We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Cherry Top Accommodation(Lilydale)(Great Value!)
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Riverside Hotel Motel(Riverside)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 04/08
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 02/08
US$65
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 03/08
US$64
US$62
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$94
US$88
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mercure Launceston(Launceston)
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Launceston(Launceston)
US$96
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$72/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clarion Hotel City Park Grand(Launceston)(Great Value!)
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (52)
Filter reviews
52 results
Traveller rating
45
7
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
45
7
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely cottagerolling hillstamar valleybedroom cottagebeautiful propertylocal producefull kitchena wonderful place to stayevery morninglittle piece of heavenpetejenihollybankhoststassieaccommodationlaunceston
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 52 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2017 via mobile

Absolutely a wonderful place to stay. You can sit back, relax and enjoy the beautiful surrounds. The views are endless. The cabin picture perfect. Not a bad word to say about this place. Very close to the town of Lillydale and Launceston if you want to go out but why would you staying in a place like that. Just perfect

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ang835
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Thank you for your comments. We loved meeting you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2017

Our second trip to Plovers' Ridge. Jeni and Peter made us very welcome. As before, we were delighted with the wonderful view over the peaceful valley. The cottage is very comfortable and well-equipped. The blueberry bush a few paces from the door was laden! Jeni's cooked breakfasts were amazing (and Peter cooked for us one morning too, so he's not just a pretty face.... ). The location gives easy access to the Tamar vineyards and Launceston, and also to Port Sorrell - visit Ghost Rock Vineyard if you can. Hollybank Treetops Adventures (zipline fun) only ten minutes away.
We are looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2017

Our pleasure Jane. Great to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017 via mobile

We stayed in this lovely cottage in June 2016. We had a wonderful tranquil stay!
I can just sit on the comfort sofa, slowly sipping coffee while looking at the rolling hills, smoke rising up from cottage chimney, cows and sheep on the hills...everything is just so calm.
Breakfast prepared and delivered Jeni is really delicious!
We wish to stay here again in our next trip to Launceston.

Stayed: June 2016
Thank Iyong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2017

We also look forward to you staying with us again. All four seasons in Tasmania have their own special appeal but maybe you could plan to be here in the spring when our garden is bursting with colourful bulbs and new growth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We loved Plovers Ridge Country Retreat - it really is a retreat. Peaceful, lovely views, friendly hosts. Included cooked breaky. We liked that the home included games to play and classical music to listen to. It was a short stay but very worthwhile.
Please note there are not many eateries nearby (we drove to Launceston) so bring food or eat before arriving :)

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us Gianna. We try to make our cottages as homely as possible with a mix of entertainment to suit all tastes. Our local tavern serves dinner two nights a week and there is a well stocked supermarket for those who wish to self cater in Leatherwood's fully equipped kitchen. We also offer dinners any night of the week but do require advance notice as all our ingredients are fresh, not frozen. Maybe next time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed 4 January 2017 via mobile

When we walked into the house, We were immediately obsessed in the amazing view looking through the windows. I had to say it's even better than the pictures on the website!

But what impressed us more was the cleanness and professional house keeping by the thoughtful owners. You can get everything you need in the house, and the owners Pete and Jeni living nearby are so friendly and willing to assist every time we had a question. Last by not least the breakfast handed in by Jeni every morning was so delicious!

This is the most beautiful country retreat my family had ever stayed in, and we feel so lucky that we didn't miss this wonderful and unique experience. Will definitely recommend to our friends, and we plan to come back once we have another chance to visit Tas in the future.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

The views and location is why we choose to live here and make our property available for travellers. We are therefore delighted when our guests love our cottages as much as we do. We hope it is not too long before you are able to visit Tasmania again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews