We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boke!”

Rollercoaster Restaurant
Ranked #9 of 12 Restaurants in Alton
Description: Rollercoaster Restaurant is set below a vast rollercoaster track where diners can watch as their order tackles two gravity defying loop-the-loops before dropping 8 metres down the tornado spiral to their table. Each diner will enjoy a full 360˚ dining experience at one of the 13 tables and will get to select from the brand new menu of family favourites.
Restaurant details
Description: Rollercoaster Restaurant is set below a vast rollercoaster track where diners can watch as their order tackles two gravity defying loop-the-loops before dropping 8 metres down the tornado spiral to their table. Each diner will enjoy a full 360˚ dining experience at one of the 13 tables and will get to select from the brand new menu of family favourites.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We went here for the novelty but oh my goodness the food was rank. It was plastic and reminded me of school dinners (although I managed to finish school dinners when I had them...!) If you really want to experience the novelty of your food spinning around on a rollercoaster, order a couple of drinks (in cans) and then leave to get food elsewhere. Honestly, please don't waste your taste buds on this place.

1  Thank pb19932015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear pb19932015,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort's Rollercoaster Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We're very grateful for all feedback, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who dines with us.

We're disappointed to note the issues experienced with the overall food quality; we'll be speaking with the Restaurant Manager to ascertain exactly what happened in this instance, and ensure that it never happens again.

We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

188 - 192 of 1,271 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

Went here with the family a week ago, fabulous to look at inside but I think that's where it ended.
Staff showed you to your seat and gave us a brief almost like well drilled explanation of what was going on which was very difficult to hear due to the noise and didn't help that the light was changing constantly so making out what they said was difficult.
Menu looked ok so we ordered, things then started coming down the rollercoaster, but how you got the things off the tracks , well, you had to work that out for yourself, something which other families on the same table were also finding quite difficult.
When the food arrived we were very disappointed and shocked in fact, for me because of the price of the food overall was very high end we were expecting some fab food, all of our food was just luke warm and just about edible , Chicken burger, Whicker man, Fish fingers , Sausage, was just all poor standard, I think it didn't help that when the food came down in pots, the actual pots were cold and not heated up.
So when the bill came I couldn't be bothered arguing about it as the kids were tired, but when I looked at the price of it all for what we had, well it was the worst value for money family meal I think we have ever had anywhere.
The only positive thing to say about the place is that the concept of the place was good but the execution was 0ne Star *.

    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bangor_NorthWalesIsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Bangor_NorthWalesIsh,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort's Rollercoaster Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We're very grateful for all feedback, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who dines with us.

We're disappointed to note the issues experienced with the overall value for money aspect and the food quality; we'll be speaking with the Restaurant Manager to ascertain exactly what happened in this instance, and ensure that it never happens again.

We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Can't say enough about the service in this restaurant. The team were fantastic and the food was great. Fun and entertaining environment. Special call out to Lewis who was an absolute credit to the restaurant

2  Thank Danielle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear daniandkenty,

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review on Trip Advisor for the Rollercoaster Restaurant, we really do appreciate receiving comments from our guests.

It's great to see that you have given us a five star review, thank you.

We’re delighted to hear you had a positive experience with us and enjoyed your visit and that our staff were super friendly and helpful too!

Thanks again for your review; we hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

The experience of food delivery by rollercoaster for the kids is about the only good thing here.

Overpriced food and drink...£3 for a Caprisun, £8 for a kids burger meal which was like cardboard. The chips were the best food of the day.

Service was good and friendly. If coming from outside the park directions are poor and confusing.

Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Chris B,

Thank you for taking the time to review Alton Towers Resort's Rollercoaster Restaurant on Trip Advisor.

We're very grateful for all feedback, as it allows us to ensure that we're delivering the most amazing experiences to every single guest who dines with us. However, we are sorry to heat that on this occasion you felt the overall value for money was not present.

Your comments have been forwarded to the Restaurant Manager, who'll be utilising your feedback as part of his ongoing review.

We hope to welcome you back to the Restaurant soon.

Best Wishes,

Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Expensive for what it is, food not great and pretty poor choice I thought
However kids loved watching their food arrive down the tracks .

Thank sianiblew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AltonTowersCS, Customer Services at Rollercoaster Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear sianiblew,

Thank you for reviewing the Alton Towers Resort here on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to hear that this was the case. We will pass your comments onto our team at the Rollercoaster Restaurant. However we are glad that your kids enjoyed themselves. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Alton Towers Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rollercoaster Restaurant also viewed

Alton, Staffordshire
Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire
 
Farley, Staffordshire
 
Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 

Been to Rollercoaster Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing