We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad visit”
Review of Wing Wah Burton

Wing Wah Burton
Price range: US$20 - US$30
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Wing Wah Burton Restaurant is the largest of our restaurants and opened to critical acclaim in 2004. It is located opposite the Coopers Square Shopping Centre, in the heart of Burton upon Trent. The spacious restaurant holds up to 380 diners and boasts a comfortable and stylish interior. Offering a wide variety of freshly prepared Oriental dishes and a range of different cooking styles at affordable prices, it's not surprising the restaurant is always buzzing. LIVE KITCHEN One of Wing Wah’s many unique features is our open kitchen. Choose from the massive variety of dishes on our menu and then watch as your food is cooked by our highly trained chefs in front of your eyes. At Wing Wah we turn cooking into an art as you watch. Not to be missed!
Reviewed 23 January 2018 via mobile

After many great meals this time was very different.
Meal for 6 was booked for 6.30.
We arrived and were seated and went to get the food from the all you can eat buffet....only there was hardly any food.
Out of 10 trays of starter food there was only 2 trays with anything in and mains were the same...
After stating this to an employee i was told sorry we are busy fully booked...
If it was fully booked surely they could have had food ready for that amount of people...
On my daughters 12 birthday party it was 35 minutes before we could eat properly...
That is totally unexceptable...
I got a small discount but left wondering if i will go back..it is not cheap and is a special occasion only for us.
Can i risk upsetting my daughter in the future...

1  Thank fkdaddy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (623)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 50 of 623 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2018

Good selection of food, went at lunch time, not as much available as an evening but this is reflected in the price. Not all the food was piping hot, but what we ate was delicious.
Was busy. If you want an all you can eat buffet would recommend an evening visit. If you thinking you need more than a mac’ds for lunch and have a pound or two spare it’s great value.

Thank Rachael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Burton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2018

My first time in Burton and managed to find this great restaurant, service was very good, loved that it was all you can eat (which I did). The food was amaing and I can't wait to come back for more.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank damiencurzon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Burton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

Thank you for the lovely review. We value all reviews from our customers and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience at Wing Wah. We hope that you have a lovely time on your next visit and that it is equally as enjoyable if not more so

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

This restaurant has always been a favourite of ours but we have not been for over a year. We can only think that this place has changed either ownership or management
because the quality of the food has deteriorated greatly since our last visits.
The main problem was the temperature of the food which at best was lukewarm and at worst almost cold. When we mentioned this at the cash desk when paying we were told that next time this happens, we were to tell them and they would cook a fresh meal for us. Which would be rather difficult when most of the trays were the same temperature.
The Chow Mein and Singapore Chow mein were mushy and tasteless and the Curry sauce in its separate container was so salty as to be unpalatable. Most of the dishes were not very tasty and In short the whole experience was very disappointing and the only food I really enjoyed were the prepared sweets.
We will not be returning and in future will stick to Iceland and Aldi dishes which are a lot
Tastier and cheaper.

1  Thank bevis69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Burton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We value all reviews from our customers and we will strive to improve all aspects of our service. I have forwarded your message to the Senior Mangement Team whom will follow up on this. Please accept our sincere apologies

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2018

I like Chinese food cooked for a Chinese pallet; I am not keen on Chinese food cook for the British pallet and this buffet style restaurant is everything I dislike about Chinese food in the UK / Take-away.

A lot of deep fried food of a non-descript manner coated in an oily crust and covered in sweet sauce. The food that is not deep fried is served dry (cooked and left to dry on plates/bowels) or in a glutinous sludge. The deserts of jelly and ice-cream are about as good as it gets.

The atmosphere is a busy and large open plan area which results in large groups of people talking over each other to be heard. I am sure this is a fun place to go for a cheap fun meal with a load of mates, but it's not what I would chose for an intimate of small family meal.

This restaurant also highlights everything that disgusts me about quantity over quality and the glutinous attitude of so many in society... the amount of food that people pile on their plate that then goes to waste is incredible. There is this concept in the UK (might be the same elsewhere too) that if you in all you can eat or buffet style meals it's ok to pile high and waste. At what point do people realise is just as acceptable and politer and less wasteful to take a small plate of food and then go back for more and then back again should you need to.

The place was clean, staff attentive and friendly. Plus it's not expensive and for these reasons Wing Wah does not get a single star

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHUAI Y, Public Relations Manager at Wing Wah Burton, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2018

We value all reviews from our customers and we will strive to improve all aspects of our service. I have forwarded your message to the Senior Mangement Team whom will follow up on this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wing Wah Burton also viewed

Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
 
Burton upon Trent, Staffordshire
Walton on Trent, Derbyshire
 

Been to Wing Wah Burton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing