We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (159)
Filter reviews
159 results
Traveller rating
59
59
25
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
59
59
25
14
2
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 159 reviews
Reviewed 18 October 2016

My family of 5 took a couple of rooms at the Hideaway and had a great stay. It was convenient to Leura and Katoomba where we spent most of the weekend, the rooms were simple but cosy, clean and functional, and breakfast was fine. The Hideaway has a very welcoming feel for families, the pool table in the games room is not to competition standard but great for the kids, we left a motorised toothbrush behind, which was cheerfully posted to us the next day. Recommended

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank horsetrading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2016 via mobile

Stayed here 1 night with me partner. It was pleasant. Parking isn't the best and rooms are very simplistic.

Close to the Main Street and the National Park. Would recommend for people wanting to stay somewhere briefly.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Sammy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016 via mobile

My partner & I decided on a weekend away during school holidays to wind down and relax. We chose the hideaway as it was one of the fair priced options at this time of year, it was central to most places we wanted to get to and looked beautiful. We were not dissapointed! We felt as though we had the place to ourselves the whole weekend!

It is quite dissapointing to see the amount of negative reviews for this lovely place, mainly due to the expectation of wanting a "resort like" experiece which is not what this type of service is about. The hideaway is a clearly family run business, and what a wonderful job they do... we felt like we were at a home away from home..we loved all the quirks.. the open fire place, the handmade soaps & how quiet the area was... (and we only just found out that there is a hidden room!)

Our room had a great view and was clean and tidy, we loved that we didnt have room service unless requested as we do like to spread ourselves out.

Can not fault the hideaway - we will be back!

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2016

Very average room for a premium price.
When you pay this much for a room you do not expect to find that there are more coat hangers than parking spaces - that the room and bathroom are basic, that there is no real milk, no tissues, no bottle opener, only a mirror in the bathroom. I could go on - the staff where friendly but never there - you had to ring for everything. If I had paid $150 a night I would be like yeah ok - but not for $306

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Vicki P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2016

This property needs a lot of work to be acceptable.

Breakfast was included in the price, we chose to go elsewhere after the first morning.

The property looks impressive and the rooms are designed to a view over the mountains. The pool looks inviting and well maintained. A feature is lots of books in rooms and common areas for those looking for a read.

Parking is inadequate and not defined, path in is narrow and entry can be a challenge until you are aware where it is.

We were told that the proprietors would not enter our room without specific permission, meaning that we had to ask each day for our room to be serviced, a novel situation for us.

We have travelled widely over a long period and consider the included buffet breakfast to be unquestionably the poorest we have been offered. We also ordered poached eggs and an omelette at an additional charge and we can say nothing good about either.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Eric H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews