We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plovers Ridge Country Retreat
Reviewed 7 February 2015

We stayed her for 4 nights at the start of our Tasmanian holiday in January. Our hosts Jeni and Pete were outstanding in their helpfulness and Jeni's meals were to die for! We loved sitting outside our cottage watching the local wildlife and birds. Overall, highly recommended and we will return when next in this part of Tasmania

Room Tip: We stayed in the Celery Top cottage which was a short distance away from the other 2 cottages, which...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 4 January 2015

We arrived here on 27th November with no prior booking, Jeni and Pete were very welcoming and offered us the Leatherwood cottage, which had just been vacated, but there was no problem in our moving in immediately ,Jeni was very accommodating in allowing us to do laundry while she serviced the cottage around us. The ambience was very homely and the tranquillity of the countryside was very restful. Breakfast the next morning was a superb surprise, dinner that night was divine, and breakfast the next morning was another superb surprise, a chestnut soufflé - yummy. We would recommend that dinner be a definite choice when staying here, the meals were perfectly sized and nourishing. We enjoyed chatting with Pete, and his dry humour,
and departing it felt like saying goodbye to good friends. We would certainly stay here again if, and when, we next visit Tasmania.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank olddog460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni N, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2015

We hope it's a matter of 'when' you return to Tasmania, not 'if'. Would love to catch up with you again. The organically grown chestnuts in the souffles were from our own trees - so pleased you enjoyed them. We really enjoy producing unique breakfasts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2014 via mobile

Could have gone anywhere for our 30th anniversary. Chose plovers ridge & so happy that we did.thank you Pete & Jen for a beautiful meal & warm welcome.my wife finally said I did something right.cant recommend Plovers Ridge highly enough.AAAAAA++++++++++

  • Stayed: November 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gardey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2014

Could not of asked for better hosts with Jeni and Pete, they were very accommodating, the breakfasts were sumptious, the cottages catered for all. We had the privilege of booking the Retreat out for our sons wedding and it could not of been more perfect and made our time go very smoothly.

Room Tip: Everything about Plovers Ridge is excellent offering a really great Country Retreat
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

5 star accommodation. Excellent facilities. Excellent breakfasts. Fantastic views of surrounding farms Jenni and Pete were very helpful and accommodating when we had to visit a doctor urgently in Launceston.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alexis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni N, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2014

We were very happy to have been of assistance and so enjoyed having you all here. Thank you for your kind words.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilydale
20.5 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
969 reviews
21.7 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,638 reviews
20.3 km away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 km away
Country Club Villas
Country Club Villas
#2 of 30 in Launceston
418 reviews
21.4 km away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
20.8 km away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#3 of 33 in Launceston
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plovers Ridge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plovers Ridge Country Retreat

Address: 132 Lalla Rd | Launceston, Lilydale, Launceston, Tasmania 7268, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Lilydale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lilydale
Price Range: RM425 - RM527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes north of Launceston, Plovers Ridge has comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom cottages overlooking the peaceful Lilydale valley. Tariff includes a full cooked breakfast served in the privacy of your accommodation. Nearby beaches, Hollybank Treetops Adventure, mountain bike tracks, Bridestowe Lavender Farm, bushwalking and on the Wine Route, You can be as active (or as inactive) as you please. Wholesome, fresh & tasty dinners available by prior arrangement. Retreat to the countryside at Plovers Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plovers Ridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing