We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing ”
Review of Drayton Manor Park

Drayton Manor Park
Book In Advance
More Info
US$40.72*
and up
Drayton Manor Theme Park Admission Ticket
Ranked #7 of 36 things to do in Tamworth
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We used our Tesco vouchers for a day here.. what a disappointing day! Firstly, there is no problem with the staff or facilities , the toilets are clean and you have the option to take your own food which is great.
We knew beforehand that a couple of rides were closed, but we experienced a lot more! Maelstrom and accelerator closed intermittently on and off, the haunting was closed all day and the children’s outdoor play area was closed! A couple more closed on and off all day too. It turned into a joke to be honest. The rides seemed to only be running on half speed too, which meant lots of waiting to go on the few that were up and running (we waited an hour for accelerater for it to break as we got to the front) . Don’t get me wrong, I don’t want to go on a ride that’s upsafe, but I do wonder what maintenance these rides have had for them to break so frequently. As we had a 10 and 11 yr old with us, Thomas Land wasn’t really for us.
Overall, a very disappointed family came home, don’t waste vouchers or money on this day out!

1  Thank watty933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonManorP, Manager at Drayton Manor Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. Our staff work very hard on the maintenance of the park and making sure that all customers have a great experience with us. As you have said we do state if any rides will be closed every morning on the website, however we also update this throughout the day for customers on the park.

Many thanks,

DMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (5,536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"thomas land"
in 2,217 reviews
"fat controller"
in 155 reviews
"g force"
in 186 reviews
"pirate adventure"
in 74 reviews
"storm force"
in 136 reviews
"troublesome trucks"
in 123 reviews
"all ages"
in 457 reviews
"thomas fans"
in 105 reviews
"splash canyon"
in 77 reviews
"ben ride"
in 101 reviews
"magical christmas"
in 83 reviews
"zoo area"
in 73 reviews
"thomas train"
in 69 reviews
"thomas shop"
in 66 reviews
"big wheel"
in 63 reviews
"dino trail"
in 62 reviews
"the grill"
in 80 reviews
Filter

110 - 114 of 5,536 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2018

Myself and my partner visited Drayton Manor for easter sunday with our friends and their two 6 year old girls and a newborn baby. We first entered Thomas land. The girls enjoyed the rides in here, as did we actually. We then moved on to the main park as the adults wanted to experience g-force, shockwave and accelerator. Out of all 3 of these, only shockwave was open. We queued one hour and 20 minutes for accelerator to finally get to the ride and it get closed. We completely accept and understand that all theme parks have queues however there were no areas to sit indoors with our children yet it was freezing and staff told us to take ourselves to the canopy area - which was still outdoors. Then there were no bottle warming facilities that we could find and when we asked we were told to go and get a cup of warm water from a donut stand. Food is fairly expensive which is expected but didnt taste the best. Staff didnt have the friendliest approach - especially one based at the Thomas land train rides and when we asked 2 different staff members in a similar area where the entrance to one of the rides was they had no clue and sent us on a goose chase. Overall we had quite a disappointing experience and unfortunately probably will not return.

Thank jess_6933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonManorP, Manager at Drayton Manor Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there,

We are very happy to hear that you, your family and friends enjoyed Thomas Land. Our staff work hard to see that all customers have a great experience, we are very sorry to hear that this was not the case in your situation. Any of our ride closures are stated on our website for guests to take a look at before they leave for their visit or whilst they are at the park.
If you would like to discuss anything further please contact guestservices@draytonmanor.co.uk.

We hope that you decide to return to us.

Many thanks,

DMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Came here with the family for a special treat. It was cold, damp and miserable but that didn’t stop us. There was so much to see and do in one day and due to the reverse weather we got to go on plenty of rides with little to no waiting in queues. Some of the rides weren’t open but what was open certainly made up for it. The kids loved the Thomas the Tank Engine area so much we could have spent the day there on and off each ride without going anywhere else.
If anything the food was expensive so would recommend a pack up, but then again, what theme park isn’t expensive when it comes to food?
Well worth coming to and will be back again!

Thank Jimbodeanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonManorP, Manager at Drayton Manor Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your lovely review. We are very happy to hear that you and your family had an amazing time despite the weather.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the park again soon.

Many thanks,

DMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

We had a lovely time in the park, went as soon as it opened. Went to see the ZOO first. When the rides opened we took Thomas train to Thomas Land. It is really nice but the show is very boring. We did not go to any of adrenaline rides because of the kids age. As rain for forecasted for afternoon we went to all the outdoor rides first. The rain came 3.30pm as we queued for a buffalo coaster and we got soaked as no shelter provided. After this we went to see 4D cinema and then Hunted house. But they closed it for no reason(it was opened in the morning). Staff was standing in front of the gate and when asked why it is closed she said- I dont know, they close sometimes! Also the laser ride next door was closed too and it was not communicated. It was only 4pm and we had nothing else to see except for lots of merchandising shops. For a small park like that too many closed rides. We were in Paultons park and Legoland and did not manage all the rides in two days, great shows in Legoland. Glad we came but I don't think I want to come again.

Thank sonia197342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonManorP, Manager at Drayton Manor Park, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Hi there,

We are very happy to hear that you had a great time visiting us at the park and taking a look around our zoo. All of our staff are told about any problems with rides to communicate accurately to guests, we are very sorry that this was not the case in your situation. If you would like to take this further please contact guestservices@draytonmanor.co.uk.

Any of our closed rides are updated through the website throughout the day.

Many thanks,

DMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

We have just had a fantastic day, our ages ranged from 2 -43 with 3 x 20 year olds too, Thomas land was fab and we didn’t have to queue for long for any ride, we went on adult rides too and thoroughly enjoyed the whole day, even popped into the soft play area which was perfect. Well done Drayton Manor, a fab day out had by all and not too expensive with your prepay deals.

Thank joanne a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DraytonManorP, Manager at Drayton Manor Park, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi there,

Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you and all off your group enjoyed your visit to see us here at Drayton Manor Park.

Hopefully you will come and see us again soon.

Many thanks,

DMP

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Drayton Manor Park also viewed

Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 
Tamworth, Staffordshire
Tamworth, Staffordshire
 

Been to Drayton Manor Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing