all part of the Marston Brewers chain, that said the manager and his team, welcome you as though it was their hotel. All very friendly and helpful staff , whether it's booking a room over the phone, answering emails or simply getting a coffee refill. Good value, large clean rooms with great showers (hot water and powerful) and good quality TVs and simple to use Wi-Fi.
Comfortable larger than normal beds also make sure your stay will be good.

Great value food and super choices, all of which appear to freshly cooked from the restaurant in the evening. If you book direct and not via online booking agencies you'll receive a discount on your food bill. Also they run 2 for 1 specials on man courses most weekday nights.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank RegularTraveler1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim m, General Manager at Admirals Table, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Thank you for the great review.

I’m happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will pass your comments onto the team.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017

I feel that the service AND most importantly that the food has really gone down several levels.Cold chicken ,burnt Onion rings, not a waitress to be seen. used several times in the past but after yesterday will not be going again, until they revise there new food menu,

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jeannette c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tim m, General Manager at Admirals Table, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2017

I’m sorry to read that you were not happy with your last visit.

I have just taken over here and will be working hard with the team to improve all aspects of the business.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bridgwater
6.5 km away
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
Travelodge Bridgwater M5
#5 of 5 in Bridgwater
206 reviews
9 km away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
121 reviews
5.2 km away
The Sundowner Hotel
The Sundowner Hotel
#1 of 1 in Highbridge
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8 km away
The Walnut Tree Hotel
The Walnut Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Petherton
270 reviews
8.4 km away
The Royal Clarence Hotel
The Royal Clarence Hotel
#1 of 1 in Burnham-On-Sea
199 reviews
17.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Taunton M5, Jct.25
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Admirals Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Admirals Table

Address: Bristol Road, Bridgwater TA6 4TN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bridgwater
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bridgwater
Price Range: RM261 - RM443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Admirals Table 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Admirals Table reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Admirals Table Hotel Bridgwater

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing