We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pub in the village”
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Ranked #4 of 4 Restaurants in Ilmington
Price range: US$7 - US$20
Cuisines: British
Description: A tradition Cotswold country pub set the in heart of Ilmington, open all day every day for from 12 o’clock Sunday - Monday and from 10 on Saturday (serving full english breakfast until midday Saturday only). Our full menu is available 7 days a week, please check website for serving hours. We provide excellent range of Hook Norton Ales and Artisan Gins, as well as quality wine and spirits. Our extensive menu including delicious tempting starters, hearty satisfying home cooked main dishes that are prepared using locally sourced and seasonal produce were possible In the winter relax in front of the log fire or in the summer enjoy our well maintain rear and inclosed beer garden. Children and dogs friendly, book a table or just turn up and enjoy the atmosphere!
Restaurant details
Description: A tradition Cotswold country pub set the in heart of Ilmington, open all day every day for from 12 o’clock Sunday - Monday and from 10 on Saturday (serving full english breakfast until midday Saturday only). Our full menu is available 7 days a week, please check website for serving hours. We provide excellent range of Hook Norton Ales and Artisan Gins, as well as quality wine and spirits. Our extensive menu including delicious tempting starters, hearty satisfying home cooked main dishes that are prepared using locally sourced and seasonal produce were possible In the winter relax in front of the log fire or in the summer enjoy our well maintain rear and inclosed beer garden. Children and dogs friendly, book a table or just turn up and enjoy the atmosphere!
Reviewed 2 April 2018

Lovely log fire, good local beers..... Hooky et al........ splendid sandwiches - ham highly recommened and homecooked - and largely meals, too. Not as foodie as the Howard Arms but pubbier in many ways.

It's a lovely village and a slow stroll round is pleasant and the Lion is about halfway round...... so take a break..... sit by the fire and relax into the place.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Capability186463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deeredlion, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Thank you so glad you enjoyed the Hooky Ham Sandwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2017

By far one of the best pub restaurants around for many miles, we live 40 miles from this place but still find it well worth the journey.

Always open and always busy the food although a bit pricy is well worth it

1  Thank spencerstephen27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalionrouge, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Thank you so much for your review. We have looked at our pricing very carefully and if we went into the lower band it would mean compromising on the quality and perhaps not having locally sourced products. We are sure you understand this and we are very grateful you travel so far out to us. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017 via mobile

We visited the Red Lion for a large family meal / birthday celebration. We pre-ordered the food which is required for larger groups and the staff dealt with our numerous dietary requirements well. The Sunday roast was the best that I’ve had in a long time. It’s difficult to get beef right for so many people, but clearly not an issue at the Red Lion. Yorkshire puddings were stunning. Hooky on tap is always welcome. Thanks for a memorable lunch and sorry about our complicated orders!

1  Thank Chriffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalionrouge, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2017

Oh we are so pleased about your review. We all try very hard to meet everyone's requirements where possible.... but sometimes that just isn't possible. Your party was really not any different to most. But we are very pleased that you found everything to your liking. Especially that you enjoyed your Sunday Roast.... which is still a new addition to The Red Lion through Dee's Kitchen..... and of course we HAVE to make sure the beer is on par, hence our Hooky Award for Beer Quality and Cellar Management :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2017 via mobile

The menu was interesting and all the food seemed to be prepared freshly. Very reasonably priced as well. Around £10 for the mains. The longish wait for the food was worth it . Friendly place with relaxing atmosphere. Would use again when in the area.

Thank Hilary293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalionrouge, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Dee's Kitchen is now establishing itself as a great place for home cooked dishes and we are very pleased you recognised that.... always worth the wait ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

We were lucky enough to try the inaugural Traditional Sunday Lunch at this gorgeous place from the new 'Dee's Kitchen' and my goodness... what a lunch it was!

Beautifully home cooked food in an informal atmosphere. Would highly recommend.

Thank NSGeats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lalionrouge, Owner at The Red Lion, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you so much for your review. Dee's Kitchen is doing a superb job. You must come and try her evening menu. The Deelicious Burger is an absolute feast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Armscote, Ilmington
Ilmington, Cotswolds
 
Alderminster, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing