We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend wedding stay”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uttoxeter
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights for a wedding in Uttoxeter. The wedding wasn't at the White Hart.

The room was very spacious with a comfortable bed and a good size bathroom. The room along with the rest of the hotel had been recently renovated and the carpet and decor was clearly very new. A few more pictures on the wall would have made the rooms a bit less clinical as the walls were white with nothing to break them up.

Our room was overlooking the road and we did get a bit of noise from late night party goers. Double glazing may have helped but the old windows do add character.

The room was well equipped. Tea and coffee making facilities were available in the room along with ironing board and iron and hairdryer

Breakfast was good both mornings with enough choice of cereals and pastries as well as a cooked breakfast choice. A little fresh fruit on the buffet section would have been nice.

Overall this was a good hotel in a good location in the Centre of Uttoxeter

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

We had booked in for a 2 night stay in September.

First impressions, hotel looked pleasant enough and is conveniently located to the town centre. Check in was slightly uncomfortable as there is no hotel reception - merely a small till point inside the entrance (which I took to belong to the bar). At busy times you may find yourself just standing in the bar waiting to be noticed as the "reception" doesn't appear to be manned full time.Having checked in we made our way to the room.....and what a great room it was!! Spacious, massive bed, nice furniture and clean.....everything you'd want for a goodnight's sleep. Indeed, a good night's sleep is exactly what I had.....that was until around 7.30am when the banging and sawing started in the room directly above!!! It turns out that the 10 rooms on the floor above are currently being renovated!! Eh....no-one mentioned that to me?? Obviously I complained and the work stopped.....but too late, the damage was done!! We cancelled our 2nd night at the hotel and left a day early.

Quite simply the way the matter was handled by the management was terrible. The work has been going on for a while....why no email prior to our stay advising of the work in order we could make alternative arrangements? Why no offer of any compensation....not even the offer of a meal to entice us to stay the 2nd night?

Another time this could have been a great stay but I'd advise everyone to seek alternative accommodation until 2018 (work due to be completed end of Nov 2017).

As mentioned the room was great but, unfortunately, they have no idea how to run a hotel and seem to care little about customer satisfaction.

Very disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank flashcat61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival we struggled to notice the small reception desk that was unmanned and looked like a till point for the restaurant. We arrived to check in prior to the races but were told that we couldnt check in before 2pm, fair enough. But when we returned at 7pm again check in was unmanned and the young lady who checked us in stared at the screen for way too long before finding our booking.
We had room 7. A lovely room. Very spacious, lovely comfy bed, great shower and nice Molten Brown toiletries. However if the sink tap was accidentally turned fully on the pressure caused the water to overflow the sink. Minor problems.
The problem was at 7.30 am when my lovely sleep was broken by the builders upstairs banging, dragging something heavy and then sawing! When we complained an apology was offered and the builders told to be quiet, but by then the damage was done. Upon complaint no recompense was offered so we decided to check out a day early to be guaranteed a good nights sleep back at home.
This is such a shame for what could have been a lovely break. Apparently the builders aren't supposed to start before 9am, so no chance of a siesta either!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank studynut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Upon arrival the hotel looked lovely. We had a nice welcome and the lady who checked us in explained where everything was and how everything worked. The room was very small however was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was a good size and again very clean. The biggest issue we had was at dinner. My parter is severely allergic to peanuts which we told our waitress before ordering anything, my main meal came with peanuts, I asked the waitress to take the nuts away which she did straight away but because the other food had touched the nuts it put me off eating any of it. The staff were good with the situation however didn't really seem to see how important it was. Breakfast was great lots of choice and tasted delicious. Would stay here again but wouldn't use the restaurant for dinner due to our experience.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank bethbrom12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

Room ok but very small - bathroom beautiful but bedroom was so small couldn't walk round bed very easily- could not sit at chair at dressing table as so close to bed. Have stayed here before in room 7 which was wonderfully spacious but room 4 is tiny so avoid this room. Music from downstairs was boom boom boom so did end up phoning reception to ask what time this would go on till and she did say she would turn it off which she did straight away but feel should not have spent an hour tossing and turning frustrated by noise from downstairs-it's advertised as a hotel ?

Room Tip: Do not accept room 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dunston Heath R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Uttoxeter
1.2 km away
Premier Inn Uttoxeter Hotel
12.5 km away
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
14 km away
Weston Hall
Weston Hall
#2 of 11 in Stafford
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.2 km away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
14.6 km away
Whiston Hall Hotel and Golf Club
7.6 km away
Boars Head Hotel
Boars Head Hotel
#1 of 1 in Draycott in the Clay
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Address: 6 Carter Street, Uttoxeter ST14 8EU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Uttoxeter
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Uttoxeter
Price Range: RM 507 - RM 690 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart Hotel - Uttoxeter's premier luxury, boutique venue. Featuring a la carte dining, full bar with cocktail mixologists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing