We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Travelodge Wincanton(Wincanton)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
George Hotel(Castle Cary)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (493)
Filter reviews
493 results
Traveller rating
308
149
24
8
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
308
149
24
8
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubsunday carveryzip wirelongleat safari parkgood sizespecials boardfamily suitepatio doorsvisiting longleatstayed for one nightroom was largewest countryfull english breakfastcomfortable bedbottled waterpuddingtea and coffee making facilities
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 493 reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

Can't fault my one-night stay in Wincanton! Great food, lovely staff, fantastic value. If I'm back down this way ever again I'll book myself in!

A little isolated if you want a taste of the local cider though, but the place itself is pretty awesome

Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
Thank PeteEatsAlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Public Relations Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for you kind review. So glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all was to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again, take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2018

Excellent Carvery, except for the Roast Potatoes, what has happened? they used to be very good and crunchy, how they should be, now soft and over-cooked. Seems like they have been sitting there for hours!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Public Relations Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for you kind review. We cook all our veg on the morning and through the course of the day so we can offer the best service possible, the type of potatoes change throughout the year so different potatoes cook in different ways . Glad you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again, take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Birthday meal for my wife. 12 of us with 2 small children. Lovely meal, good food and friendly service.

Facilities are clean and well maintained.

Staff are friendly and attentive.

Children loved the play area.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Public Relations Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2018

Thank you for you kind review. So glad you enjoyed your time with us and all was to your satisfaction. We hope to see you again, take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2018 via mobile

It is a very nice establishment. The pub is cozy and friendly with a big restaurant area. There is an adjoining field with a blow up bar in it. I am assuming that it is used for outside functions. It really does look like a lovely summer place to visit. There is a nice smoking area. A great outdoor play area for kids with climbing frames etc. A small animal enclosure is situated behind the pub where you can see. Sheep. Goats and lamas.. There is also a go cart track. I'm not sure if it is all owned by the hotel but it be worth finding out. The menu is typical pub grub.. Nice. varied and filling. Locals are friendly and welcoming too. Plenty of disabled parking. Why not 5 stars.. The rooms are a little dated.. It could do with sprucing up but all in all a nice place to be

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Alfiemoon795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Public Relations Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Glad all was to your satisfaction and you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon, take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2018

We stopped off on the way back from the Haynes Motor Museum for lunch. There is an extensive menu, lots of choice, quite highly priced I would say but it was really nice when it came. There was a good childrens menu, but I do think that was priced quite high too. Staff were lovely and made you feel very welcome. A good find!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Service
Thank RJA23_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malbain, Public Relations Manager at Hunters Lodge Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Thank you for your kind review. Glad all was to you enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon, take care :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews