We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Truly the most beautiful place in the world”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Thalia Haven

Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin. Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
49 reviews
Prize-winning architects designed this stone and wood house on the clear waters of Great Oyster Bay.
Your own private white sand beach. Just you, the dolphins, and perhaps the occasional penguin.
Relax in a nice hot bath outside with the sound of the waves. There's a sauna, too.
The whole house is yours: overnights for up to 8 people in 4 bedrooms.
Both the kitchen and dining room open onto the sea.
The kitchen is a cook's dream: double sink, 4 gas burners, and cooking fireplace.
Sleep soundly in king-sized beds with custom-made duvets.
Thalia is made up of separate pavilions around a central courtyard -- each room with ocean views.
The back guest room offers a library of books for you to browse.
The bedroom in the main building opens on the outdoor shower, tub, and wood-fired sauna.
The Green Room looks out onto the courtyard, and has sweeping ocean views to the north.
A hand-made basin in one of the ensuite bathrooms.
The living room looks out on the ocean. Gather around the open fire for a warm evening together.
Candlelight makes dinner a special occasion -- with friends, or just the two of you.
A fire in the living room is cosy and intimate at the end of the day.
Cypresses: a traditional symbol of welcome throughout the Mediterranean, and at Thalia.
The garden is in bloom all year round.
Wow! Turns out the end of the rainbow is on Thalia's beach.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Orford, Tasmania

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 49 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
George N
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Truly the most beautiful place in the world”
Reviewed 19 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

I had the pleasure of taking my staff to Thalia for a work retreat, and I have to say that I was grinning like a shot fox throughout my whole trip.

Tasmania is a wonderful place generally and I have had the pleasure of travelling there many times, but nothing compared to waking up to the smell of wood-fire in a beautiful, off-the grid, self-sustainable stone home with such picturesque surroundings.

Like many others I am sure, the bathtub was the absolute highlight of the trip. Shielded from the cool winter breeze by the deep tub, while watching the sunrise or sunset, was truly a life changing experience for me.

I have been, and will continue to recommend this to anyone who is travelling to Tasmania.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jul 2017
Dear George, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review! We get more couples and families than work groups, so I was really pleased to see that Thalia worked well for your group. Please do come again - for your office, or for yourself!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nikita P
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Words cannot express the joy this property brings!”
Reviewed 13 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My partner and I decided to treat our family (parents and brothers) to a spectacular Tassie holiday on the East Coast. I have been admiring this location for years, and couldn't WAIT to come experience it for myself. We all had our own "sleeping quarters" so it was nice that we all had our own space if we got sick of each others company. None of us wanted to leave. Waking up to that incredible sunrise every morning. Walking along the coast line up to the point overlooking Mitchells Reef. The boys enjoyed plenty of fishing and diving (regardless of how cold the water was), and the ladies enjoyed a few wines by the fire! There was something for everyone, and we all left feeling rejuvenated and truly relaxed. AND THE BATHTUB! WOW!!!!! We're already talking about making it our family vacation location. A truly perfect location to just escape from the world! and the cupboards are filled with delicious condiments/cereal/tea/coffee/hot chocolate etc.

Would highly recommend - and Susan was amazing to deal with in the lead up to our stay <3

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2017
Dear Nikita, thank you for your beautiful review! I'm happy that you all had such a lovely time at Thalia. Please do come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YuanOeij
Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“An excellent experience!”
Reviewed 24 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

This is one of our most memorable accomodation experiences in Tasmania. Extremely secluded, the most awesome views and sunrises, jogging along the beach, soaking in the hot bath outside early in the morning watching the sun rise or in the evening watching the sun set. The kitchen is just phenomenal, with possibilities of cooking over the fireplace. This more than makes up for the fact that the interiors might need a little updating or that it is a little pricey for a couple (perhaps makes more sense for a group of 10 or so, since the space is huge with many rooms).

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2017
Thank you for writing such a lovely review! I'm glad you two were able to revel in the seclusion Thalia offers. And I'm glad you love to cook: we do, too, which is why we've equipped Thalia's kitchen for people who enjoy cooking. Please come again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tori W
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Words cannot describe”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I booked Thalia for a couple of nights with my partner as a 30th birthday present. Susan was extremely helpful with directions and was able to help with anything I needed. Thalia itself was easy to find if you read the directions properly. It is a fair way off the main road which helps with the excluding yourself from the rest of the world feeling. The building(s) are incredibly beautiful but not as amazing as the view! Both my partner and I were just amazed by the setting, you couldn't see another house, car or road from the property, it really felt that you were well of the grid. The kitchen is well kitted with pots, pans and white goods which made cooking a breeze. Then there's the outdoor bath tub.... This was my favourite part. Although it was fairly chilly the bath was lovely and hot and fit the two of us and we sat under the stars (tip: turn off the lights) and enjoyed a glass of wine. An amazingly romantic spot! Would especially recommend for people that enjoy cooking and there are cool books if you need! Living off the grid has never looked more enticing! No wifi and no TV :) lots of board games though for when it's too cool to be outside. We will definitely be back Susan, maybe in the summer this time :) THANK YOU SO MUCH!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 May 2017
Dear Victoria, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I'm so pleased that you two had such a beautiful experience. Please do let us welcome back again, soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amba_79
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“No words to describe”
Reviewed 10 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent two special nights here for our honeymoon. It was the most perfect place. Off the grid, quiet, stunning, relaxing, romantic and an all-round amazing experience. Cant wait to come back with family so we can share this place. Thankyou Susan, you and your property are amazing. We will be back xxx

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Apr 2017
Dear Amber, I'm so pleased that you had such a lovely start to your life together. I look forward to welcoming you back again :)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$601
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing