We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Plovers Ridge Country Retreat
Reviewed 30 October 2017

Amazing position on top of the ridge looking down over the green valley with farms, the village of Lilydale and a gorgeous garden. The cottage was immaculately clean and very comfortable and nothing was stinted eg a jar of coffee plus plunger coffee, and a carton of fresh milk (not a couple of sachets). A full kitchen with all the basic staples you could want.
The most delicious breakfast - scrambled eggs on sourdough toast with pesto, fresh asparagus and smoked salmon - with home made marmalade. And it all arrived on our doorstep when we wanted it.
Jenny was very flexible with our arrival time as wanted to check in early so we could attend a function - and was waiting for us. She was just so helpful, even giving us a free upgrade to the large cottage.
(The large two bedroom cottage would be perfect for kids too)
Plovers Ridge really was fabulous! Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank HilsTassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words. Spring is indeed a gorgeous time of the year here - so green and lush.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2017

We loved it here and had a two day rest from travelling. It's close to Launceston but not too close. Great little town nearby with a great Saturday market. Our host went out of her way to help and even managed to get a tshirt for my grandson from the Derby enduro race. Then she posted it to me. Very much part of the "above and beyond" brigade. Breakfast was great!

Room Tip: We stay in the cabin for two. Quite rustic and charming!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davisbn7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

That was our pleasure - hope your grandson enjoys the t-shirt. Maybe one day he will be here to ride the cycle tracks himself. We are only 5 minutes from Hollybank and
Derby is a pleasant day trip.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2017

What an awesome place to stay. The peace and tranquility was amazing not to mention the views that were absolutely breath taking.
The unit was very warm and homely and the beds were clean and comfortable. Jenni's breakfast in the morning was beautiful and left you feeling full for the rest of the day.
We would highly recommend Plovers ridge country retreat to anybody who would love to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city but still only 15 to 20 minutes away.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Thanks Leanne. Such a pleasure to meet you both - hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2017

We had a lovely night at Plovers Ridge. A pity we could only spend one night here. A warm welcome by Jeni, our accomodation was perfect, very comfortable bed, nice bathroom, good heating, and what views. The breakfast in the morning was delicious, more food than we could eat. We'll be back for a longer stay.......

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jatvla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2017

We look forward to your return trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

12 years ago we had the good fortune to stumble upon this beautiful property whilst driving around Tassie. This trip we made straight for Peter and Jenni's Plover's Ridge at Lilydale and were delighted to find the same level of care and comfort we previously experienced. Nothing was too much trouble for this lovely couple (Peter went above and beyond, organising a BBQ) and Jenni's breakfast is absolutely legendary. We were travelling as 2 couples and the house supplied has everything required for a relaxing stay, along with a beautiful view of the valley from all rooms. We would thoroughly recommend this property to anyone looking for a comfy and peaceful overnighter.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 399sooties
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeni-and-Pete, Owner at Plovers Ridge Country Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2017

Hope it's not another 12 years before we see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lilydale
20.5 km away
Peppers Seaport Hotel
Peppers Seaport Hotel
#1 of 30 in Launceston
969 reviews
21.7 km away
Mantra Charles Hotel
Mantra Charles Hotel
#2 of 30 in Launceston
1,637 reviews
20.3 km away
Comfort Inn Coach House
Comfort Inn Coach House
#15 of 30 in Launceston
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
26 km away
Country Club Villas
Country Club Villas
#2 of 30 in Launceston
418 reviews
21.4 km away
Leisure Inn Penny Royal Hotel & Apartments
20.8 km away
Ashton Gate Guest House
Ashton Gate Guest House
#3 of 33 in Launceston
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plovers Ridge Country Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plovers Ridge Country Retreat

Address: 132 Lalla Rd | Launceston, Lilydale, Launceston, Tasmania 7268, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Tasmania > Launceston > Lilydale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Lilydale
Price Range: RM425 - RM527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 20 minutes north of Launceston, Plovers Ridge has comfortable 1 and 2 bedroom cottages overlooking the peaceful Lilydale valley. Tariff includes a full cooked breakfast served in the privacy of your accommodation. Nearby beaches, Hollybank Treetops Adventure, mountain bike tracks, Bridestowe Lavender Farm, bushwalking and on the Wine Route, You can be as active (or as inactive) as you please. Wholesome, fresh & tasty dinners available by prior arrangement. Retreat to the countryside at Plovers Ridge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Plovers Ridge Country Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing