We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Amazing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plovers Ridge Country Retreat
Reviewed 6 April 2017

12 years ago we had the good fortune to stumble upon this beautiful property whilst driving around Tassie. This trip we made straight for Peter and Jenni's Plover's Ridge at Lilydale and were delighted to find the same level of care and comfort we previously experienced. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple (Peter went above and beyond, organising a BBQ) and Jenni's breakfast is absolutely legendary. We were travelling as 2 couples and the house supplied has everything required for a relaxing stay, along with a beautiful view of the valley from all rooms. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone looking for a comfy and peaceful overnighter.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 399sooties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Hope it's not another 12 years before we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely a wonderful place to stay. You can sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful surrounds. The views are endless. The cabin picture perfect. Not a bad word to say about this place. Very close to the town of Lillydale and Launceston if you want to go out but why would you staying in a place like that. Just perfect

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ang835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your comments. We loved meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Our second trip to Plovers' Ridge. Jeni and Peter made us very welcome. As before, we were delighted with the wonderful view over the peaceful valley. The cottage is very comfortable and well-equipped. The blueberry bush a few paces from the door was laden! Jeni's cooked breakfasts were amazing (and Peter cooked for us one morning too, so he's not just a pretty face.... ). The location gives easy access to the Tamar vineyards and Launceston, and also to Port Sorrell - visit Ghost Rock Vineyard if you can. Hollybank Treetops Adventures (zipline fun) only ten minutes away.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Our pleasure Jane. Great to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely cottage in June 2016. We had a wonderful tranquil stay!
I can just sit on the comfort sofa, slowly sipping coffee while looking at the rolling hills, smoke rising up from cottage chimney, cows and sheep on the hills...everything is just so calm.
Breakfast prepared and delivered Jeni is really delicious!
We wish to stay here again in our next trip to Launceston.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Iyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

We also look forward to you staying with us again. All four seasons in Tasmania have their own special appeal but maybe you could plan to be here in the spring when our garden is bursting with colourful bulbs and new growth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We loved Plovers Ridge Country Retreat - it really is a retreat. Peaceful, lovely views, friendly hosts. Included cooked breaky. We liked that the home included games to play and classical music to listen to. It was a short stay but very worthwhile.
Please note there are not many eateries nearby (we drove to Launceston) so bring food or eat before arriving :)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Gianna. We try to make our cottages as homely as possible with a mix of entertainment to suit all tastes. Our local tavern serves dinner two nights a week and there is a well stocked supermarket for those who wish to self cater in Leatherwood's fully equipped kitchen. We also offer dinners any night of the week but do require advance notice as all our ingredients are fresh, not frozen. Maybe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilydale
20.5 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
965 reviews
21.7 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,634 reviews
20.3 km away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 km away
Country Club Villas
Country Club Villas
#2 of 30 in Launceston
416 reviews
21.4 km away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
20.8 km away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#3 of 33 in Launceston
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plovers Ridge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plovers Ridge Country Retreat

Address: 132 Lalla Rd | Launceston, Lilydale, Launceston, Tasmania 7268, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Lilydale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lilydale
Price Range: RM424 - RM526 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes north of Launceston, Plovers Ridge has comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom cottages overlooking the peaceful Lilydale valley. Tariff includes a full cooked breakfast served in the privacy of your accommodation. Nearby beaches, Hollybank Treetops Adventure, mountain bike tracks, Bridestowe Lavender Farm, bushwalking and on the Wine Route, You can be as active (or as inactive) as you please. Wholesome, fresh & tasty dinners available by prior arrangement. Retreat to the countryside at Plovers Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plovers Ridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing