We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 8:00 AM - 8:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Travelled both ways with car and cabin

Overnighted both ways with twin porthole cabin and vehicle. The crew are great and the bistro... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
PeterK499
,
Sydney, Australia
Calm seas leaving Tasmania

Husband and me, 2 cars, 2 dogs, lots of gear, on our way moving from Tasmania to Victoria. Both... read more

Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Carolyn1058
,
Ballarat, Australia
Read all 1,747 reviews
  
Reviews (1,747)
Filter reviews
1,747 results
Traveller rating
512
729
314
109
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
512
729
314
109
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews return trip deluxe cabin both ways sea sickness bass strait overnight trip night crossing berth cabin hiring a car port melbourne pleasant trip ocean recliner rough seas inside cabin boarding process day sail port hole
Filter
Updating list...
136 - 141 of 1,747 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

We arrived early at Port Melbourne. We went to nearby cafes for a while to pass the time. It takes a while to get on the boat with checks etc. Facilities are great. Cafe, bar and tourist information. We had a small cheaper room for two. It was adequate for the time you are on the boat. Getting off was quick.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank grevilleabrae5761
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Spirit of Tasmania
NIGHT EDITION
Friendly staff, nice reception and restaurant, clean bedrooms and toilets/showers and reasonable pricing at the canteen. The dinner is “pay for you’re plate” 1 plate from memory was $24 for an adult and that’s for only one plate so make sure to fill up!
They also have a “brochure hub” area where you can get free maps and brochures and also have a desk to ask any questions. Also have a couple TV’s and Xbox’s, as well as a cinema which is $5-$10 ticket depending on you’re age. You can also leave the inside of the ship and venture around the top and sides of the ships (in restricted areas of course) and get some awesome photos!
Also have a few bars and an Ice Pizza shop, lots of seating areas.
The staff wake the whole ship awake at 5:15 and departure starts, we got off the ship first and had to be down by our cars at 6.
Shower/toilets in our cabin was clean and the public toilets on the ship were also clean.
Definitely recommend getting on the Spirit Of Tasmania! Especially getting on the night ship so you have the whole next day to adventure!

Date of experience: March 2018
1  Thank louiss703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The boat was much better than I thought it was going to be. Very friendly staff. Beds were not to bad either

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Niki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Positives: We booked a cabin so we could get some sleep. The trip from Melbourne was a bit "lively" for an hour or two after clearing Port Phillip, so we were glad we could lie down for it. The cabin is basic, but perfectly adequate for having showers & getting some sleep for about 8 hours. There is a pretty good range of food on offer and prices are OK. Drinks from the bar were OK. Public areas are comfortable. Departure from the ship is well organised & relatively fast.

Negatives: The queuing in Melbourne to board is painfully slow. A bit better in Devonport.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

This is a great and inexpensive way to travel to Tasmania. I would recommend the night travel as the journey seems to go so much quicker than the day travel. The single bunk beds are quite comfortable. The food is basic but very appetising.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Anne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews