We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sawmill Creek Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maples Motel(Sandusky)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Melrose Motel(Sandusky)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (449)
Filter reviews
449 results
Traveller rating
94
126
97
77
55
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
94
126
97
77
55
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf coursesalmon run restaurantindoor and outdoor poolstennis courtsprivate beachcedar pointnice resortnature preservejacuzzi tubdog showroom was clean and comfortablefireplacemarinabrunchconventionartifactssandusky
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 449 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2018

My husband and I went to Sawmill Resort this past Sunday ,March 11,2018, as a special birthday celebration for me. We used our Black Friday special that we purchased in November. We started the celebration by having their fabulous Sunday Bunch. The selection/variety of food choices was awesome. You can't go wrong with this. Our room was clean and comfortable. I was able to sit and relax while reading the Sunday paper in the Big Sky Lounge area next to the fireplace. All the employees that we came into contact wit h were pleasant and helpful. The server in the bar was especially a great. Since she wasn't busy it was nice to visit with her. All in all, it was a good birthday and a good overnight.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank Mary Joan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Guest Relations Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review!! We're happy to hear you were able to partake in our Black Friday deal and use your voucher! We have a lot of new specials coming up and would love to have you back! Keep checking your email and our Facebook page for current promotions. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018

We recently stayed at this resort for a dance competition my daughter was in and had to spend 2 nights. The grounds of the resort and the lobby, the sitting areas, the large convention rooms, are all very nice and comfortable. The rooms however, are in desperate need of updating! The beds were clean, but small, as they are only double beds, and also not very comfortable. The unit for heating/cooling is one of those older ones by the window that blow out a lot of air, but are also very loud. The bathroom, while the toilet was clean, it flushes very slow, the bathtub and area around it were not very clean at all and kind of gross. We ate at the Salmon Run restaurant, food was average, a little pricey, and the service was very slow. Overall, the rooms at this resort are very dated and just badly need some remodeling and updating. It wasn't a completely horrible stay, but it definitely was NOT one of the nicest places I have stayed and definitely NOT worth the money we paid per night. I have stayed in much nicer places for less money. I was only there because it is where the dance competition was being held for my daughter, but I would not choose to stay there on my own again for anything else unless the rooms were updated and cleaner.

Stayed: February 2018
1  Thank dmarie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Guest Relations Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We are in the process of updating rooms and would really like to have you back again. We enjoy having the dance competitions at the Resort and appreciate your business. Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This is the second time my wife and I have visited Sawmill Creek. They have several dining options depending on your taste for the evening,ranging from a deli-style area to the upscale Salmon Run dining room. The first visit we had long time friends accompany us for dinner, with such favorites as strip steak,chicken alfredo and baked fish. Everything was terrific and so was the live music. The second visit was for Sunday brunch. This was tremendous with hand-carved prime rib, made-to-order omelettes, seafood buffet, salads and decadent desserts. The real treat was this brunch only set us back $18.95 each!! This place is beautiful inside and out, boasting beautiful design features inside and gorgeous walking areas surrounding the resort. In the summer, you can catch a ride on the resort charter boat and take leisure trip on the lake for $15.00 per person. Well worth a trip to either stay or for your dining pleasure.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank djpruitt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review the property! We would love to have you back in the summer months! However, we no longer offer the boat tour out on Lake Erie. We do however have a beautiful beach that is accessible to all hotel guests...FREE of charge!! There are lot's of other activities as well such as paddle boards, jetskis and kayak rentals! We can't wait to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

We took a wine tour, visited the gift shop and enjoyed our jacuzzi room. It is a nice place for a get a way. We visited two wineries, one we had not been to before. It was an enjoyable time for us. Would do it again

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2018

Thank you so much for your review! We would love to have you back!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We stayed here in 12/2016 and then returned in 12/2017. It is a great combo trip to celebrate New Year's eve. The bed left quite a bit to be desired. Otherwise the rest of the stay was a very positive experience. I loved being able to swim indoors and the snow surrounding me through the glass wall to wall and floor to ceiling windows! The buffet breakfast was great both times. Check in and check out was effortless.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank Diana M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Halsey F, Front Office Manager at Sawmill Creek Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to review out property! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Come see us again in the summer months! The outdoor pool and private beach are beautiful! But you're right, the ceiling to floor windows in our indoor pool are a sight to see! Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews