We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bank holiday drink”
Review of Acorn

Acorn
Ranked #78 of 170 Restaurants in Nuneaton
Restaurant details
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Awful atmosphere. Could be such a nice place to drink
The amount of new houses that are being built I think the place needs a massive overall.
If u can actually get a seat... they are all split and the stuffing gauged out!!!
Bar staff are overworked and looked knackered!!!
No idea who the landlord and landlady are

The final insult was when a very drunk person came and told us we had to take our children out as they were not allowed in the pub after 9!!!! Would have been ok had we taken kids in the pub
I’m sure my 31 and 25 yr olds would have been slightly insulted

Thank Heskey13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 140 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We came here for something to eat the staff were professional ( laura was a excellent) how food can out quickly and was cook to perfection by (Adam the chef) well done . I would recommend anyone to this pub atmosphere is great and you are made to feel welcome

Thank Jase S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I always check out the reviews before I try a new place out, this one had quite good ones, but how wrong can you be!
Service was OK, there was no atmosphere in the place and it was a bit dingy down to poor lighting I think. The food was so-so, the Hunter's chicken was tasty but the chips were obviously oven chips and tasteless and boring, you should learn from Wetherspoons their chips are excellent. The first choice of 'Not fish and chips' Halloumi was not available, the 2nd choice of Quorn sausage and mash, well what a rip off, you get 3 anaemic looking sausages, a dollop of tasteless mash and a spoonful of peas, definitely one to avoid. Just to add insult to injury, after I had finished my pint, I looked at the glass and it was filthy, yes on the inside, I wiped an area on the inside just to check. It looks like it had been 'washed' in dirty, greasy water, it was a disgrace. Needless to say, we will not be returning to that place again

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018 via mobile

Visited the Acorn Pub with my son.
Not a great experience. People vaping inside the pub, loud music coming from the kitchen.
Manageress oblivious do to chatting to the bar staff all evening.

Thank justine3456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah H, General Manager at Acorn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Hi
I apologise for the experience you received. I am the general manager for the site and was not on duty or on site on the date you visited. I have however passed the comments on to the senior members of my management team. I have also spoken to the kitchen staff to ensure the volume of music is kept to a minimum.
We do allow vaping in the pub however it is restricted to certain areas of the pub and is not allowed in the restaurant side of the pub. If the vaping did occur in the restaurant please accept my apologies and I will ensure the staff are more pro-active in ensuring this rule is being enforced. Please don't hesitate to contact me further on the pub email address. acorn.nuneaton@marstons.co.uk
Many Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2018 via mobile

Came here after looking for a new place to go for a late lunch, food was really really nice and drink fairly priced- the main reason we would come back again and again is because of two of your staff members- I believe them to be managers maybe- both are mums and were so so friendly to the children with us, I think their names were Laura and Sonja? We've come on a few occasions now and these two are the reasons we would come back- never had a bad experience

Thank bizzle88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Acorn also viewed

Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 

Been to Acorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing