We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Would stay again if cleaned well and had working...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Old Castle Inn

dining area with feature furniture
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
dining area with feature furniture
3 storey house wood burner in dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
50 reviews
dining area with feature furniture
3 storey house
wood burner in dining area
large open fire
kitchen
View from dining area into conservatory
library / music room
master double bedroom
master bedroom
large conservatory over looking garden
seating area in good sized enclosed garden
garden
garden
garden
stunning walks at Dovedale, nearby
view of Alton Castle from the back of the house
Alton Church
Alton Castle
Alton Castle retreat
Alton bridge
Alton rail station
view of High Street
Alton village jail house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Alton, Staffordshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Funkydais...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Would stay again if cleaned well and had working oven!”
Reviewed 30 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Stayed Monday to Thursday, two families 11 of us in total. First impressions weren't great I'm afraid. Rather dirty, had to venture under the sofa to find the TV remote, wish I hadn't!!! So filthy and hairy!! The house is very dark, needs painting in pale colours to brighten up. Tiny TV for a big room!!
First evening we "tried" cooking pizzas. Four hours later still not cooked!! Reported to the owner who just said to keep persevering with it. Ended up using the microwave! Dishwasher was disgusting, not cleaned either!! Kids all had black feet by now too! One plus, they enjoyed roaming around all the rooms andnplaying with all the toys.
Second night we ate at the bulls head, nice place but the agency chef mucked up several meals. Staff very accommodating. Very cosy.
Third night we had to order food in as oven still did not work and the owner hadn't replied to messages.... Until the finial morning when we complained that only one gas burner worked, no good for cooking breakfast for 11!!
Great house for visiting alton towers, just five minutes up the road.
Just don't expect to be able to cook any food you bring. Visitors book suggests problems with it for years... Still not working!!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Sep 2014
We are very sorry to hear about these misgivings. From our perspective, we did respond immediately to you telling us about the broken cooker, and offered to send somebody in to mend it - but you didn't respond to the offer! (or contact us again to say that you were still having problems for the remaining 2 days of your stay) He came in the day you left and mended it - it was just a problem with the ignition, and was resolved with using matches to ensure the ovens lit up properly.We had a problem with this cooker over a year ago, but of course we got it sorted, as we would not expect guests to have to manage without one. It would have been helpful if you acknowledged that we offered profuse apologies and voluntarily refunded some of the money you paid for your stay for the inconvenience you experienced.
We can't really comment about the cleaning, as we use the same team and have had very few complaints over the years. Sorry too if you did not like the decor and the TV was too small...ho hum, I guess we can't please all the people all the time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 May 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and spaciousness of property.
Liked least: Property was a bit cold, particularly on ground floor which is open plan and doesn't get much natural sunlight.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 February 2013 for a stay in November 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing