We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap and not so cheerful”
Review of Wing Wah

Wing Wah
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I like Chinese food cooked for a Chinese pallet; I am not keen on Chinese food cook for the British pallet and this buffet style restaurant is everything I dislike about Chinese food in the UK / Take-away.

A lot of deep fried food of a non-descript manner coated in an oily crust and covered in sweet sauce. The food that is not deep fried is served dry (cooked and left to dry on plates/bowels) or in a glutinous sludge. The deserts of jelly and ice-cream are about as good as it gets.

The atmosphere is a busy and large open plan area which results in large groups of people talking over each other to be heard. I am sure this is a fun place to go for a cheap fun meal with a load of mates, but it's not what I would chose for an intimate of small family meal.

This restaurant also highlights everything that disgusts me about quantity over quality and the glutinous attitude of so many in society... the amount of food that people pile on their plate that then goes to waste is incredible. There is this concept in the UK (might be the same elsewhere too) that if you in all you can eat or buffet style meals it's ok to pile high and waste. At what point do people realise is just as acceptable and politer and less wasteful to take a small plate of food and then go back for more and then back again should you need to.

The place was clean, staff attentive and friendly. Plus it's not expensive and for these reasons Wing Wah does not get a single star

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We value all reviews from our customers and we will strive to improve all aspects of our service. I have forwarded your message to the Senior Mangement Team whom will follow up on this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (599)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

26 - 30 of 599 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Wing Wah has been a family favourite for a number of years and was chosen as a post Christmas treat.

Warning bells started to ring when I had walked past half of the Starters, picking up only what could only be described as the cheapest looking curry samosas, their taste matched my first impressions. With the exception of the ribs and chicken and sweetcorn soup it was clear there had been a downshift in standards.

Main course was not much better with things seeming to be dry and afterwards, very salty.

Having previously enjoyed our visits to Wing Wah the last one is likely to be just that, the last one for some time.

A great shame, Wing Wah can do so much better.

I would hope my comments are taken in the constructive manner in which they are offered.

1  Thank BRMP180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We value all reviews from our customers and we will strive to improve all aspects of our service. I have forwarded your message to the Senior Management Team whom will follow up on this. Please accept our sincere apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2017 via mobile

Nothing to real moan about was nice and very busy. Enjoyed our evening as we live Chinese food. See you soon

Thank scouse000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017

We had booked for 3 people, eventually we were shown to a table at the furthest point away from the entrance, difficult to get to as there were tables of 20 plus with chairs jutting out, the noise was like being in a very busy canteen. to fetch food then return to your table was very difficult. The food was very enjoyable if you like eating in a very loud
room. We will no be returning.

1  Thank Robert W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We value all reviews from our customers and we will strive to improve all aspects of our service. I have forwarded your message to the Senior Management Team whom will follow up on this. Please accept our sincere apologies.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

I visit here roughly every other month to meet up with ex work colleagues. We enjoy the relaxed atmosphere, and the one price to pay. The food is never too bad, and you have to accept that it does sit a while in the serving trays. But we've never found issue with this. Suitable place for all ages and occasions, generally always buzzing. The waiting staff are usually polite and helpful. But can the person taking the money at the payment station perhaps smile now and again.

Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable. I'm sure the cashier will manage to put on a smile, after all, it is Xmas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wing Wah also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Derby, Derbyshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 

Been to Wing Wah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing