We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Country Club Tasmania(Launceston)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$120
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$61
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Riverside Hotel Motel(Riverside)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$94
US$92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Agoda.com
View Deal
Forest Walks Lodge(Jackeys Marsh)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (45)
Filter reviews
45 results
Traveller rating
33
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
33
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome baked breadcorner cottagewashing machine and dryerservants quartersthe ownerbreakfast suppliesmolemodern conveniencesapple treesa great place to stayamandaigabakerymuffinsvillagekitchencourtyard
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 45 reviews
Reviewed 4 January 2018

Great little spot - we stayed in the Corner Cottage - in a group of small cottages. 2 spacious bedrooms, big eat in kitchen, large lounge with fireplace. Nice & cosy.

Place showing its age - couldn't open as many windows as we'd have liked - and could do with a spring clean - but we were comfortable and would stay again without hesitation.

Andrea's breakfast supplies were a thoughtful suprise - but a fabulous 10/10 for the huge loaf of bread each morning. Outstanding - highlight of our stay.

Westbury is a top spot - great Heritage buildings - handy base to get to the Tasmanian Zoo, the Bridstowe Lavender Farm and the nearby villages.

Room Tip: They would all be good
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank billa20172018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Thank you Billa for your review,

We too think Westbury is a great place to base yourself and enjoy all the wonderful attractions Northern Tasmania has to offer. It's fantastic!

We are so happy you enjoyed the bread. It's baked fresh on the premises for each guest and the recipe has won many prizes at the Westbury show over multiple years. It's such a pleasure when our guests enjoy our cooking :)

Thank you also for the comments regarding the cottage itself. We will address the spring clean immediately and review the window situation.

All the very best..................Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017

Our host Amanda was very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. The home baked bread and sweet treats each day were a lovely touch. The free wi fi was much appreciated. The bedrooms were a really good size, spacious and clean. The washing machine and dryer were very handy when travelling with a young child.

Westbury is a pretty town and well situated to surrounding attactions on its doorstep and beyond to Devonport, Mole Creek caves and Launceston. A wonderful base for a lovely family stay.

Room Tip: The Corner Cottage has a lovely big lounge area to sit back and relax in.
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OzHarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2017

Thanks OzHarry for your kind review.

We absolutely love it here and enjoy travelling only short distances to see so many sites and attractions. Indeed, a wonderful base for any family stay.

Safe travels...........Amanda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2017

The Gingerbread Cottage was cosy and warm.
I would describe it as rustic with all the required amenities to make our stay comfortable.
It was very private with own garden and easy walk to IGA store for supplies, The owner was welcoming and supplied freshly baked muffins everyday.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JBBtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2017

Dear JBBtrav

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely cottages, nestled in the heart of Westbury.

Being self-contained, many guests do enjoy having the convenience of a very well-stocked IGA only 100m from the front door. We also have a great country butcher just across the road and a delightful, private courtyard with BBQ and solid timber tables to enjoy a relaxing dinner.

Amanda's muffins are a specialty, often made with local produce such wild blackberries, picked from sprawling bushes alongside meandering country lanes - a specialty that has helped her win multiple awards for many years at the local show.

We do hope you have time to drop by and see us again. Until then, safe travels...................Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017

Gingerbread cottage is an old, very old for Australia, cottage. It has modern appliances etc. but retains its aura of the past...low ceiling, cosy feel, wood panels, small windows, decor from a past era. It has a modern cooktop, first rate shower, comfy bed, off road parking etc. If you like modern white new hotel style then this is not for you. I enjoyed the ambiance of the past with the modern conveniences. Most enjoyable were the very ample supplies and daily delivery of fresh baking (muffins, slices and home baked bread). If you want an experience of what living in a small cottage was like, give the gingerbread cottage a go.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank George600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Dear George

Thank you for taking the time to review our cottages. Gingerbread Cottage (1 or our 6 cottages) absolutely retains the aura of the past, with many curios from early-1900's. Indeed, it was a 2-room workers cottage from 1880, fully renovated and extended in 1996 - winning State Heritage awards for preservation.

Coupled with our breakfast provisions - lovingly put together by Amanda (did you know she's a multi-award winner for her muffins, slices and home-made bread?), this is a very popular combination.

Enjoy your travels in Northern Tassie and we hope to see you again when next you travel.............Danny

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2017

It's place like this we're out for on our trips and the Gingerbread Cottages are just perfect. From the moment we pushed the bikes into the little courtyard with the apple trees, we knew we would enjoy our stay in the beautifully restored cottage. Too bad we only stayed overnight. Definitely a place where you could spend some time. Local IGA is just up the road, so picking up supplies for your dinner is easy. Just make sure you don't buy anything for breakfast there, but rather opt in for a breakfast hamper with your cottage. The homemade stuff, especially the bread, is just too lovely.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TouringCyclists
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GingerbreadCottages, Owner at Westbury Gingerbread Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review. We absolutely love having cyclists here and can even store your bikes for you under cover. Danny is a keen cyclist also and can advise on any of the wonderful rides in the Westbury vicinity - from 1/2hr casual jaunts, to full-day treks. And the best thing is - virtually no traffic!! What could be better ??

All the very best on your forward journey.............Amanda & Danny Taylor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews