We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing pretentious”
Review of The Manor Arms

The Manor Arms
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Manor Arms
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Perrott
Reviewed 4 February 2016 via mobile

A pub that can be easily missed. Passing up through the village, the pub is on the left opposite the turning to the church.

The Manor Arms was completely empty at 1300 on Wednesday and it took several knocks on the bar to rouse the landlady and her assistant. They were both delightful, serving us drinks and fairly standard pub fare with good humour and charm. The lady preparing food was fully conversant with food allergies and offered a simple alternative to suit my gluten intolerance. Nothing fancy or extensive in the menu - just plain cooking done well at reasonable cost.

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank treecutter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (54)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 54 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2015

we arrived late and nothing seems to be too much trouble for the people running the Manor Arms.
Rooms well kept,warm and very clean.Very nice breakfast and excellent dinner at the pub.
We definitely suggest this lovely b&b for your stay,we will BE BACK.........

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank argy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015

We have stayed several times in this welcoming pub and have got to know its friendly staff who take every trouble to make you feel at home. The accommodation is unsophisticated but comfortable and very reasonably priced. Hearty meals are served in the bar/restaurant area with very generous portions and freshly prepared food. People always have time to talk to you here. As a base for walking in the glorious south Somerset countryside this village is ideal, and it’s only short drive to the Dorset coast – Burton Bradstock, Charmouth, Lyme, Jurassic coast and so on. We have just returned from another very relaxing weekend visit and hope to go again in the future. WiFi is available at the bar but not in the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizn732, Owner at The Manor Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2015

Thank you for taking the time to write this review which is much appreciated by both the management and the girls that helped to make your stay so welcoming. We do hope you will call again when next you are in our area and enjoy some more North Perrott hospitality.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

We stayed for three nights in this pleasant and reasonably priced pub as the base for a motorcycle touring holiday. The staff at the pub were friendly helpful and accommodating, the beer good, the food fine and everything in the room worked. We slept well. On our days out we got as far as Chesil Beach, the Abbotsbury Swannery, West Bay, Lyme Regis, the Jurassic coast, the Cerne Abbas Giant, the Blackdown Hills and Dorset areas of natural beauty, and Montacute House, one of the sets for Wolf Hall on the Beeb. As an athlete I found a good early morning run aroud the village ending up at the local school playing field for some sprint repetitions. The Yeovil Montacute parkrun on Saturday morning is challenging and delightful around the NT parkland with views of the house. It was a good visit.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adrian E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizn732, Owner at The Manor Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is nice of you to let others know how well situated we are here in South Somerset for both the Jurassic coast of West Dorset and the historic town of Bath together with the abundance of National Trust properties that surround us here. We appreciate how you enjoyed your stay by your comments regarding our friendly staff, excellent food and good local ale. We look forward to a further visit from you. Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2015

Recently stayed here for 1 night when in the area visiting family. Our room was in the Hayloft, it was cold, outdated and smelt of damp, the only redeeming feature was the shower.
Breakfast was disappointing, not many options and although we asked for items a cooked a certain way, this was ignored, crispy bacon and soft eggs (not difficult in the grand scheme of things).
Although this is a small village and I am sure quiet safe, as our room was in a separate building I thought it strange that the outside door did not close properly and our one key seemed to fit both the outside door and the room, (do all room keys fit both locks, in which case do they fit all 3 rooms in the building) ???
Also, in the day and age, when people use the internet all the time, you would think that wifi would be available but we had to ask for it in the bar and it did not reach to the room.
Strangely I saw the room had a £1 meter for electricity, although this wasn't needed it did put us off after the amount we had paid to even think we would also need to do this.
The room was extremely cold and the bathroom very damp.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Jbens1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lizn732, Owner at The Manor Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2015

We are obviously somewhat concerned by your comments and would respond as follows. The outside door of the accommodation block is a Fire Door and as such has to be kept unlocked as part of lawful fire regulations. Every room has its own individual lock and key and NONE are interchangeable. If you felt the room cold then the electric wall heater was there for your convenience , was included in your room price and was NOT a chargeable EXTRA as you have tried to imply in your comments. It clearly states on our web page that Wifi is only available in the bar areas and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay in our country pub. Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Manor Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor Arms

Address: 19 Middle Street, North Perrott TA18 7SG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > North Perrott
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in North Perrott
Price Range: RM329 - RM483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Manor Arms 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Country Village Inn set in heart of a conservation village on the West Dorset/South Somerset borders, Built in local mellow stone, with beamed ceilings and inglenook fireplace it is a Freehouse serving a fine selection of cask ales, full a-la-carte dining room, bar snacks and a function room for private parties. It has a large car park at the rear together with a very pleasant beer garden. There are 9 letting en-suite rooms. Five are situated in the Coach House at the rear of the main building (of which 2 are set on the ground floor to facilitate guests with mobility problems. The remaining 4 rooms are situated upstairs above the bar within the Inn' The village of North Perrott is an ideal stopping spot for seeing the sights of the area. We are close to the West Dorset Coast for Lyme Bay, Weymouth and the whole Jurassic Coast is within 30 minutes driving time. We are surrounded by National Trust properties, beautiful walking country and some of the most picturesque villages Britain has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your The Manor Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Arms Hotel North Perrott
Manor Arms North Perrott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing