We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly Surprised!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bognor Regis
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
West Sussex
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Pleasantly Surprised!”
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I took our son to Butlins Bognor Regis as a day visitor for a convenient treat (we live a few miles away), before he started school last September. Having never been to anywhere like Butlins, I really didn't know what to expect - something like hi-di-hi I suppose!

And, I guess there is a whiff of hi-di-hi, but I came to the realisation that is what it is all about, Butlins are proud of their family holiday heritage and that is exactly the way it should be. Judging by the number of happy faces and families enjoying time together, Butlins has got to be a good thing.

The campus here is much bigger than I ever realised, and I must drive past it at least once a week. You can see that they continually move with the times adding different attractions and facilities and here they seem to have significantly invested in activities and attractions to keep teenagers occupied - always a tough audience to please. Lots for younger ones too, the water spouts in the garden area were a great hit with every 3 year old upwards - all ended up soaked!

Lots of dining options including fast-food, traditional pub grub, fish n chips & upmarket dining. We tried Turners restaurant which was a lovely environment with professional service but a little overpriced for what it actually was but there are plenty of options, don't forget the new hotels there have dining options too. Talking of the new hotels, they really looked rather nice, we had a quick look inside and they offer family accomodation in one entire room, with special 'dens' for kids, a great idea!

The Splash Waterworld was well run but pretty manic - personally I wouldn't want to be in there in high season - it must get packed! However, very good, as ever catering to all ages.

There is a small but functional shopping mall and overall nothing is at rip-off prices, the end-of-pier style gaming facilities are reasonable and I never felt as though we were being overcharged or taken advantage of.

As we left around 6pm, I was surprised to see an enormous queue for the evening show - for people staying at Butlins and wondered whether that was really necessary, why do we Brits always have to queue for everything? Surely seats could be allocated by room or similar to save people being herded and leave them more time to enjoy their stay, perhaps for a pre-show drink?

We had one incident whilst at Butlins when one of their automatic sliding doors closed on my son and they were right on the button, with sincere concern, not the usual 'oh no are we going to get sued for this' approach. Several staff appeared, helped me comfort him and assess any injury and then took him to tell the doors off, I think they gave him a balloon or some stickers.

So, definately worth giving a go, a good break for all the family.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aengusmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,540 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,352
    1,069
    542
    293
    284
See reviews for
2,291
201
11
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (813)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

Our kids are 6 & 8 and this was our second visit to Butlins. We asked the children if they wanted to go to Switzerland or Butlins for half term this year... so off we went to Butlins.
I recommend Butlins whole heartedly especially if you have a young family.
The customer service is excellent. Most of the entertainment is free and the red coats are just great at helping all kids join in and have fun if they want to!
I listed all the different things we enjoyed over the weekend and it came to over 22 different activities from swimming, funfairs, puppet shows, arts & crafts, animal experiences and evening shows.
You were welcomed warmly arriving and waved off warmly leaving. I would definitely go again. I just felt that Butlins is centred on people having a great experience rather than ripping you off. The food was good, with plenty of choice and I think great value for money all round.
For an all round great family experience - great value and great fun too!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KatGuildford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2012

me and the partner took our 3 kids aged 10, 6 and 1 to bognor from 17th feb til 20th feb. we had half board which i do recommend you doing as its all you can eat buffet breakfast and dinner. otherwise other food places are very expensive. the chalet we stayed in was small but it was clean and lets face it most people only go back there late in the evening to go to sleep anyway so why would you want some massive room to stay in? there are some extra things there that you have to pay for if you want to go on them such as a rope jump, rock climbing etc but the funfair is free, the swimming pool with slides is free an the evening entertainment is amazing for the kids!!! we saw lazy town, sooty and sweep show, pink and take that tibute acts, all of which was brilliant. we have been on holidays such as parkdean and haven but this was the first holiday where i was actually disappointed to be going home. we are now making it our regular holiday and will probably even extend it to a week in the fuure.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank michelle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

Don't be put off by the awful reviews - if you have kids under 10 and want to keep them entertained and happy Butlins at Bognor Regis is Brilliant! We went there for the half term break in February and they had a great time, there is so much to do and most of it is included in the price. We stayed in the Ocean Hotel and pre-paid our breakfast and evening meal. This proved to be excellent value for money - there was always plenty of fresh food and loads to choose from so even the fussiest children will find something to eat.

To get the time slot you want for dinner you need to book it quickly at the restaurant - as soon as you arrive! Same for things like Archery. The shows are great, the pool is fantastic and the fun fair is brilliant. Staff are well trainined and helpful but not in your face. If you find it all a bit much you can always check into the Spa for a bit of oppulence!

Enjoy it, we did!

Room Tip: You can pay more for a sea view - but why bother in the middle of winter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Just had a mid week break at Bognor with my husband and teenage daughter. Stayed in Silver room with food court dining. Accommodation dated but adequate-don't be put off by the older blocks, they're warm and basically clean. Theyre reasonably priced so good value. Food court similar in that it's basic fayre but reasonable value. On site entertainment very good with several live acts including bands on every night. Other facilities also excellent, particularly enjoyed the spa (although you pay extra for it and it's a bit pricey). Public areas very clean and staff really friendly.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruiseFran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bognor Regis
0.7 km away
Best Western Beachcroft Hotel
5.0 km away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
7.7 km away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 km away
Travelodge Arundel Fontwell Park
1.1 km away
Selwood Lodge
Selwood Lodge
#9 of 9 in Bognor Regis
25 reviews
37.1 km away
The Wight
The Wight
#5 of 29 in Sandown
725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort

Property: Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort
Address: Upper Bognor Road, Bognor Regis PO21 1JJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Arun District > Bognor Regis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Bognor Regis
Hotel Class:4 star — Butlin's Bognor Regis Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 200
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bognor Regis is officially one of Britain’s sunniest locations, sitting right on the West Sussex coast. Within just a couple of hours drive from London, Butlins Bognor Regis is the perfect getaway. Known as a traditional seaside town, we’ve given it a modern ‘twist’ with two funky hotels; the Ocean Hotel and the Shoreline Hotel. There’s a relaxing spa (ideal for grown-ups) and if you feel like discovering the area around the resort, the South Downs National Park and heritage sites are right on your doorstep. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Butlins Bognor Regis Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Hotel Bognor Regis
Butlins Resort Bognor Regis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing