We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$38
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$36/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$52
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Victoria Inn(Washington)
US$64
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Washington A1M Southbound(Washington)(Great Value!)
US$37
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Angel View Inn(Gateshead)(Great Value!)
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Chester-Le-Street(Chester-le-Street)(Great Value!)
US$44
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (977)
Filter reviews
978 results
Traveller rating
319
306
202
87
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
319
306
202
87
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssteam roomdriving rangesunday lunchhuge bedrestaurant staffpleasant staythe ground floorevening mealcouldn't faultboth nightsexecutive roomcoach partyfull englishfacilitiesfitchcarterorangery
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 978 reviews
Reviewed 29 March 2018

Stayed in this hotel since everything else in the area was fully booked. My stay was ok but the hotel itself is getting a bit old so it's average at best. The rooms, even though a bit old-fashioned, were ok. Bed was good. Average breakfast. On-site restaurant is ok.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JazzJumper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig C, Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Good afternoon

As you would have seen during your stay signs etc up around the hotel explaining we are currently undergoing a refurbishment, which will update the hotel.
Upon your next visit you will see the changes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights for a family wedding the room was comfortable and well cleaned each day staff was all friendly breakfast was good HOWEVER be warned the hotel is going through a referb and we were told work was between 9 and 4 we were woken on the last morning at 8 by builders that sounded like they were knocking through our ceiling. staff were very apologetic but not a good end to our stay. I'm sure we would have enjoyed our stay more had building work not been happening

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank scrumdown01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
note123, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Scrum down
My apologies for our exuberant builders, they certainly seem to work on a different time scale to the rest of us
The only positive is that in just a few more weeks our Hotel is going to look fabulous and I truly hope that you will allow us the opportunity
to show you how fabulous we will look
Should you be visiting the area gain please do contact me personally

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

I recently visited for 3 nights whilst I was away with work, I picked this hotel on booking.com as it looked very modern and had a luxury feel too it. This was the complete opposite when I arrived.. as I walked to my room there was a sign on the door saying “sorry we don’t look our best right now we’re having a facelift” customers should be informed over this before booking. I was so shocked when I walked into my room as saw how dated it was. I sent my friends the pictures when I booked it and they was shocked with what I actually walked into.
The room was very very dated, chains were on the door, the furniture and curtains looked like they’d been up since the early 2000’s. I went and complained at reception, the guy was very helpful and agreed to move me for my second night. My new room was more modern but you could still tell it wasn’t a complete refurbed room. I really don’t get why they have chains on the doors.. it’s 2018 guys. Instead of a king size bed it was two single beds pushed together which was a little uncomfortable. Although I was happier with the room, it just was nothing that I expected it to be if I had of known it was like this I wouldn’t of booked this hotel. If you aren’t bothered about dated rooms then you’ll be fine.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
Thank Lauren W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig C, Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Good afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to send us feedback.
We are currently undergoing a refurbishment on some of our rooms as well as adding more rooms to the hotel.
We agree so of our rooms are slightly dated but as you can understand we can’t close the full hotel to do full refurb.
Our king beds are zip and links which a lot of hotels use as they can be changed to twins if needs be however they are normally comfortable which I need to look into.
As for chains on doors yes they are obsolete however some lone travelers find it comforting as an extra level of security for them.
We apologise for not meeting the standards expected as we do strive to be the best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

Stayed one night for a business trip. The hotel is adding more rooms and upgrading existing. My room was pleasant and fresh. The shower was over the bath which I’m not keen on but it worked. We ate in Carter & Fitch the hotel restaurant. Food was different and very good, value for money. The breakfast was also very good. Had a very good nights sleep which is unusual for me, so that means it was a comfortable bed and good room temperature. Overall good value for money and would stay again when in the area.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
note123, General Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2018

Dear Wendy

Thank you for your comments, really pleased that you had a great nights sleep, our beds are lovely!
We take great pride in Carter & Fitch and I'm delighted that you enjoyed the food

We hope to see you again soon

GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

Staff were friendly and welcoming but we had real issues with the room.
Firstly our booking clearly stated King Size bed but it was a standard 4’ 6”. The room is on the ground floor, in a bizarre internal location with corridors on each side. There is a fake “window” onto one of the corridors with frosted glass and rather dingy looking net curtains for privacy but there might as well not be a window at all as the room is so dark you need the lights on so need to draw the curtains or feel like you’re in a fish tank, despite the frosted glass. Ironically the curtains don’t block the light coming in from the corridor so had to sleep with pillows over our heads as it was like trying to sleep with a bright streetlamp outside.
The room was very stuffy, there is a ventilation fan of sorts but it was very noisy and so weak that we couldn’t tell if it was blowing air in or out of the room.
Worst of all was the noise. There are fire doors on the corridors surrounding the room which closed with a loud “bang!” in use almost constantly till about 1.30 on the morning and again from about 5.30 so we had very little sleep, not good considering we’d had a 5 hour drive to get there and had the return journey the next day. I woke up in panic at one point thinking there was someone in the room but it was just voices in the corridor outside the “window”.
I don’t think this room is suitable as guest accommodation. It’s almost as though someone saw a bit of extra space and thought “know what? We could squeeze an extra room in there”. Maybe when the refurbishments are finished they can convert it into a storeroom or something as that’s all it’s suitable for. I hope the rest of the hotel is better but based on this experience I can’t in good faith recommend it. As an Accor Club member I feel this room was Travelodge standard at Mercure prices.

Room Tip: Avoid Ground Floor Rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bordercollie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Craig C, Manager at Mercure Newcastle George Washington Hotel Golf and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2018

Good afternoon

Thank you for your feedback I will
Look into your comments. We do strive to give 100%.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews