We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bank House Hotel(Uttoxeter)
US$75
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hare & Hounds Inn(Stramshall)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (228)
Filter reviews
228 results
Traveller rating
131
52
27
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
52
27
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbrown toiletriesknock on the doortea traybeef bourguignonboutique hotelsunday lunchbottled wateron arrivalfour poster bedfollowing morninglovely mealbooked a tablepuddinggood sizeample parkingcomfy bedlovely hotel
Filter
Updating list...
48 - 53 of 228 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had booked in for a 2 night stay in September.

First impressions, hotel looked pleasant enough and is conveniently located to the town centre. Check in was slightly uncomfortable as there is no hotel reception - merely a small till point inside the entrance (which I took to belong to the bar). At busy times you may find yourself just standing in the bar waiting to be noticed as the "reception" doesn't appear to be manned full time.Having checked in we made our way to the room.....and what a great room it was!! Spacious, massive bed, nice furniture and clean.....everything you'd want for a goodnight's sleep. Indeed, a good night's sleep is exactly what I had.....that was until around 7.30am when the banging and sawing started in the room directly above!!! It turns out that the 10 rooms on the floor above are currently being renovated!! Eh....no-one mentioned that to me?? Obviously I complained and the work stopped.....but too late, the damage was done!! We cancelled our 2nd night at the hotel and left a day early.

Quite simply the way the matter was handled by the management was terrible. The work has been going on for a while....why no email prior to our stay advising of the work in order we could make alternative arrangements? Why no offer of any compensation....not even the offer of a meal to entice us to stay the 2nd night?

Another time this could have been a great stay but I'd advise everyone to seek alternative accommodation until 2018 (work due to be completed end of Nov 2017).

As mentioned the room was great but, unfortunately, they have no idea how to run a hotel and seem to care little about customer satisfaction.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flashcat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we struggled to notice the small reception desk that was unmanned and looked like a till point for the restaurant. We arrived to check in prior to the races but were told that we couldnt check in before 2pm, fair enough. But when we returned at 7pm again check in was unmanned and the young lady who checked us in stared at the screen for way too long before finding our booking.
We had room 7. A lovely room. Very spacious, lovely comfy bed, great shower and nice Molten Brown toiletries. However if the sink tap was accidentally turned fully on the pressure caused the water to overflow the sink. Minor problems.
The problem was at 7.30 am when my lovely sleep was broken by the builders upstairs banging, dragging something heavy and then sawing! When we complained an apology was offered and the builders told to be quiet, but by then the damage was done. Upon complaint no recompense was offered so we decided to check out a day early to be guaranteed a good nights sleep back at home.
This is such a shame for what could have been a lovely break. Apparently the builders aren't supposed to start before 9am, so no chance of a siesta either!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank studynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival the hotel looked lovely. We had a nice welcome and the lady who checked us in explained where everything was and how everything worked. The room was very small however was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and again very clean. The biggest issue we had was at dinner. My parter is severely allergic to peanuts which we told our waitress before ordering anything, my main meal came with peanuts, I asked the waitress to take the nuts away which she did straight away but because the other food had touched the nuts it put me off eating any of it. The staff were good with the situation however didn't really seem to see how important it was. Breakfast was great lots of choice and tasted delicious. Would stay here again but wouldn't use the restaurant for dinner due to our experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bethbrom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Room ok but very small - bathroom beautiful but bedroom was so small couldn't walk round bed very easily- could not sit at chair at dressing table as so close to bed. Have stayed here before in room 7 which was wonderfully spacious but room 4 is tiny so avoid this room. Music from downstairs was boom boom boom so did end up phoning reception to ask what time this would go on till and she did say she would turn it off which she did straight away but feel should not have spent an hour tossing and turning frustrated by noise from downstairs-it's advertised as a hotel ?

Room Tip: Do not accept room 4
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunston Heath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2017

Had a lovely stay at the White Hart! I booked a 2 night stay at the hotel as It was my husbands 60th Birthday & had organised a surprise meal for him with his relatives! The hotel is beautiful, rooms are spotlessly clean, really comfy bed & very spacious. Two other couples booked a nights stay at the hotel after the party & commented how lovely the rooms were.

My niece helped arrange the surprise party with the hotel. We were given the option of using the function room upstairs for our sole use which was perfect! Menu options were really good & the food was delicious, everyone commented how good it was. A big "shout out" to Stephanie who looked after us all at the party, she was very professional & friendly, nothing was too much trouble! The morning after the party there was 10 of us for breakfast & Stephanie was there to look after us again. She organised tables for us all to sit together & once again looked after us so well.

I would definitely stay at the White Hart again, the Manager Ashley & his staff make this place extra special! Thank you very much for making my husbands birthday very special.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank janejsb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews